We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phils' Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phils' Residency
Ranked #74 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is located in a side road, no view of any decent place, hence I would consider it to be over priced as no real facilities (no kettle provided, no fridge). The staff did not make any effort to make you feel welcome, several power cuts. The internet also is not very reliable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ezhilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sony I, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am quite upset with the comments you have made about our Hotel. I can assure you that I take a very personal interest in every guest and we insulted that you think otherwise. I personally welcomed you when you reached at our hotel.

The price for your room was just 2300 per day and it is a 350 square feet large studio (separate bed room, separate living area, balcony and a small kitchen) , with air conditioned, private en suite with 24 hours hot and cold shower, bath towels, toilet papers, bath soap and good quality furniture ( sofa set, dining table wardrobe ect.) 195 litter fridge and coffee maker with all stuffs and free wifi access in your room. we used our generator to give you power supply during each power cuts.

Sorry to say, all your assertions are unfounded.

I really do not understand your intention behind this wrong review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    23
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
21
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is a great option for Fort Cochin, as long as you're not looking for a heritage building. And think service apartment rather than hotel. It's new, and clean, with a wonderful location - on a quiet lane but steps away from a busy area with lots of local shops and local colour. The rooms and suites are spacious and comfortable, with good A/C, constant hot water and reliable Wifi. Sony, the manager, is really helpful and friendly. He speaks excellent English, and on a number of occasions went the extra mile to assist me. I always passed on the breakfast and instead stepped outside for chai and samosas around the corner, and fruit from the greengrocer - wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phils682001, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 13 November 2015
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Phil's Residency….!

It's pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your stay at Phils Residency.We would like to thank you for your valuable review in Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kochi.

Regards
Team Phil's Residency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Spent three night at Phils' Residency and enjoyed every minute. Excellent location, amazing facilities and a great host - Soni who took great care of us. Totally agree with others who have given this a full star rating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan_H_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phils682001, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 13 November 2015
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Phil's Residency….!

It's pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your stay at Phils Residency.We would like to thank you for your valuable review in Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kochi.

Regards
Team Phil's Residency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Big air conditioned bedroom. Centrally located. Excellent service and hospitality from Sony the concierge. Well worth a visit. We don't understand why a previous guest reviewed this room as ' terrible" . It was good value, Everything was fine here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dianne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sony I, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for sparing time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. It is really nice to know that you had a memorable stay at Phils Residency. I really appreciate your compliments and the same has been shared with all the staff members. We are really honored to have your stay with us and sincerely look forward to welcome you back in our villa for another memorable holiday.

Regards,
Sony Ignatious
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

great service from all the staff at this hotel ,The manger sony the breakfast room ,lovely bacon also lovely rooms with a small balcony , big windows and all mod cons , tea and coffee, lovely bed and bed linen , very clean , great hot water in the shower , a great quiet place to stay , in a convenient position . also they will book tours and airport taxi at a good price .. The very nice owner , gave us a great goodbye in the morning . i would stay here everytime i came back to Hanoi .. thanks so much for a great stay

Room Tip: great place to stay with your family
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathew123677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sony I, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Phils Residency for your stay in Fort Kochi and for taking time to post your valuable review on Trip Advisor. We are really happy to know that you had a nice experience and a pleasant stay at our Residency. Thanks for you encouraging feedback and compliments.

We certainly look forward to your return in future.

Regards
Sony Ignatious
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 11 nights in January. Excellent room on 3rd floor, and really super manager in charge. Friendly, honest and completely trustworthy. All attributes we British people need when visiting the east.
New hotel and will only get better under the splendid and tireless management of Sony Ignatius.
Thank you for all your help.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sony I, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us.
We profusely thank you for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time.

Looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a great hotel that will only get better under the amazing direction of its young, fun, and incredibly friendly manager, Ignatious Sony. The rooms and amenities are excellent, the price is reasonable, and the location is hard to beat. But the service really sets this place apart. Sony spent almost two hours (!) helping me coordinate my custom trip to the backwaters. Without him I would have been stuck on some awful tourist boat. Instead I had an unforgettable experience that I'll always treasure. Sony already has some great improvements in mind for the hotel, including a cozy restaurant, so this place will be even better the next time I visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truthtopower2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sony I, Manager at Phils' Residency, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. It is the feedback from valued guests that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

Our endeavor is to ensure each guest is given a seamless experience and made to feel home.

We profusely thank you for elaborating your thoughts which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time.

Looking forward to serve you again here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#90 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#66 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#35 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#28 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victory Dawn
Hotel Victory Dawn
#96 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#47 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phils' Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phils' Residency

Property: Phils' Residency
Address: Cochin Residency Parade Road | Kunnumpuram Road, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phils' Residency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Available for short and long-term stays, and with all amenities provided, Phils' Residency is a conceptual home from home, offering a choice of fully-furnished serviced studios and apartments.Our studio suites come in two sizes: for up to two guests, and for up to four guests. All studio suites have separate sleeping and living areas, plus separate bathrooms. Our apartments have one or two separate bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, plus separate living rooms, kitchens, and hand-washing areas.More cost-effective than other high-end hotels and apartments in the area, Phils' Residency offers space, privacy, and convenience, whether traveling as a family, a couple, or solo. Our apartments include separate fully-equipped kitchens, and with the abundance of fresh food on offer in Fort Kochi, you can eat at home like a king (or queen!) for very little cost! All linens and towels are included in the cost of your stay, as are daily cleaning, utility charges, local taxes, satellite television and DVD, telephone, and in-room WiFi internet access.We are located in the heart of Fort Kochi (Fort Cochin) - just an hours' drive from Cochin international airport, and 30 minutes from Ernakulum railway station. Our Travel Desk provide genuine tour information, further travel assistance, Arrange taxis, flight tickets, Train tickets, Bus tickets, Cultural dances, Martial arts, Indian classical Music, Genuine Ayurvedic Massage, Accommodation in next destination, Package tour, 24 Hour overnite House boats in Alleppey or in Kumarakom, 3-7 hours Village backwaters cruise etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Phils' Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phils' Residency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing