We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building and nice setting”
Review of Fort Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Heritage
Ranked #172 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had lunch here but did not stay in the hotel. Some of the dishes were quite good, such as the cauliflower, bread and ice cream. We had a chicken dish which appeared to be either chicken necks or backbones. Lots of bones, little meat. Overall, the food was average. The restaurant itself was old and lovely, with high ceilings and old fashioned furnishings. It was, however, an attraction for mosquitos, so come with deet !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Fort Heritage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

This could be a beautiful boutique hotel. It is a lovely building,close to all the historical buildings and the Chinese Fishing Nets, but our experience was not what we expected. Before reading further we must admit that we left the booking very late and this appeared to be the only hotel accommodation available at the time in the older part of Cochin.

We were the only people staying there at the time of or visit in what was still the peak season! On our arrival we were greeted by a young boy and after asking for a good quiet room were were shown to a large room at the back overlooking the garden. The room and bathroom were both tired looking and needed renovation. We asked where were the renovated rooms but were only met with a shrug by the young lad.

As were were only staying for two nights and both of us were experienced Indian Visitors (this was our 4th visit which has included camping treks on the Nepalese border)) we decided to get on with staying there. However over the next couple of days we saw nobody who could be described as a manager, the whole place seemed to be run by three young boys and an older lady who was the cook. We did see the maintenance man several times to attend to our failing electrics, plumbing in the bathroom (a horror story in itself) , air-conditioning and fridge. We never even attempted to switch on the television as this seemed to be held together by glue and Sellotape. Upon enquiry there were no safe facilities in the hotel at all for locking away our passports, travel documents or other valuables.

We did not attempt to eat an evening meal in the hotel knowing that there were several good eating places within five minutes walk, however the breakfast took an age to arrive each morning and was very poor consisting only of toast, juice and egg. There was no bacon or sausage in spite of being on the menu.

When we tried to complain the young lads were not interested and as stated previously there appeared to be no management staff on the premises whatsoever.

As other reviewers have stated and from photographs on this site there is much to be done to bring this hotel up to a reasonable standard. Quite frankly this hotel rates as one of the worst hotels I have ever visited. Maintenance and service were appalling with the lack of management apparent throughout our stay coupled with the fact we were the only residents at the time, leads me to believe that the decline has been apparent for some time.

Room Tip: I believe there are some renovated rooms but on requesting one were met with a blank reply!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeHilaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We arrived after a long bustrip at the hotel. The manager and 2 staff were sitting outside and were not really welcoming. Inside the manager told us we had a suite for one night and then we would move to another room for three nights. When we said we didn't want that he was persisting we had to do it. Then we said we absolutely didn't want that he said he would tell the other people that were coming they had to move.
The hotel has something grand and has some nice communal rooms with antique furniture.
The room we stayed in was too full, it had a musty smell and the bathroom was outdated. The bedlinnen was smelly too. there were 20 lightswitches and just one plug for the fridge, watercooker, charger etc. The garden is ok but nothing special. there was one very friendly staffmember but that was not enough to make us stay. We checked out after 1 night. With some renovation of the rooms and stafftraining this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HankMutsaers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel may be steeped in history but it is a gloomy place, dark inside with dark furniture, but we had a large room with equally large bathroom. Service in the dining room is slow, even when there are only two people (us!) waiting to be served breakfast. The staff seem to prefer chatting in the kitchen. Location is good, within walking distance of the beach, Chinese nets, harbour and restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Room 7 will give you lots of room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mango676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very well situated and close to places of interest.
There was a mix up with our booking and we were put into room 2.
This is off the restaurant and is a very large room with a very large bathroom but gloomy with no natural light to speak of. Looked tired compared to the next room we had. Could do with lightening up a bit.
They did,however give us a room on the2nd floor for the 2nd night which was lovely.
Well furnished and clean,altogether a different experience.
We only had breakfasts at the hotel which was fresh fruit,toast,etc and eggs to order.
We ate in the garden the first day but too many mozzies so ate in the restaurant the next morning.
Staff were pleasant and helpful and there are usually tuk tuks outside if you want a tour or want to go a bit further to eat. Negotiate though and the drivers are generally very good humoured!

Room Tip: Wouldn't choose room 2 there is another No.1 which may be better but the ones on the 2nd floor a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The location is really great, close to the beach, churches and souvenir shops. However, there are tons of accommodation options in this area that might be better than this one. The charm of this hotel is that it has a rich history however, the rooms are musty and dank and poorly decorated. And the bathrooms are old and dirty with no hot water or pressure. Furthermore, there was a mix up with our reservation even though we had a confirmation number. So we had to stay in a room with 2 single beds the first night and then they moved us to a double bed room the next day. The restaurant in the hotel had mediocre food and even worse service. It took over an hour for our order to arrive even though we were the only customers in there at the time! I recommend you give this one a pass and try another hotel instead.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highlyflammable31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We loved this heritage hotel in the heart of the beach area of Cochin. The hotel is historic and charming. Our room was huge with an equally huge bathroom. You can easily walk to the beach and nearby Chinese fishing nets and shopping. We ate at the hotel and found the dinner and breakfast to be very tasty. Breakfast is served, not buffet which was a nice change after two weeks of buffets. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanda1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#46 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kimansion Inn
Kimansion Inn
#125 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#25 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#185 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ballard Bungalow
The Ballard Bungalow
#100 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Heritage

Address: 1/283 Fort Heritage Fort Heritage Napier Street | Elphinstone Road, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £31 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Heritage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Heritage Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Heritage Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing