We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eighth Bastion Hotel
Ranked #6 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed there last year. I loved the experience. The employees were very helpful with every single thing. Good was great, they have an excellent chef. Swimming pool is a bit small, but the whole patio is very classy. I loved my experience in Fort Kochi and this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angieporcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

A contemporary walled secure hotel with an open design. The hotel personnel couldn't have been more accommodating. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless and quite modern with an open shower. There was the usual safe and minibar in the room. Beds were as comfortable and plush as we found in Kerala. Breakfast included a plentiful variety of choices (eggs, bacon, pancakes, fruit and more). Bikes are available without charge to roam the nearby streets. Many of the sites of Cochin are within easy walking distance. We had a guide take us on a 3 hour walking tour which is often useful if you are interested in the history of an area and are limited on time. We walked through the old Dutch district to the St. Francis church, the oldest church in Cochin and perhaps in Kerala. It was founded by the Portuguese (Catholic), taken over by the Dutch (Reformed) and then the British (Anglican) and was simple in design both inside and out. Then on to Mattancherry Palace (Dutch Palace) with lovely wall murals of Hindu stories and displays of documents and maps with pictures of historical Cochin. Next stop was "Jew Town" with the oldest (1568) synagogue in India and in the British Commonwealth. It is still an active synagogue but only 7 families are members now since 30,000 Jews went to Israel after 1949. The Jews had been persecuted by the Portuguese from 1500s onward although with the Dutch victory in 1663 and subsequent British occupation, things improved. We also saw fisherman use their "Chinese nets" to catch fish and watched an "auction" of fish taking place near the harbor. Across the inlet in the town of Ernakulam was a new container port. The airport is on that side, about 55 km from Cochin. We ended the walking tour with a visit to a Kathakali dance performance at 5 PM preceded by a one hour make-up and explanation session before the one hour performance. We thought that this was worth seeing. Enjoyed the area and would certainly consider staying at the Eighth Bastion again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KUFBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,


Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your nice experience at Eighth Bastion. Thank you for your appreciation about the stay, food and service. Briefing of Portuguese, Dutch,Jews and their history is an informative.

Vasco da Gama, who discovered the sea route from Europe to India, landed at Kappad near Kozhikode (Calicut) in 1498. Vasco da Gama was followed by Pedro Álvares Cabral and Afonso de Albuquerque. They built a fort at Kochi with permission from the Raja of Cochin. Within the fort, they built a church (St. Francis CSI Church, originally built in AD 1503) with a wooden structure. The neighbourhood is now known as Fort Kochi.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in our hotel for another memorable holiday.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion Hotel A CGH EARTH Experience
johnypeter@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked A/C Standard Room, it was on 2/F overlooking the swimming pool, very spacious, the bathroom was huge, had a bath and a shower. The hotel was nicely located in the old area and you don't need a car if visiting all the sights in the old area, we even walked from the hotel to the Mattancherry Palace on the other side of the town, it was hot but an interesting walk (around 90 min) and not as scary or dangerous as walking in other big cities.

There were bikes at the hotel but we didn't use them, the restaurant was dry so we went to other nearby hotels to have dinner sometimes in order to have a glass of wine. Staff were all very kind and efficient, pace was slow but still efficient; breakfast was included and very tasty, however choices were limited and it won't filled you up like other breakfast buffets did.

Swimming pool looked very nice (it was small) but it was full of tourists so we didn't use it. Wifi was good, bed was comfortable, really nothing to complain; hope it will get an alcohol license very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunmansyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

One of the best places to stay in Fort Kochi. Location is good, great service, nice staff and awesome decor. Hotel is well maintained and we were only guests staying due to off season. Food is good but needs more variety. Also need a tv in room as in the late evening you have nothing to do.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SandiipBhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have traveled to India for two weeks with my husband and stayed at this hotel for two days in April.

Rooms: Spacious, clean and brand new colonial style decorated. We had a room with balcony on the top floor looking towards a silent street. There is no Tv in the room but you can watch Tv on your floor at the Patio. Mainly Indian Channels are available but worldwide famous networks like CNN is also available. We are hundred percent satisfied with the room, air condition, minibar, kettle, coffee and tea availability and ayurvedic complementaries at the bathroom made Eighth Bastion a boutique experience.

Location: Great Location, at the parallel Street to the main avenue, central but silent also. Really close (walking distance) to many attractions like Fisher nets, St. Francis Church etc. Great for exploring the city on foot.

Restaurant and dishes: Fresh, delicious Fusion Kitchen, combining Kerala style cooking with modern techniques. I have tried Vegetarian tasting menu and in my opinion this was the best vegetarian food I have ever eaten in my life! Service, cleanliness, providing guidance and information regarding the courses were Perfect! Prices were relatively higher than an average Kerala Restaurant but as it is not an average restaurant so it is worth it!:)
Breakfast was also good, but you do not have the greatest variety of jams etc. But their bread of house was something extraordinarily good.

Service: Service oriented staff is getting another 5 Stars rating at this stage:) Thanks for your great hospitality...

Leisure: There is a small but clean and nice pool at the garden. Towels are provided regularly.
During our dinner at the first night we had the opportunity listening to the live local music at the courtyard. It was so calming...

Price/Performance: In Cochi there are many good hotels I am sure. We were looking for a boutique experience and from this aspect, 8th Bastion provides great value.

Room Tip: I guess corner rooms are bigger than the other rooms, our room was 305 and we liked it a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yaseminb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Sir,
We Eighth Bastion a cgh earth experience hotels are really honored to have your stay with us and sincerely look forward to welcome you back to our hotel once again.

It was a delight to have your feedback as this helps us to measure ourselves for the service standards we have set for ourselves. I am happy to note that you had an excellent stay with us.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality at Eighth Bastion always.

Regards,

Johny peter
General Manager, Eighth Bastion, cgh earth Experience hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the 8th Bastion for 3 nights in the beginning of May with our 2 children. Well, right from our check in we were very well looked after. The ambience of the hotel is great, the hospitality and service of the well trained staff were immaculate.Our room (103, if i remember right) was large,tastefully done with a large balcony. The location is peaceful with a short walk to the beach. The breakfast spread was good and the à la carte was also sumptous. They make a killer sea food soup- one to die for. Our family would like to thank you- Johnny, Eldho, Joseph, Babu and all the rest of the staff for the wonderful time we experienced. Love to return sometime....

Room Tip: 103, the best for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benjerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The rooms are clean & spacious.. The hotel is very close to chinese fishing nets. The swimming pool is clean & well maintained. The breakfast served on table was good.The food was very good. The rooms are simple yet stylish. The staff is helpful. They don't serve liquor though. Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RanjanaVijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your nice experience at Eighth Bastion. Thank you for your appreciation about the stay, food, service, location and staff.

We will shortly be receiving the government approval for the alcohol license.

Warm regards,

Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion Hotel A CGH EARTH Experience
johnypeter@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#3 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
325 reviews
0 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighth Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighth Bastion Hotel

Address: 259 Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £91 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eighth Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighth Bastion is a brand new luxury boutique hotel managed by the CGH Earth Group in Fort Cochin, Kerala. The hotel has 19 comfortable rooms all designed in a Dutch Nautical theme including replicas of ancient Dutch war Boats and Canons. The restaurant is creole fusion with local flavors. The hotel also has a swimming pool, bar and a tea lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Eighth Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eighth Bastion Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing