We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a long stay in Cochin”
Review of Phils' Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phils' Residency
Ranked #72 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for a long stay in Cochin”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Phil's Residency is off the main drag of Fort Cochin in a quiet street.

Large apartments that are very clean with fans and a/c. Modern but perhaps a little sparse and lacking character.

The room had no toliet roll so bring your own and we had to ask for an extra towel as only one was provided. Neither point was an issue and Sony was more than happy to provide extra towels.

Breakfast is delivered to the room but compared to other places we've stayed at, the breakfast was poor.

For a short stay this place was functional and served us well. For longer stays however, it would perfect. The space, lounge area and cooking facilities are a great bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999Reviewer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phils682001, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 13 November 2015
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Phil's Residency….!

It's pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your stay at Phils Residency.We would like to thank you for your valuable review in Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kochi.

Regards
Team Phil's Residency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    24
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
21
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This beautiful and modern hotel is convenient to shops and restaurants, on a (mostly) quiet back street. The hotel staff is gracious, friendly and very helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortably furnished, although it could have used some art work on the bare walls. A couple of minor quibbles: the water pressure was inadequate to keep the shower functioning without holding the diverter valve in the engaged position, and a neighbor's dog occasionally barked at all hours of the night. We would happily stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mainepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phils682001, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 13 November 2015
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Phil's Residency….!

It's pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your stay at Phils Residency.We would like to thank you for your valuable review in Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kochi.

Regards
Team Phil's Residency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Nice and clean place to stay in a quiet and safe area. We stayed here our first night of a 3 weeks tour of India, and I definitely appreciated the Western style bathrooms and high standard of cleanliness. Would definitely come back next time I visit beautiful Kochi!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sony I, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the hotel. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

Looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I was quite surprised woth the location of the hotel. I felt as if I walked into an apartment and not a hotel. However the service and the staff made me feel that I walked into a five star hotel or a better one. The staff are truly courteous and never complain for the numerous times you call them for help. The manager was too too friendly and very helpful. He helped me find out the way to a famous local temple near by. A complete worth for the money

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rramzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sony I, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the hotel.

It is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and friendly services.
Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood (except for one dog) away from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets. I wasn't sure what to expect as there wasn't even room for a blade of grass to grow between properties. To my surprise, we entered a gate and there was a place to park cars, the hotel loomed 4 or 5 stories above us. Inside there was plenty of room in the office/lobby. There was an elevator and large staircase and when I got to the room, I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was plenty spacious and was really an apartment. The dining area and living area shared one room, with a nice balcony if one wanted to step outside and smoke. There was a large flat-screen tv and couch. There was a hand washing area in the hall area and a furnished kitchen that one could rent for a little extra.
The hotel had wifi, which was a great benefit to me, as I have an AT&T iphone and any time I used it in India, AT&T charged would charge me about 100 times more than in the USA. So I would look for places with wifi, and they were very few and far between. Even Lulu Mall didn't have wifi that would work on my phone. This was a big help!
There was a fully Western bathroom, including toilet and toilet paper (an apparent luxury in the area). There was a bucket under the shower, something I never knew what to do with when the nice hot shower was squirting right on me.
The bedroom was super quiet and comfortable with the a/c in the background it was truly a peaceful place to rest. After my 32 hour flight to Kochi, I went straight to bed at 9am (IST) and didn't get up until late that night. There was a chifferobe to hang clothes, it had drawers that could be locked, and night stands, table and mirror.
The property was like new, shiny and clean like new but the very best part of my stay here was the staff. I felt welcomed and appreciated by the staff here. The owner, Mrs. Phil even came by and welcomed me. Sony, the manager, was quick to make sure that the stay was a comfortable one and volunteered many helpful suggestions about restaurants and attractions in and around the hotel and Kochi. He made special reservations with tuktuk to take me around to the Vasco de Gama Church and the Bishops Museum, Dutch Palace, waterfront and many other great places to see in Ft. Cochin. This made my staff even better since I was on a several city itinerary and never been to India, any and all advice about attractions was very useful to me. Sony, the manager, said that he was trained in hospitality and tourism and he really knew his stuff.
The included breakfast in the morning was very tasty. It was served to me, in my room, when I wanted it with tea or coffee, it was just another super amenity of Phils'.
The room was a real value with the location, new condition and awesome staff.
I will definitely be staying here again if I ever get back to India..Phil's is truly an Oasis in Ft. Cochin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phils682001, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 13 November 2015
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Phil's Residency….!

It's pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your stay at Phils Residency.We would like to thank you for your valuable review in Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kochi.

Regards
Team Phil's Residency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I arrived at this wonderful hotel very ill..the suite was very modern and clean and then the staff took over! I was nursed for two days and on the second they bought me a birthday cake and the owners came in especially to see me. The manager is superb and goes the extra mile whenever you need it, in fact they turned round my holiday and I will never forget their kindness, professionalism and superb hotel

Room Tip: Kochi can be a bit of a hell hole and this makes it all worth it..great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhammerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phils682001, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 13 November 2015
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Phil's Residency….!

It's pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your stay at Phils Residency.We would like to thank you for your valuable review in Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kochi.

Regards
Team Phil's Residency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerala
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

best hotel to stay with family
staff are really very very good....
The reception personnel were very helpful in advise on what to do in the city.
Overall a great find and a great stay...highly recommended !!
sony see u again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeralaBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phils682001, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 13 November 2015
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Phil's Residency….!

It's pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your stay at Phils Residency.We would like to thank you for your valuable review in Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kochi.

Regards
Team Phil's Residency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#17 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimansion Inn
Kimansion Inn
#121 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cochin Palace
Cochin Palace
#51 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phils' Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phils' Residency

Property: Phils' Residency
Address: Cochin Residency Parade Road | Kunnumpuram Road, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#20 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phils' Residency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Available for short and long-term stays, and with all amenities provided, Phils' Residency is a conceptual home from home, offering a choice of fully-furnished serviced studios and apartments.Our studio suites come in two sizes: for up to two guests, and for up to four guests. All studio suites have separate sleeping and living areas, plus separate bathrooms. Our apartments have one or two separate bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, plus separate living rooms, kitchens, and hand-washing areas.More cost-effective than other high-end hotels and apartments in the area, Phils' Residency offers space, privacy, and convenience, whether traveling as a family, a couple, or solo. Our apartments include separate fully-equipped kitchens, and with the abundance of fresh food on offer in Fort Kochi, you can eat at home like a king (or queen!) for very little cost! All linens and towels are included in the cost of your stay, as are daily cleaning, utility charges, local taxes, satellite television and DVD, telephone, and in-room WiFi internet access.We are located in the heart of Fort Kochi (Fort Cochin) - just an hours' drive from Cochin international airport, and 30 minutes from Ernakulum railway station. Our Travel Desk provide genuine tour information, further travel assistance, Arrange taxis, flight tickets, Train tickets, Bus tickets, Cultural dances, Martial arts, Indian classical Music, Genuine Ayurvedic Massage, Accommodation in next destination, Package tour, 24 Hour overnite House boats in Alleppey or in Kumarakom, 3-7 hours Village backwaters cruise etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Phils' Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phils' Residency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing