We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room, lovely staff, perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Courtyard
Ranked #41 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, lovely staff, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Old Courtyard was an absolute delight. It was our first hotel on arriving in Fort Kochi and immediately made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Our room was gorgeous - insanely good value in fact, with a big four-poster bed, dark wood floor and antique furniture - and the whole place seemed like an oasis of calm. The staff were wonderful - attentive to our needs, endlessly helpful and so gracious and polite. The food wasn't spectacular, which would be my only gripe, but if it's accommodation you are after, you can't do much better on Fort Kochi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    121
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
49
159
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Right in the center of historic Kochi, the hotel was a great hotel and value for my money. Everything was within easy walking distance and included breakfast and wifi. The room was made available to us immediately although we arrived very early. Although we didn't use it, we greatly appreciated the honest prices for minibar items, instead of trying to charge exorbitant prices as most hotels do. The room itself was as expected. Quirky and historic with its natural flaws but what made part of its charm. A/C functioned perfectly and mosquito nets available (I'm paranoid about malaria). Limited TV channels, so make sure you head out and enjoy town.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor. No elevator but it's nice and quiet. Just three other rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Beautiful heritage hotel with high ceilinged rooms full of antique furniture and four poster beds. We loved its charm and location in the centre of fort cochin although it was on the expensive side for an average level of service. It is really let down by the restaurant where we had the most disappointing meal of our trip so far. Stay here but eat somewhere else....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_hudson101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate any feedback to improve ourselves and make our guests happy during their stay with us.
Regarding the food, we do not make bones about the fact that our Indian food may be bland for Indians, as we do believe in being a responsible restaurant. Most Indian food, esp if one is looking at North Indian food or otherwise, do use dalda (hydrogenated edible oil) , MSG and food coloring especially in parathas and vegetable curries.
Our kitchen only uses quality ingredients that do not harm one's health. We pride ourselves in being able to serve food that is healthy, good and hygienically prepared and served. Our ingredients are freshly bought everyday especially seafood.
Sincerely, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I absolutely love the Old Courtyard Hotel; it is a little oasis of tranquility off the hurly burly of the surrounding streets. It's not a high luxury place, so it's helpful go with realistic expectations, but its charm for me completely outweighs any tiny niggles (e.g. occasional very minor plumbing idiosyncrasies, pillows a bit too hard for me). The whole atmosphere is delightful, and the staff are SO friendly, smiley and helpful, it makes you long to go back the minute you've left! The mango tree in the centre of the courtyard was sadly struck by lightning a while back, so lacks its top…but no matter! (What's a trip to India without a surprise along the way?) We really enjoyed the food: yummy breakfasts (Indian or Western) and several lunches: simple but good. (After an overpriced rather pretentious dinner with spectacularly slow service at the Malabar Hotel, I came back and told our wonderful waiter Veneet (sp?) that we should have eaten in: he did his sweet side-to-side nod, and smiled from ear to ear.) Meena, who sits out front and advises on local trips, museums, massages, etc, deserves a special mention: she's delightful, friendly, and extremely helpful and very tolerant of our popping back endlessly with another question. (The day-long backwaters boat trip which she recommend was a huge highlight of the trip for me.) We were made to feel so welcome by every single member of staff and were so well looked after, it felt like home. I owe a very special bottle of wine to the friend who recommended we stay there! (He notes that the musicians who play in the courtyard over dinner are "world-class" in his opinion. Dining under the arches, looking at the twinkling lights…heaven.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is huge (we put our three adult children in it, and had room on New Year's Eve to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This is such a shame as the setting is beautiful and I have since been recommended the hotel by friends as a great place to stay but NOT to eat in and if u do eat here only eat western food, which is such as shame. We had the local fish curry which was so bland and watery with very little fish, totally over priced and did not taste like kerelan food we have had else where. Also has the fish cooked in banana leaf over cooked mushy and yet again flavourless. Really disappointing meals as the location is so beautiful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your feedback. The management has spoken to the chef regarding your complain. Our policy is very clear on any complains esp on food. We either replace of refund the money if the complain is valid. Thus, when talking to the service staff, who are required to find out from every guests, to get their feedback, none of them recall having served you nor any complain such as you have mentioned. However, we thank you for helping us keep our quality control always in order.
We get numerous guests in the restaurant and the coffee/gelato shop and all our guests are happy with the quality of food and service. But a negative feedback once in a blue moon is always good to keep us alert.
We wish you the very best of the New Year 2014!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having read the reviews I thought we'd like this place but was even more del;sighted when we checked in! Our room on the top poor has a great vaulted wooden ceiling and lovely stained glass panels in the windows giving off the most beautiful light in the morning at sunrise.
Comfy beds, good sized shower bath room, fridge, a/c ( we didn't need it with the fan too) and very peaceful, especially given how centrally located it is.
The only downside was the food - really not as good as most other places we ate (e.g. totally overcooked the fish, over boiled and minimal vegetables) and quite expensive
Good value - would always book again in coming to Fort Kochi.

Room Tip: room 5 was fab on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We arrived in Fort Cochin at the end of our trip. We had a wonderful stay at the Old Courtyard, where the staff went out of their way to help us with travel arrangements (Meena) & advice on where to shop, restaurants & sightseeing. Our room was very spacious & spotlessly clean with fantastic character.
Our meals at the hotel were great & again the breakfast & dinner staff were attentive & very helpful.
We enjoyed it so much we returned after a sojourn further south.
Thank you very much to all the staff, we look forward to staying again next year

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#49 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spice Fort
Spice Fort
#28 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#29 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#21 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#68 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courtyard

Property: The Old Courtyard
Address: Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#25 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Courtyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free wifi in the common areas but may not reach all rooms, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe which offers sandwiches, coffee/tea, gelato and pastries. As an eight room property, we try to make the guests'experience more personalized with staff always ready to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kochi
Kochi Courtyard
The Old Courtyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing