We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel shame about the restaurant”
Review of Fort Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Heritage
Ranked #176 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed 19 December 2013

On the plus side This hotel accommodation and the decor and ambience are a treat. This hotel is steeped in history and has been restored to its former glory. The furnishings are befitting of its age and character and is located within a very short walk to the beach and all the local attractions.

The minus to the fort heritage in our stay was the painfully slow restaurant service and a bit of a dodgy service of warm beer and then the request to pay cash for the beer immediately after our evening meal.

Upon check out we were also told we had to settle by cash only !! . After my informing the hotel staff members that this is not the usual way of settling a hotel bill and after my insistence that I did not carry that much cash and if they wished to receive there payment they could either accept eftpos or send me the bill via mail !! . Low and behold an eftpos terminal was forthcoming .

I must say this was not conveyed by the manager upon our arrival ( he may be unaware his staff are asking for cash payments of hotel bills !! )

My partner also did not like the lack of block out curtains in the bedroom, they were see through lace ones.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

This centrally located Heritage Hotel came as a pleasant surprise. The staff is very supportive and friendly. The new rooms/suites are very large, clean and spacious, with balconies overlooking the green lawns. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

A complete waste of money. Revolting food that took over one hour to arrive despite us being the only customers in there. Avoid like the plague.

We ate only three mouthfuls of the food, yet the 10+ waiters were very smiley when they have us our bill to pay.

Also - hilarious - they didn't even have any of the specials on the special board (it was 6pm on a Monday evening).

I think it's always useful to bear in mind - when there's no customers in the restaurant, it's for a good reason.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Staff is really friendly and you will stay in a really nice house. 1st level 4 rooms are really nice to stay with a great Inside patio. Wifi never worked during our stay but we enjoyed. Goos restaurant opposite of the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramseshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Well-situated in Kochi, a few minutes on foot from the Chinese fishing nets. Large, comfortable bedroom with sitting area, friendly staff and a restaurant serving tasty food at reasonable prices. Lovely garden area with plenty of shade from which to admire this beautiful mansion and savour the "old-world" atmosphere of this tranquil haven.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gruntled30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We didn't actually stay there as they chose to over book, lie to us, and pretty much not help us at all. the manager actually walked out of the hotel and disappeared for 45 minutes. very disappointing and only bad experience on our 16 day visit to india...instead, go to Casino Hotel, no casino in it, just a great staff

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Go to Casino Hotel instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank shadow_shadowboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of our Kerala trip.

This is not really like other hotels that we have stayed in Kerala. The hotel still gives the feelings of the colonial past. The decoration and the furniture’s are kind of unique and not found in other hotels. If you are fond of historical past then you will like this place. If you are looking for a modern hotel then this is not the hotel for you.

The front desk is nothing but a desk and couple chairs but the people are friendly.

They allocated a large room for us. The bathroom was nice and clean with running hot and cold water.

The breakfast was served in the lawn. I wish the quantity of the breakfast was slightly better. We like big breakfast which keeps us going for the day. Please be aware there are mosquitoes in the lawn. Which is the only thing disturb our peace.

The hotel is ideally located near sightseeing places. If you like fish then there is a fish market near the seaside where you can buy your choice of fish and the local restaurants will cook the fishes for you.

We loved this classy hotel with lots of history.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#65 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ballard Bungalow
The Ballard Bungalow
#97 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#32 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#74 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gama Heritage Residency
Gama Heritage Residency
#135 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
58 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casino Hotel
Casino Hotel
#23 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Heritage

Address: 1/283 Fort Heritage Fort Heritage Napier Street | Elphinstone Road, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £52 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Heritage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Heritage Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Heritage Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing