We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect little homestay, warm welcome and great location!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church View Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Church View Homestay
Ranked #84 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect little homestay, warm welcome and great location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were on our way to another homestay when tintu approached and asked if we were looking for a room. She showed us the room and they are immaculate, modern, clean and perfect for our stay. She made us delicious chai and came to chat with us, even showing us her handmade jewellery which was really cool. Free wifi. We are sooooo glad we came to church view and can't thank tintu enough for cheering up 2 weary travellers. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingRTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I found this homestay by chance on May 16, 2014. After the airport coach dropped me in front of the Santa Cruz Basalica church, Church View Homestay is the first homestay in my sight. Actually, I already planned where to stay, but don't mind to give the homestay a look. Tintu ushered me to view the rooms. Without giving it a second thought after the view, I told her I will stay a minimum of two nights. There are two reasonably-sized rooms, but I like the front room which directly faces the church. Tintu then lived up to the expectation as a host to introduce to me about Fort Cochin, and the services the homestay provides. She showed me the directions to certain attractions, but it was a tourism brochure from her which saved her a lot of explanation. Tintu was kind enough to offer me a knife to peel the mangoes I bought from outside, as well as providing me some ice cubes for my drinks. That was really sweet. She did it happily, and did not see my request as something troublesome to her. However, the room is quite warm because of the hot season, even at night, which did hampered my rest. The homestay is conveniently and strategically located. Most places are within walking distance. I did not regret for choosing Church View Homestay. In fact, I would like to thank the bus driver for stopping me right in front of the homestay. I would choose the homestay if I ever return to Fort Cochin again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this Homestay for a couple nights. After walking through Fort Cochin fir quiet a while knocking on every homestay's door (unfortunately the rooms did not meet our expectations of value for money our cleanlyness) we arrived at church view and just loved it! The rooms were super modern, lately renovated and clean and ours even had a nice balcony. The hostfamily served us a great western breakfast eith fruits and Chai on the balcony and we just enjoyed staying there!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mareike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivalta di Torino, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

thank you for all...room and jewellerys! ;) I'm felt very good with them. i wish you all the best.
I recommend this accommodation to all travelers who want to breathe in the air of Fort Cochin without sacrificing comfort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 98alessandra83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at ChurchView! We stayed six nights in the beautiful room with a big balcony facing the church. It was spacious, extremely clean, comfortable bed and with a very nice renovated bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and not expessive at all. The family was very kind and attentive, making sure our stay was perfect.
We can only strongly recommend this Homestay and hope we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

It has a magnetic force that pulls you towards it......located bang opp St.Francis Bascilica......and within walking distance of just abt everything in Fort Kochi.....it's our best bet for our next trip. There are just two rooms (one facing the church has a balcony and the other at the back does nt have a balcony nor a view, but nevertheless).....very clean, chic and well ventilated. Benoy and his wife Tintu , are a very friendly couple. Benoy drives his own taxi and his services can be hired. A very patient driver and host. They charge room rent plus additional charge fr breakfast. They arrange for half or full day backwater tours with , houseboats with destination travels (the only name to be trusted for bacwater cruises), elephant bathing camp visit, kathakali performance which 2 mins walk from the home stay. Church View all in all is highly recommended for stay at Fort Cochin. Love you Benoy and Tintu........Ritika and Brijeshwar Bhandari

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ritika_Bhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I've been travelling in India regularly for the last 14 years and I was very pleased to see that the owners ,Binoy and his wife Tintu,were making a great effort to make me feel at ease during my 2 days there.They are friendly and care a lot about cleanliness,wich is a premium in India.i stayed in the room facing the church,I slept comfortably.The room was neat, the fan silent,Wifi working perfect ,floor was spotless,bedsheets and linen white as snow and with an overall very cosy atmosphere (rooms are new).I was surprised on how well equipped and modern the shower room was.So far one of the most comfortable stays I've had in India,great value for money .I was offered a big fruitsalad for evey breakfast and Binoy gave me a free lift to the airport bus the morning I left.
Great service,good value and safe place.I can recommend this place to anyone willing to spend around 1000 rupees to have a comfortable stay at Fort Kochi.I visited several places around that were asking between 1000 and 2000 rupees for accomodation that wasńt quite as good.
This room matches the standards of one of a good 3 stars hotel, to my opinion.cheers.Emmanuel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.1 mi away
Hotel Imperial Regency
Hotel Imperial Regency
#92 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
The International Hotel
The International Hotel
#57 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Senate Hotel
The Senate Hotel
#98 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dunes
The Dunes
#72 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abad Atrium Hotel
Abad Atrium Hotel
#45 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church View Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church View Homestay

Property: Church View Homestay
Address: Near Santa Cruz Basilica, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church View homestay is a double story house situated in a very safe residential neighbourhood. Here you can experience the family ambiance, local food and above all personal attention assuring you an unforgettable experience of local culture. Church View homestay is within 1 KM radius of The beach, St. Francis Church, Chinese fishing nets, The Dutch Cemetery and so on.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Church View Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church View Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing