We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking on History”
Review of The Old Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Courtyard
Ranked #35 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
zug
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Walking on History”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

After a month intensive travelling in the South of India we decided to spend our last 3 days in the Old Fort area in Cochin. We were welcomed by the very attentive and efficiant Pilippina Manager of the Old Courtyard . Together with all the staff she really is the heart of this small colonial hotel and makes one feel at home instantly! We enjoyed our stay very much and warmly recommend the hotel. We were staying in the Deluxe room which is very spacious and ozzing with history.

Room Tip: Since this is a very old portugiese building, some of the rooms with the antique furnitures are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ditaZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    126
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
52
161
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I agree with another reviewer - if you want five star modernity, this is not for you. If however you want a charming room, with antique furniture and a sense of timelessness, then I can recommend this hotel. We had upstairs rooms and as a group of friends travelling together we loved having the verandah outside our rooms as a place where we could sit together and chat or read.

Staff were helpful and breakfast in the courtyard was good. Also a great position - within walking distance of most things we wanted to do.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had an amazing stay at Old Courtyard! The building is colonial and extremely well decorated. The furnitures are excquisit, the courtyard is filled with flowers and the rooms cannot be cosier. Food is excellent as well, and staff very friendly. The located is perfect as it is right on Princes Street. Wow, we are SO going back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youmna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I've been lucky enough to visit many hotels in many different countries at very different spectrums of the cost scale. I'm not sure if any have matched the honest, warm and genuine service that I received at The Old Courtyard...

To cut a very long and protracted story into something manageable... lets just say that whilst on holiday and staying in multiple locations in Kerela I lost a very precious ring. Unsure where it might be (and in mad panic on the way to catch our return flight) I phoned around the 7 different hotels we had visited during our stay.

Our search was fruitless until we spoke to The Old Courtyard, who undertook a thorough room search. The ring was discovered right at the back of the safe by the cleaners (with us having left the hotel 7 days earlier). They had the honesty to hand in the ring, whilst the management had the decency to visit endless couriers in Kochin on my behalf at no cost to arrange the sending back of the ring to London. They were tireless in their efforts.

Beyond the obvious the staff were delightful, friendly and incredibly knowledgeable about the local area - with plenty of great suggestions.

The hotel is not as high spec as some of the Ultra Modern Chains in town - but if you are looking for something with authentic furnishings with great service - give this place a go! Time seems to go a little slower in The Old Courtyard and we could all use a little bit of that once in a while...

Recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Expl0rer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review and feedback. Old Courtyard Hotel doesn't suit guests who prefer 5 star hotels but as you rightly said, it caters more to those who want a different atmosphere and ambiance.
We do remember the ring and it did take a while to get it back to you due to rules of sending jewelry from India. However, we are glad that it did reach you finally.
It is always our aim to be honest, and provide a warm and welcoming service to all our guests.
Sincerely,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is an older building, so if you are expecting polished marble floors then look elsewhere. If you are after a bit of character however you are at the right place!

The room we booked was spacious, had air conditioning etc and we were generally very pleased with it. Everything within Cochin was within ease of walking distance which was nice as it provided a nice base to explore from.

Food wise the restaurant wasn't amazing, but certainly adequate! Breakfast was very good and made to order. The restaurant was a little quiet however, but if that concerns you then there are plenty of places to eat down the road.

The staff generally were polite and helpful, and would have no hesitation staying here again. Noted the previous comments re: mosquitoes; that will be very time dependant as when we stayed I can't say we even saw one let alone had to cover up etc.

Whilst in Cochin we did use the swimming pool a couple of doors down from the hotel for a small fee, which was nice in the heat!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My partner and I had booked this hotel as we weren't able to find bookings at the the erstwhile Grande Residencia.

When we arrived there, the "duty manager" was a lil kid.i felt he should have been in school... well he definitely didnt look over 18. We were sent up to the room on the first floor. The room was as expected.. had an old world charm, and we knew what to expect as we had stayed at the Grande Residencia earlier, which is an identical hotel. (which now has been taken over by a new management Dune Eco, and going by the pictures, they have managed to ruin that lovely place with their so called modern looking bedrooms) .. I digress...

Anyways we needed some peace n quiet, but the little bakery n coffee shop right under out room, kept blasting 90s dance music all day, and that was a bother. When we complained about the noise, as the floors and walls are made of old wood, they said they couldn't do anything about stopping the music. they lowered it a bit, but because of the sub woofer, the thump was evident all the time.

The toilet seat cover would never rest back.. it would fall on to your back every time. When i called the middle-aged hotel manager, and showed him, he dint seem to think it was any inconvenience.. he said "thats such a small thing.. "i was furious.. i said " if a toilet seat resting permanently on your guest's back when they use the room toilets is not a big deal for you, you shouldn't be in this line of work. I asked to speak to the owner of the hotel, they promptly stonewalled me saying the owner was away travelling and cant be disturbed. ,

We decided to walk a bit in the evening and explore the place, and we had a surprise waiting for us on return.. the staff had closed the hotel main entrance from inside and. We waited banding the door and ringing the door bell for over 30 minutes.. no sign of anyone being inside.

We spoke to the locals nearby, and they put their hands up. finally the little kid "duty manager"opened the door and apologized, saying he was having his dinner, and did not hear anything all the while.


Next night we ordered a simple rice and kerala style fish curry,and it was so disgusting, the fish was clearly bad n smelly, but the middle aged gentleman who seemed to be restaurant manger said it seemed perfect to him. I am a malayalee, and have enjoyed a variety of fish all my life, and this clown tells me that my senses are misleading me about the fish curry being bad. My Norwegian partner tasted it as well, and she agreed it was bad fish.

Oh and lastly.. if you are a couple, who like to get busy once in a while.. using their beds is a bad idea.. cos they creak and make so much noise that you can wake up the whole neighborhood.

I had made a booking for 3 nights, we left after two terrible nights.

I was mislead by the superb reviews on tripadvisor..but was terribly disappointed. This place if off our list for life.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePulpitRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donyarosa, General Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. When we receive a negative feedback, it helps us to upgrade and improve our services to best serve the guests.
You have stayed with us on April 12-14 in the Suite Room. It was unfortunate that a valued guest like you have been checked in by one of the trainees. Yes, you are right, they are young as they are also studying for the Hotel Management course during the day.
I have spoken to the Manager and he explained that when you complained regarding the toilet seat, he immediately called the plumber and next day the problem was rectified. Though we apologize that his response during your complain was unprofessional.
It has been our policy to inform the guests who go out in the evening to inform us approximately when they intend to return, as we do close the front door after 10:30 pm for safety reasons. The ringing of the bell must have not been heard by the night duty person as he was having his meal. It is not an excuse not to have been more alert on his part and we apologize for the inconvenience it has caused you.
I have spoken to the Chef and the waiters regarding our complain on the Fish curry and rice meal, as we do operate on the policy that any food complain must be immediately attended to and replaced with a fresh item without question. The Manager has been warned regarding his conduct in dealing with your complains.
The Old Courtyard is a very old building with original floor boards and they do tend to creak in case of any excessive activity on them. Attention has been given to the music played in the Gelato as the building also echoes and floor boards will vibrate whenever there is any loud noise/music.
Once again we thank you for the review and take this as an opportunity to rework and retrain our staff so that they will be able to make our guests' stay great and memorable.
Sincerely, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

The building is beautiful, however you will be plagued by Mosquitos - so deet up!

The food is below standard - however twice the price of other restaurants in fort kochi.

Get out of the tourist area and don't waste your time or money eating here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donyarosa, General Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for your review. With the tropical climate and thunderstorm season, it is inevitable that mosquitoes increase especially between 6:00-7:00 pm. Although regular pest control is done within non harmful limits, mosquitoes still come at sunset time.
Regarding the food, your complain about the quality has been intimated to the chef.
All of Fort Cochin is a tourist area and it has been pretty empty until mid Oct. So not only our hotel is empty but even the streets are empty.
We have checked our register and have not found you to have stayed with us. Nevertheless, you opinion matters to us.
Sincerely,
Rose B.K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#45 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#29 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#69 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courtyard

Property: The Old Courtyard
Address: Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#25 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Courtyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free wifi in the common areas but may not reach all rooms, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe which offers sandwiches, coffee/tea, gelato and pastries. As an eight room property, we try to make the guests'experience more personalized with staff always ready to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kochi
Kochi Courtyard
The Old Courtyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing