We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel for a reasonable price”
Review of Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casino Hotel
Ranked #23 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A Good hotel in a calm and beautiful place.

Except 1-2 staff, all the staff are professional & friendly (one staff mocked behind us during the check in process, which we saw through our mobile phone)

Breakfast is superb.

Lunch - would have better if they can add some more local food. Bengali fish curry, elachi chicken tikka (dry), fish in some sauce. . .not upto the mark. Instead, they could have made atleast one curry (chicken or fish) as per local taste. But the mambazha pulissery, different pickles, etc were awesome.

There is no fan in the room (centrally air-conditioned). Any one who need a slight breeze for a quick sleep (like me), will have a small problem.

Otherwise, really a professionally well managed hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unni_archana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of Kerala tour , lovely hotel , lovely staff and had a lovely restaurant which served fish it was great , the fish was fresh and we got information about the fish how it was going to be cooked , the meals were lovely . Even 1member of staff was in Munnar when we stayed at the next hotel . Clean hotel , lovely food and the the service was great .

Room Tip: Eat at the restUrant and have the fish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taraoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a Kerala tour. This hotel says it's 5 star - well barely. It's in a very isolated position on an island miles from anywhere. The rooms are rather shabby and not that clean looking - OK but not great. The restaurant served a good buffet Sunday lunchtime.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucindah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at hotel at end of our trip to Kerala, this is oldest property of CGH Earth, we stayed there for 1 day so could not explore much.
Room was clean and staff was very cooperative, there were not many travelers staying at point of time, so hotel was giving deserted view.
American festival was going on, when we reached so food was Mexican/Americans in dinner buffet, choice of north Indian dishes were very few. ( Dal/Paneer)
It is far from airport, at least 1.5 hour ride from airport. So not advisable for people who want to stay for 1-2 days and also it is at distance from Fort area which has number of stay options too.
So location becomes deciding factor to pick this hotel or not for short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankush161281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for a night and I actually ended up complaining to the travel agent about this hotel! This was back in Dec 2011 and maybe it has been refurbished since then - if not then steer clear!

We arrived and it was nothing like the internet shows it to be. It is well past it's sell by date and was very tired. I have to say I was surprised as we have stayed in other CGH Earth hotels which have been lovely but this one is not one of their finest. To put it bluntly when the DMC said he hadn't seen it for 11 years I told him it hadn't changed! And I meant it!

Overall the service was good. The rooms were clean but dated. The bar was depressingly dark and quiet and the food was ok but nothing great.

There are better places to stay in the area nd I am glad we were only there for one night!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We so enjoyed our time in this hotel despite being stuck on the Island with no driver, as the result of a strike. The area is quite isolated we discovered when our only option was to walk around and their are no activities. However it is very quiet from the usual hustle and bustle of India.
The hotel has a lovely heritage feel to it with sweeping staircases and wood panelling.
We though the staff were exceptional in all areas. It has two restaurants, the Seafood one was amazing and the other we were lucky enough to experience on Mothers Day with a live band.
Free Wifi was available in the foyer area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We were on a road trip to Kerala and wanted to explore the historic side of fort kochi. Initially we were supposed to stay at a private club but once we reached there we were not too happy about the place. At the last minute one of our local friend suggested Casino hotel and got our room booked. We stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights. We used a ferry to travel to fort kochi from Wellington island where this hotel is located. Jetty is hardly few minutes walk from the hotel. The room was spacious and had a positive vibe, it was overlooking the swimming pool. The entire decor and ambience was so classy, got a great feeling once you entered the hotel. Breakfast buffet was a good spread. Pool is large and well maintained. It overall had a old world charm. Loved it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hifazath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#14 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
884 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#1 of 10 in Vypin Island
337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#28 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
644 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#4 of 32 in Ernakulam
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Hotel

Address: | Willingdon island, Kochi (Cochin) 682 003, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £46 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casino Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Art Decor Styled hotel captures the essence of Cochin, which is at once cosmopolitan and traditional and enables you to travel gracefully between these two worlds - right from that moment when you are greeted into the hotel with a warm welcome. From then on you experience the richness of simple, natural, yet elegant interiors of the hotel that carries tradition and modernity with elan. You'll experience this duality of space and time even in our restaurants and in the exotic fare - ethnic, Indian and continental - that is dished out, which is perhaps why, an experience at Casino Hotel is so exotic, yet so familiar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Casino Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Casino Hotel Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing