We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff, GREAT food!”
Review of The Old Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Courtyard
Ranked #37 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
India
1 review
“Very helpful staff, GREAT food!”
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Visit to Kochin was more than amazing, especially thanks to the Old Courtyard Hotel! The position of the place is convenient for all the walkers and sightsee-ers, athmosphere very charming (sometimes it must be hard to leave the hotel itself!) and the stuff very helpful and fast with organizing any kind of entertainment (like Kathakali shows) and further trip with its activities.
Besides, you certainly MUST try the dishes served in the restaurant! The meals can make your experience even better (I second the opinion about the lemon cheesecake and add the chocolate mousse to that!). Overall, highly recommended!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffiioonnaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    128
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
55
163
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This hotel is quiet nice and so charming. The staff is very friendly and looking forward for every of your wishes. The restaurant is brilliant and you have to try the great Lemon Cheesecake - it's unbelievable good! We were sooo sad when we had to leave Kochi...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perrets12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We were just delighted with our room - a large one with huge windows opening on to the street (not too noisy) and beautifully furnished with an old four poster bed and other antiques, as well as stylish and comfortable modern seating. The spacious bathroom had a shower that worked well, was very clean and well lit. This is one room that has no AC - but I always ask for no AC and go with ceiling fans when I can, so that was perfect for us. There were 4 ceiling fans and another on a stand if needed. Internet access was available down the hall. Staff were polite and helpful at all times. The location, right in the heart of the old city, is perfect for walking out to the harbour or around the local busy streets and markets. We had a lovely breakfast here, but did not eat other meals in the hotel, so I can't comment on the food. However, I did enjoy hearing Indian music coming from the courtyard one evening when we returned from a walk, while diners watched in pleasure. It is a beautiful courtyard with orchids and greenery.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This beautiful historic hotel is the best we have stayed in. The food in the restaurant is wonderful and the rooms are huge and stunninly furnished with wooden historic pieces. Fantastic attentive staff, this could not be improved.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviva-Burnstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. The hotel oozes colonial Portugese style, with beautiful rooms. Breakfast is served in the lovely courtyard, which is a restaurant for lunch and dinner. The food is delicious - try the fish wrapped in banana leaf! Above all, the service was excellent and very friendly - they can organise everything for you from Katakhali tickets to a rickshaw for the day to explore the city. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hybridworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2009

We booked our stay at the Old Courtyard one month in advance. We were told we 'd have to stay in the 'Annexe', since the hotel itself was fully booked. The pictures looked nice and the owner assured us we would have wifi and a kitchen at our disposal, which was a determinating factor in booking 10 nights in the Annexe.
The hotel is nicely located and so is the Annexe and both are charmingly furnished.
But the service turned out to be poor and the Management of an unseen unhelpfulness.
Upon arrival the Annexe had not been cleaned, there were dirty dishes and garbage everywhere in the shared areas.
There wasn't any information concerning the restaurant, breakfast, laundry,... we had to run back and forth to the main hotel to try to sort things out (no phone to the reception being available nor a spokesperson of the hotel in the Annexe).
Contrary to what was said by e-mail by the Management beforehand, no internetfacilities or cookingfacilities were available.
We asked to speak to the Manager, to find a solution, but she refused to talk to us on the phone and the staff was helpless. No apology, no gesture, no solution was offered. We were simply told that 'if we don't like it, we should leave'.
We decided to try to make the best of it, despite the inconviences, and had dinner at the hotel restaurant. While paying, we were told that the dinner could not be billed to the room, "because you are staying at the Annexe".
The next day, when we expressed our dissatisfaction about the second class treatment in the Annexe, we were 'summoned' to the hotel to pay for the next night, implying we would run off without paying (on Christmaseve!). An extremely insulting and unpleasant experience.

We can't evaluate the service at the hotel itself but being a guest in the Annexe the quality of the stay was extremely poor (the price being 5000 rp = 75 euro) and the Management rude. The owner refused to talk to us on the phone, nor did she answer our e-mail, she simply asked her staff to make us pay and leave. Which we finally did... not exactly the way we had planned to spend Christmasday.
But Fort Cochin is charming and absolutely worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingIndia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donyarosa, Operations Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this review, 26 December 2009
The hotel responds to all requests specifically and all policies are given clearly at the website. The request for accommodation was responded to truthfully that there are no available rooms at the hotel but just the Annexe. When availability for wifi was requested, the guests have been told that there is free internet and wifi facility at the hotel which all our hotel and Annexe guests use. It was never stated that the Annexe had wifi. Requests for cooking facility was never mentioned. Even if it was, we do not allow our guests to cook at the hotel nor the Annexe. We said there was a kitchenette with fridge and water heating facility only.
Upon check in, the guests are requested to pay the amount due according to their stay.The rate for the room is Rs.5500 and they were given a 10% discount due to a long stay request. As check in was late for these guests, the prepayment was left for the next day. As per policy of the hotel, all guests who stay at the Annexe pay for food bills on using that facility.
Thereafter, all their needs have been looked after by the Guest Relation Executive.and the reception/reservation person. But on requests for payment as per policies of the hotel, the guests kept delaying the payment and said they were not sure if they want to stay and ensure that they stay on after check out time. Our priority is service but we have also come across guests who find fault because they do not want to pay or want a discount.
These guests were unhappy and kept asking for facilities not promised to them. Being Christmas, we did not want them to stay unhappy and not enjoy the season of cheer. Thus, we requested them to decide if they wanted to stay or to leave. This was done very politely by the Guest Relation Executive and at no point was he rude to the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

It was a lovely but brief stay here - we loved our room up on the top floor and the location - just great. It really is in the heart of Fort Cochin. Lots of charm and character.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#66 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#31 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#26 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#183 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courtyard

Property: The Old Courtyard
Address: Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#25 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Courtyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free wifi in the common areas but may not reach all rooms, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe which offers sandwiches, coffee/tea, gelato and pastries. As an eight room property, we try to make the guests'experience more personalized with staff always ready to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kochi
Kochi Courtyard
The Old Courtyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing