We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”
Review of The Old Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Courtyard
Ranked #36 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
thiviers
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights in Februari and enjoyed it very much.Highly efficient and frendly staff.Historic old portugese house centred on pleasant courtyard with indian musical entertainment at dinner.The rooms are filled with antique furniture and are perfect .Very clean and comfortable.The restaurant offers a large choice of various dishes with even possibility to eat on the terrace :you just reserve your table.The food is excellent!
The position of the hotel is perfect:a few steps of everithing.
The staff is even available to help you for tour bookings with a nice smile.
Kochi is very nice and The old courtyard IS THE PLACE TO BE

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotterThiviers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    126
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
52
161
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Beautiful surrounds and attention to detail. Highly friendly and efficient staff. Staff took care of tour bookings and even helped with an abusive taxi driver. Only down side was my food poisoning! Don't drink fresh juice or eat cold soup!! I thought I'd let my hair down in a more expensive place (foolish)! But the on call doctor came swiftly and the staff genuinely did all they could to make me comfortable . . . I would stay here again despite the food poisoning.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbournefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights initially, and enjoyed it so much came back for another night later on!

Historic old portugese house centred on pleasant courtyard. Rooms filled with antique furniture. Stayed one night in the most basic room - very nice, no TV, but we weren't bothered - that was room 8. Moved to room 3 for a night - lovely large bed, and outdoor area with table and chairs with chess board which was lovely in a non-rock and roll kind of way. Free internet. Some rooms don't have air con - not sure if essential as all have fans, and was cool enough not to need it anyway.

Excellent and helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast - Indian option particularly so. Fantastic location.

Loved Kochi - came from Rajistan, so lapped up the chilled out atmosphere and beautiful architecture.

Also note - we found the prices in Kochi tourist shops much more reasonable than in Rajastan. Some of their starting prices were actually lower than the best prices we could get in the north - it was monsoon season so they were keen for a sale, but may be worth bearing in mind if you're coming here second.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 - basic room is brilliant. Room 3 is also very nice, but has a TV so a bit more pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,
We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The reason I am writing this is just to correct what you said about not all rooms are air conditioned, since all our 8 rooms in the Old Courtyard have air conditioning. It is not centralized air conditioning and each room must be manually operated.
Thanking you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Having stayed in a few really cheap (and not all that nice) places during our visit to Kerala we decided to "splash out" when we returned to Cochin. We paid 2500 Rupees for our night (about £35 GBP) and just the fact that we could have a hot shower with good water pressure made it money well spent.
The rooms have great old fashioned furniture and retain period details such as the original bakelite light switches. The staircases and corridors are also suitably authentic.
The bed was comfy and we had a great sleep - we did not experience any noise in our room.

Service at the front desk was smiling and friendly and breakfast (although not exciting) was included in the price and adequate.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmerdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Old courtyard.
Pros:
1. Indigenous room styling and reasonable rates compared to other well-known room stays.
2. Amiable staff
3. Good location with proximity to all other famed places
4. peaceful internal courtyard
5. Get hold of the ‘holy lama’ soaps available at the counter.

Cons:
1. Only the suite room (room no.1) seemed comfortable and upto an assured standard.
2. The breakfast if ordered separately, turns out to be expensive and not as pleasant as one would expect.
3. The wooden ceilings are not acoustically treated and can get annoying when the rooms above are occupied. The rugs are particularly not maintained and keeps slipping off the wooden flooring.

Room Tip: suite room- room no.1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romijorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The Hotel possesses a great setting and and is close to many of the wonderful sights around Fort Cochin. The rooms in this hotel are large, comfortable and clean. The antique furniture and paintings in the hotel are beautiful. the atmosphere this hotel has is exemplary especially with its great service. The food they serve is simply delicious, and be sure to to order their extraordinary mango cheese cake. This is no ordinary hotel, it is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalou73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Part of a grand old house converted into a pretty hotel, with an equally beautiful annexe a few roads away. Very helpful staff who went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable. Great little restaurant on site, and agents who booked me on a great houseboat too..

Room Tip: Rooms above winding metal stairs not for the old!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myself2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#51 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#71 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courtyard

Property: The Old Courtyard
Address: Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#25 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Courtyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free wifi in the common areas but may not reach all rooms, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe which offers sandwiches, coffee/tea, gelato and pastries. As an eight room property, we try to make the guests'experience more personalized with staff always ready to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kochi
Kochi Courtyard
The Old Courtyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing