We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Old Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Courtyard
Ranked #41 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2010

This hotel is just lovely! Full of character! We loved our room on the top floor, the only downfall was that we chose a room with a fan, rather than air-con, and we were so hot! Rooms were great and spacious. The restaurant was lovely and the 'Keralan fish curry' was lovely! It was in the heart of Fort Kochi, the location was great, the staff were helpful and friendly, i loved this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChilliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

Rose and Jacob were selfless in ensuring all my needs were met and my stay with the Courtyard was comfortable. Their experience as hoteliers shines through in their impeccable hospitality. I was privileged to sample much of the Courtyard's menu, which Rose and Jacob proudly do not compromise on - ingredients are freshly sourced and of the highest quality, and the chef's presentation and preparation compete with European dining, all served with a smile! My stay in the annex was homely and a comfortable retreat from Cochin's relentless humidity.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwsching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Stayed here for two nights at the beginning of February.Loads of quirky features,antique furniture and old style ambience.Fortunately had air conditioning in the room.That and the electricity were the only concessions to mod cons,so not for you if you want tv/mini bar etc.The dining courtyard was lovely and all the staff very friendly.It's in a great location,strolling distance to the quay side and Chinese fishing nets and handy for shops,internet places and cafes.I would love to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Cochin.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownbear250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We unfortunantely could stay only one night in the hotel, as it was fully booked. We had an ac suite with lovely old furniture and a painting of the room's ghost (she didn't show up other than in the picture). The hotel is a lovely old Portugese building and our favorite was the stairs with a sign saying "you are walking on history; please tread lightly". The staff is friendly and helpful.The location of the hotel is right between the little shops and restaurants and 5 minutes from the sea. The only downside is that there are no lounge chairs in the old courtyard, that would have made the experience completely perfect. We loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DelhiDutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed at the Old Courtyard in February 2010. It's a beautiful portuguese building with a lovely courtyard and stairs up to the bedrooms which are also beautifully done with four poster beds and wooden floors. Rose was very welcoming and helpful, the food was delicious, waiting staff very friendly and efficient and Anil was absolutely brilliant in providing advice on travel in the region and organising a very memorable trip on a houseboat in the backwaters which was a real highlight. Altogether a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it. Only piece of advice would be to try and get one of the air conditioned rooms, especially if you're coming from sub zero Scotland in the winter to the warmth of 35 degrees!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank escapingthecoldnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We stayed at The Old Courtyard for 4 nights at the end of January and it was excellent. The staff were perfect hosts as they were attentive without being overbearing (Anil Matthew comes in for special praise here!).

We visited a few hotels in the city for food and refreshment and we'd say this was the best location because even those hotels with a sea view can overlook busy and densely populated harbours/ferry ports; The Old Courtyard is on a quiet street but it's just around the corner from Fort Cochi's main attraction - the kids playing cricket on the parade ground!

We'd also say that the food at The Courtyard was fantastic compared with the other (very much more expensive!) hotels in the city, only being beaten by the Old Harbour Hotel.

Downsides? Well, being picky I would have like AC in the room (should have asked for it!) and, after we'd seen the pool at The Old Harbour - that would have been nice! But you can't have everything.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMoulays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I had the pleasure of spending afew days over Christmas at the Old Courtyard Hotel which is located in Fort Cochin perfectly placed near the Chinese Fishing Nets and many restaurants. It is an elegant old building, quiet and dignified with a lovely Courtyard with pretty plants. The rooms are clean and stylish and the beds incredibly comfortable. The food is delicious and the staff delightful. Everyone there was extremely informative and helpful. Mr Anil Matthew who runs Quality Tours, at the hotel is wonderfully friendly and energetic and arranged an amazing homestay in the hills for me. He has an amazing instinct for knowing just what his client wants and the place he arranged for me on a wonderul rubber plantation estate was my most memorable time in India this time. It will always be a precious memory. If you want anything arranging (homestays deep in the Keralian countryside, houseboat tours, taxis, even ayuvedic massages) get Mr Matthew to sort it out and you won't be disappointed! He makes everything effortless and fun and can give you a real taste of India where you don't feel like a tourist but you get into the heart of Kerala.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keziaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#29 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#42 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
253 reviews
2.6 mi away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#1 of 10 in Vypin Island
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courtyard

Address: Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#20 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £37 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Courtyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free wifi in the common areas but may not reach all rooms, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe which offers sandwiches, coffee/tea, gelato and pastries. As an eight room property, we try to make the guests'experience more personalized with staff always ready to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kochi
Kochi Courtyard
The Old Courtyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing