We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating with my eyes!”
Review of East Indies

East Indies
Ranked #44 of 957 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: European, Indian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Kerala fusion food with Dutch Indonesian influence in a beautiful setting at the Eighth Bastion Hotel
Ernakulam, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eating with my eyes!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We came here during Christmas holidays and had a beatiful meal in the spacious and calm patio. Great presentations of starters, so my eyes where eating with me. The new tastes from the East indies give a new twist, but I also enjoy the tipical and nicely arranged Kerala fare.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shajit_nair3555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    17
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Sophisticated food in Cool Surroundings”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This restaurant is located in the Eighth Bastion Hotel pretty much in the centre of Fort Cochin. The hotel looks great and the rooms extremely comfortable but sadly we were staying somewhere else from which we were keen to escape, if only for a meal!

We found this on Trip Advisor and were very happy with our dinner which we ate in the calm courtyard. The food here is best described as Indian Fine Dining. We all chose differently and were all really pleased with what we ate. Make sure that you leave some room for the desserts too!

All for about 1000 rupees per head.

The only slight downside is that apart from one other, solitary diner, we were the only people having dinner outside that evening. An inexplicable shame!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“the tasting menu is exceptional”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

we ate at East Indies twice. First night the tasting menu (one fish, one vegetarian) fully lived up to expectations. Second night we ate 'conventional' food from the menu, and were a little disappointed - it was very good, but not memorable.

On both nights the service was excellent, and the restaurant (we ate inside in Air Con) perfectly presented, and there are one or two 'off-menu' treats to keep you happy.

The hotel doesn't (yet) have an alcohol licence - we drank Lassi and fizzy water.

The tasting menu earns East Indies five stars

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andymendus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We have now eaten here twice on our travels in the last 3 weeks. The restaurant is set in the courtyard garden of a modern, light-coloured building and at night the lighting really gives the space atmosphere. There are tables both inside and out, and as with many restaurants here there were 2 musicians playing to give a nice mood.

We ate dinner off the a la carte menu which offers a pretty good choice of dishes, many of which are Asian, but which also has local twists of European dishes such as cheese tart for a starter. Other dishes we ate included mutton curry - quite hot but very flavoursome - herbed pork chop and roasted prawns. There is also a reasonable choice of desserts. The restaurant has no alcohol licence but offers wicked soft drinks - our favourite last night was watermelon with ginger and coriander. Wow!

We found the service from the staff amongst the best and most professional that we have come across on our trip. The waiters are very friendly, smile and engage with diners, but you can also see that they have been 'properly' trained. Everything was brought to the table promptly. Later the chef chatted with diners to ask how things were.

Our only grumble - and it's a small one - is that some of the portions could be smaller. All of the food we ate tasted authentic, full of flavour, and was well presented. But one pork chop rather than two would have sufficed, and my mutton curry came with more steamed rice than I needed.

Overall, this was one of the best places where we ate, and we would happily return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misha0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We booked for Christmas, but weren't told they were only offering a fixed menu. It was truly awful, but maybe it's better when they do al a carte. If so, then sorry we missed it. Don't book on a day they offer a fixed menu.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RobynStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Indies also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to East Indies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing