We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel - but far from all the places in kochi”
Review of Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casino Hotel
Ranked #27 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good hotel - but far from all the places in kochi”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

very good, clean , spacious and beautiful hotel at right price to stay.
The biggest problem with the hotel is its location , this hotel is situated in Willington island ,
All transport , shops and everything closes here by 1830hrs.
if u are going outside , try to be get back by 1800hrs , or else coming here is very hard as the transport will stop after 1800hrs. even u will not get a taxi to get back here. Even u get one u have to pay double.
Other then that the hotel is nice, clean and rooms are very spacious.
Breakfast serve was very good , lots of choices and well made.
Taste of food was ok and can be lot better.
I will definitely recommend this hotel for holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jy_vacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    237
    90
    33
    15
See reviews for
145
176
36
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Its a good hotel, needs some up-gradation..staff is very helpful and courteous...breakfast has a wide spread..however the hotel is good only if you looking for a vacation with family...its very far from the business district of cochin

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piyushhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virudhunagar, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Casino hotel situated in Willington Island at Cochin is a nice property. The rooms are simple but clean. The food is awesome at the Coffee shop. Also the speciality sea food restaurant serves excellent local cuisine. The rooms need refurbishment soon. The staff are courteous and can tell it is part of the CGH Group. It is a little away from the main MG road area but a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhakar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel - it is well past it's heyday when the island was the main airport and tourists used to visit by the dozen. The check-in process was very unprofessional - the staff did not know the process to be followed. I was just handed the key after 15 minutes of waiting (there was no one else before me but the staff did not know how to check me in) - they did not explain whether breakfast was included or not (it was) and did not explain any of the other facilities that were offered by the hotel.
After 15 -20 mins of waiting one of the staff showed me to my room. The furniture dates back to the seventies and while the rooms are large, they need to be updated. I had dinner at their signature seafood restaurant - it was a disappointment. If you like your seafood grilled or fried without any Indian spices, you'll love this restaurant. I ordered the Red snapper and a prawn masala fry - the fish wasn't cooked completely and was just dunked in an existing curry - the prawns were over-cooked and dry and devoid of any flavor......being in the heart of Kerala, one expects Kerala cuisine and there were hardly any offerings in the seafood restaurant.
I signed up for the ayurvedic massage which was very good - again the staff were clueless in helping one find the place or who to talk to.
All in all - this hotel and restaurant is past it's heyday. It used to be one of a handful of hotels and restaurants in the seventies that one went to but there are better ones today.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yrechnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We checked in to the hotel in the evening of 8th November. The check in was fast, efficient and hassle free. The room we were given faced the pool and was good with a comfortable bed. However, the bathroom fittings show their age and need refurbishment. Some decay in the bathroom tiles is also observed.

Our extra bed for the child was given and after a fabulous buffet dinner at the Theravada restaurant we settled down for sleep. Soon we found the room getting warmer and warmer. We fiddled with the thermostat but to no avail. By this time it was nearly 11:30 pm and we did not fancy changing the room at this late hour since we were to check out early next morning to proceed to Munnar. It was a warm and restless night.

The buffet breakfast the next morning was good with local delicacies as well as the normal egg-station and continental options.

Check out was once again efficient and hassle free.

Over all, except for the room air conditioning and the somewhat old state of the bathroom we were satisfied with the hotel.

Special mention must be made of all the staff who were very courteous and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzban H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

this is a special place ! the food is typical keralaite with the menu catering for foreigners as well. an ideal place to stay if you want to be pampered by food and happy faces. the smiles on the faces of the staff is a highlight. the rooms are slightly old but fully functional. the swimming pool is 20 m long but very well maintained. but the food is the high point with the ambiance a close second. the overall experience was very good......love to go back any time.

Room Tip: pool side is better view....esp top floor ....gives treetop view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kodasri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 2 hours away from the airport. Once you get there you will be greet by very friendly and helpful staff.

The restaurant is incredible so i would recommend eating there

Rooms are really spacious and comfortable. It is worth spending some time there.

My only suggestion would be the wifi connection, it only works in the lobby and not very good.

But the hotel provides and incredible experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Camimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#21 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Hotel

Property: Casino Hotel
Address: | Willingdon island, Kochi (Cochin) 682 003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Art Decor Styled hotel captures the essence of Cochin, which is at once cosmopolitan and traditional and enables you to travel gracefully between these two worlds - right from that moment when you are greeted into the hotel with a warm welcome. From then on you experience the richness of simple, natural, yet elegant interiors of the hotel that carries tradition and modernity with elan. You'll experience this duality of space and time even in our restaurants and in the exotic fare - ethnic, Indian and continental - that is dished out, which is perhaps why, an experience at Casino Hotel is so exotic, yet so familiar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Casino Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Casino Hotel Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing