We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for the deaf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eighth Bastion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 214 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Up front I would say we arrived after a long flight and had missed a nights sleep and we were extremely tired. On arrival we badly needed at least 4 hours sleep. We had booked through Trailfinders. We have booked 10+ trips with trailfinders and always specify a quite room. The room we were allocated was at the Junction of 2 roads - therfore ceaseless traffic noise. In India this means mopeds accelerating, buses, trucks and much horn noise. The noise level was unspeakably bad. We raised this with hotel staff - they were very helpful in offering us two further equally noisy alternatives. They didn't have a quiet room to offer because the hotel is surrounded by roads. We phone the local rep who moved us to the less glamourous Casino Hotel (this is also probably a lot cheaper than the price we paid). In summary if you don't mind a lot of traffic noise this hotel is well appointed and the staff were very helpful. If you like tranquility and sleep after a long trip this hotel is not great for that.

Room Tip: Not for you if you like a quiet room and sleep lightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WendyNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rchachra, Owner at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Wendy,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies that the day-time noise from the back road deprived you of sleep. Fort Cochin normally does not have much heavy vehicle traffic as it is not in the commercial district of Cochin. However, we will explore the possibility of further sound proofing some of the corner rooms this summer.

Best regards,

Ravi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

New hotel, very modern, beautiful rooms and bathroom. Situated very near to fort cochin facilities. Food was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. We had the seafood tasting menu on our last night of our holiday. We decided to splash out and paid about double what we had paid for the rest of the holiday but still incredibly cheap by UK standards. It was an amazing meal - we sat outside by the pool which was very pleasant. Pool was a nice haven after the heat of sightseeing. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We visited the restaurant on Valentines Day and got a fantastic tasting menu consisting of a vegetarian and a non vegetarian menu of 8 courses. Since the hotel is not allowed to serve alcohol yet we got a complimentory juice menu which tasted great. The service was excellent and the outdoor courtyard was beautiful with its dim light and pool.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank katrine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel is a the best choice to see Cochin. It is a brand new modern building but with particular South Indian spirit. especially I liked my dark red mozaik bath in the room.
Staff is very attentive, helpful and they are open for recommendations to make your stay more pleasant. Food in the restaurant is great and especially in the evenings this place is very romantic.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We only had two nights. How I wish we had had more. A boutique townhouse hotel well situated in Fort Cochin. It has only recently opened and how stylish and elegant it is, slightly in the Japanese style it seemed to me. The largest bedroom and bathroom anyone could wish for, extremely comfortable and very well appointed with many thoughtful small touches. The food is a pleasure to eat. A small pool, as elegant as all the rest. No tv but good wi fi. It is calm, quiet and delightful in every way. If these standards are maintained it will be a very great success.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gay_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This was our first destination in Kerala, we arrived absolutely punch drunk with tiredness following a long journey from the uk. The beauty of this hotel didn't really register until I'd had had 4 hrs sleep and then it was like waking up on a Tom Ford set!
The attention to detail of this Boutique Hotel is second to none from the feather toppers on the bed to the fabulous lighting scheme via the mosaic tilled bath and zen like garden off.
The design was very utilitarian but it worked beautifully and I'd like the designer/architect to come and style my house!
I really didn't want to leave especially after finding the gallery next door (owned by the same outfit CHG). On the outside its a coffee shop, which incidentally serves great Pizzas, and has the most wonderful collection of Art text books - ........we shall be back!

Room Tip: There isn't actually a fitness centre but couldn't take the review off! Also not serving alc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is the third CGH property I've reviewed now and I am an enthusiastic fan of this hotel group! Each property is unique, and Eighth Bastion had modern appointments with Dutch flair. Our room, which faced the sea, was expansive and clean, and had one of the most beautiful bathrooms I've seen. We appreciated the free Wifi. Dinner was excellent. The breakfast could be a little more generous. There are bikes to borrow to explore the town, which is just lovely. Don't bother with the beach... a heartbreaking amount of trash (can business owners influence this?). Of course, service at Eighth Bastion was as impeccable as it was at other CGH properties. We saw a room at Brunton and had lunch there, and without a doubt we would choose Eighth Bastion again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_overlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#12 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighth Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighth Bastion Hotel

Address: 259 Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £157 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eighth Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighth Bastion is a brand new luxury boutique hotel managed by the CGH Earth Group in Fort Cochin, Kerala. The hotel has 19 comfortable rooms all designed in a Dutch Nautical theme including replicas of ancient Dutch war Boats and Canons. The restaurant is creole fusion with local flavors. The hotel also has a swimming pool, bar and a tea lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Eighth Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eighth Bastion Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing