We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hospitality and friendliness.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pattarumadom Ayurveda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pattarumadom Ayurveda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb hospitality and friendliness.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This family operated business offers excellent value and quality treatments. The staff are friendly and helpful and made us feel part of the family. I experienced definite health benefits from my all too brief stay and I will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeGuthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We had a clean, spacious room with a verandah. AC and hot water all of the time. It was a lovely place to sit and relax, read, meditate, draw and nap between treatments. Comfortable bed! The staff Jijo, Ashley, Jodie and others were incredibly helpful - professional, friendly and kind. Went out of their way to assist. We had treatments twice per day as well as medicine three times per day. The environment was quiet and down to earth with the property facing onto the water and in the midst of a village. Fresh air and no rubbish. The food was varied, fresh, and tasty. It felt like part of the treatment and I think was ayurvedic. Tea and coffee was brought to your room. You could also have meals brought to your room if you wished but we ate in the dining room mostly. This was a real experience - not for tourists, the other patients were Indian - and at times felt like a relaxing hospital. The treatments were new and mysterious to us and we did not really understand how they worked but we could not help but feel their effects. I felt lighter and my eyes began to shine. I enjoyed the time out in one place after the last few weeks on the move and travelling. I found and booked this based on Trip Advisor and I'm glad we went there. It was a great and intriguing experience!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have just returned home from spending four weeks with Jijo and his team at Pattarumadom Wellness Centre. Normally when I take a holiday I stay in hotels and I had never taken a trip like this before to a place where the offer is relaxation and ayurvedic treatments.

The accommodation is of a good standard with a large bedroom and ensuite shower room with toilet and basin. The room came with a tv, ceiling fan and air conditioning and there are insect screens on the windows, so everything is in place for any visitors to feel comfortable, whether they come from India or from further away. Rooms were cleaned six days a week and bed linen and fresh towels were always on hand.

The food, served three times a day, was varied. It is 100% vegetarian and of a very good standard. All meals were taken in the communal canteen area which offered an opportunity to mix with fellow guests if you chose to.

The treatments were provided by men for the men and by women for women, so there were no embarrassing moments during any treatments, which took place every morning and every afternoon seven days a week. I experienced many different treatments during my stay including milky oil baths, body scrubs, Shirodhara and I also had a four handed oil massage every day just to prepare my body for the treatments. The different treatments were prescribed by the owner who is a practising qualified ayurvedic doctor and in my case were generally repeated for three days and then reviewed.

The location is calm and if you want to get away from the world this place would provide an answer for you. The building is located at the end of a narrow lane with some small houses nearby housing smiling friendly people. The main road is about 500metres away where there are some small shops and this was for me a pleasant place to go to see the frenzy of Indian life passing by on motorcycles, tuc tucs, buses and small lorries before I could wander back to the calm of the wellness centre. One point to note is that the centre is about twenty minutes from Cochin airport so the transfer time to the clinic was quick and convenient. There were occasions when the aircraft were routed towards the centre following take off, but on most days the noise was not an issue and the mind eventually switched off to the sound of the distant aircraft activity.

Yoga was provided three times a week by an excellent teacher called Suresh. Weather permitting the classes were taken on the roof below the setting sun which was fantastic, but remember to protect against the mosquitoes as they are just starting to get active at sunset and I did get a little eaten on one occasion when I forgot to put on my spray. On the monsoon days we squeezed into the canteen for the class.

Staying at this centre will bring you into contact with real Indian people living their normal lives in a rural environment and was a real educational experience for me. I wish the very best to Jijo, the centre's manager, along with all of the staff for assisting in providing me with a month in my life that I will truly never forget.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 and 3 have a small outside terrace overlooking the river and meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I'm so glad that I found this place to recharge during the monsoon season. I felt very well taken care of. Everyone was very kind and warm, which made the treatments all the more special. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

i wanted my holiday to be different, not any other day in my busy everyday life. this place has met many of my planned features. very clam, serene surroundings that lets you think and explore your inner self. Staff is very motivated and tries to give best of them and hardworking. While nothing is perfect in this world as the perfect itself is different for every one, I believe this place is very good for a calm holiday with a good Ayurveda detox treatment. Located in a small village . very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have a very good backyard and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eswar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you are looking for an Ayurveda treatment at a modest rates and in beautiful & Peace full location and that too treat you like own family.. you are right .. this is the place ..

You may wonder how can a team might work like a family until u visit and meet them ..

All the very best .. Thank You so much .. will visit next time with my family :)

Room Tip: Test your luck by asking a room with balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gnanakannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

I've never felt such warmth and kindness from a healing center/hotel before. The staff at Pattarumadom welcome their guest like family.

This is the place to come for a sweet and simple retreat, offering authentic and pure Ayurveda. Dr. Varghese comes from five generations of family Ayurveda!!! They are the real deal! And unlike some of the commercial Ayurveda centers in India that care more about your money than your healing, Dr. Varghese and the team of healers are pure and compassionate, caring deeply about the wellbeing and health of their clients.

The location of the center is located in a quiet neighborhood in the Kerala countryside adjacent to the most DIVINE meadow I've ever laid my eyes on. A great place for meditation at dusk.

They also have an on call yoga teacher that is amazing. Suresh is a true yogi, integrating pranayama (breathing), meditation and philosophy into his yoga teaching. So sweet! Classes are taught at sunrise on the roof.

The accommodations are simple, clean and offer just enough character to feel your in India. Rooms are cleaned daily and natural products are used...very important when you come to detox.

The food is delightful, menu varies daily.
You can even ask Jijo, the general manager to give you a cooking class...he's an amazing cook and funny too.

I've been to four other Ayurveda centers in India, and this one is the most authentic and sweet. I'm planning to come back again next year with friends.

And PLEASE if you come to stay with Pattarumadom for treatment, offer any suggestions for improvement that you might have. They are always asking for suggestions and sincerely want to make us happy.

My deepest wish is to support small family clinics like this one! Ill be back soon.

Love,
Erin (Seema - as the therapist renamed me!!) :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank E.D. Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.0 mi away
Diana Heights Luxury Hotel
Diana Heights Luxury Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nedumbassery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
10.1 mi away
Elephant Pass Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat
13.7 mi away
Hotel Malabar
Hotel Malabar
#12 of 50 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Krish Airport Hotel
Krish Airport Hotel
#5 of 7 in Nedumbassery
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Suites
Golf View Hotel & Suites
#1 of 9 in Nedumbassery
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
11.1 mi away
Punarnava Bamboo Lagoon Ayurveda Village
Punarnava Bamboo Lagoon Ayurveda...
#78 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pattarumadom Ayurveda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pattarumadom Ayurveda

Property: Pattarumadom Ayurveda
Address: Pattarumadom Ayurveda, Mekkadu, P.O | Near International Airport, Nedumbassery, Kochi (Cochin) 683589, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 415 Speciality Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pattarumadom Ayurveda carries the name of an illustrious family deeply rooted in the Ayurvedic tradition for more than a centuary.We provide Curative as well as wellness treatments, Panchakarma, and daily relaxation therapies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pattarumadom Ayurveda Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing