We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience”
Review of Hotel S.M. Regency

Hotel S.M. Regency
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel S.M. Regency
Ranked #112 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Room was good and so service.Hotel location is in mid of MG road i.e. centrally located,near to south railway station. KSRTC bu stand is also nearby. Restaurant "Alibaba" attached to this hotel is too good.I would advise all to book through cleartrip as u can save at least 20% .

One caution check in time for all online booking is 12 noon.They will only entertain you after 11 am only.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank basusamya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

For the second time in Cochin I again stayed at this Hotel conveniently located on MG Road in Nettippadam Road and in walking distance to the Dentist that I visited, one Mr. Bijou Thomas for my Implants which I had completed on my second trip to Kerala and with absolute satisfaction for 20% of the cost it would have cost me in Australia, enough money left to have a wonderful Holiday at the same time.
The rooms at the SM Regency are large, clean, Air-conditioned,with en-suites and serviced Daly.
Mr. Amarnath Visu, the manager, has become a real friend over these two periods I stayed there.
The second time with my Wife.
All the staff are well trained and are always very helpful and full of smiles.
A short stroll to the Bus Station to catch the Bus to fort Cochin and next door to the Avenue Regent Hotel where in the Bar you can go for a Beer or glass of Wine and some Ta pas and a coffee shop with a wide variety of snacks and Pastries.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here twice during two visits to Cochin. Although not luxurious, the hotel offers good rooms and is just offer MG road - my favourite place in Cochin. We were given water in the room on arrival and the room was clean and of a good size. No complaints at all, a little dated but nothing too bad. If you need somewhere to stay in Cochin but don't want to say on Fort Cochin, try here.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We must tell you that its service is worse than any other low class hotel in the town. We had stayed with hotel excellency, located exactly opposite to it, and being a two star, had no complaints about, save the fact that they were full. This being a three star is a total shame and disgusting compared to the other hotels of the same class and below it.

1) Early check in is not possible according to them as the intimation should be given a week earlier when we are booking the hotel two days earlier, but we were checked in early, thank God...


2) Very bad advertisement for cleartrip, as I had booked through cleartrip, reception has every second to only nag about the cleartrip rate and how dissatisfied they are with cleartrip; oh come on dear; in a heavily stressed night journey and a trip for a few days we are not interested in these issues, or rather its none of the guests business...nag it to cleartrip and not us


3) On arrival the bell of the room was not working ;Room no. 302 & Room No. 202


4) On reaching the washroom the wash basin was heavily leaking for which they had no proper worksmansmith to attend to it


5) Cleaning is never done on a regular basis unless and until begged for(a big shame for three star)


6) Drinking water (a bottle a day is free)is not provided because we did not ask, and on asking they charge you INR 25/- ( What the heck, we could get it from below at 10.)


7) And no one on night duty for room service...wow 3 star..for the guest....to give you a bottle of water, we went down ourselves to get from the duty staff


8) A six to seven level building of which the lift will work at its on leisure and sometimes never at all: imagine a family staying with their two year old kid and climbing the stairs up and down with their luggage and shopping bags


9) No proper parking, they have a deep alley as steep as 90 degrees that can park 5 cars meanwhile the hotel capacity.....7 floors with minimum 5 rooms....proportionate!!!


10) We had a guest for overnight, please note they called us up and asked whether overnight stay for guest is there, we promised to confirm back in an half an hour time; on confirming, they have no night staff to deliver extra bed, and we told them we will pick it up; the story changes to it is unavailable and charging us for it. But we did not pay.


11) We had extended our stay at the hotel by a day;on consulting with cleartrip, you were helpless as the hotel was unavailable for which we were asked to coordinate directly with the hotel. We did the same, and we were allowed to extend. The night staff were updated.....apparently later nobody knew of the same....


12) We had left our luggage and gave the key to the reception on the 25th and asked them to please clean the room as it is three days and not yet cleaned...nothing happened on return, room was as shabby as it was left...


13) On inquiry, they were picking up a brawl and arguing about non payment, and non information when we had clearly advised the night and morning staff, (its not our fault if the afternoon staff are not aware of it) apparently they searched our room and saw our luggage there, cause of which they did not call police, EOW what a threat....they did not ask for advance payment, due to which we did not pay for the room earlier(please note it is regarding the extended date)


14) We were charged INR 1600/- per night per room for extending, since they were fighting worse than dogs we had left the issue there and paid them and checked out.


Never had a worse experience as pathetic and disgraceful and respect less as this.


( Wonder on what basis its given a 3 star) Nevertheless it was stripped of its one star to the category of 2 star which will be a shame for the other 2 star proper functioning hotels)

I had stayed with my wife and child of 3 years, will definitely advise no one, single or family, of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank AbbeyJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable Hotel,close to everything on MG Road. Manager Amar and all the staff made my stay in Ernakulam,which I visited for the first time as a stranger a most memorable and pleasant experience and I will stay there again if I return to Kerala.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel in Feb 2012. I would say this is a great hotel with great staff. They are very accomadating.
This hotel is in M G Road - Ernakulam town. Easy access to transport and food place. The government handicraft shop - Kairali is just opposite. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ernakulam town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aasha_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Excellency
Hotel Excellency
#93 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
253 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Archana Inn
Hotel Archana Inn
#17 of 33 in Ernakulam
14 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#8 of 33 in Ernakulam
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Srinivas
Hotel Srinivas
#187 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
30 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Star Emirates
Hotel Star Emirates
#127 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
5 reviews
1.9 mi away
Time Square
Time Square
#100 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel S.M. Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel S.M. Regency

Address: Nettipadam Road | Off: M.G.Road, Jos Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £13 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel S.M. Regency 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we have 20 Executive-A/C , 20 Executive Non-A/C and 05 Elegance Rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel S.M. Regency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing