We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Abad Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abad Metro
Ranked #74 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Hotel is good acoording to the reasonal price. I found it is budged one for stay.Food might be you need to compromise as I found it is very oily. As best value for money as the rooms are good and clean. As it is very convenintly for travelling.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYOTIDIGAMBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    49
    22
    13
    7
See reviews for
25
22
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This was my third visit to Ernakulam and I always stayed at Hotel Abad Metro. The rooms are neat and clean and they are very comfortable. I always used the room service for my break-fast and dinner and the service was very prompt. The rooms and food is economically priced and the quality of the food is excellent. The staff at the hotel are cordial. Prior to my third visit, I had asked my office at Ernakulam to look for an alternative hotel, just for a change, however, they said that it is better to stay at Hotel Abad Metro since this hotel compared to the others is much better in quality. And they are right.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauricequadras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had booked ourselves into this hotel because of its location...just 100 mtrs from the KSRTC bus stand. And also because it is a part of the Abad group of hotels.
It was disgusting to find that the room was infested with cockroaches. We had to ensure that they do not find a way into our baggage.
The room was very small and the bathroom was the smallest one that we had seen ever. Guess the rooms and bathrooms were specially designed for midgets. Abad Metro's room tarrif of Rs.1800 plus is far too exhorbitant for the tiny, cockroach infested rooms that it offers. Would not recommend this place even if you do not get accomodation in any other hotels in Ernakulam. Abad Metro is unlike the other Abad properties which are well maintained. The management at Abad needs to give a serious look into this property if it needs to maintain its reputaion as a good hotelier. The people manning the reception was courteous and helpful though at all times.

Room Tip: Carry a can of cockroach repellant spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MurliKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The Abad Metro is my go-to hotel in Cochin, Kochi or Ernakulam (whichever name you prefer). I've stayed at the Abad Metro numerous times over the past seven years with the most recent stay having been a four-night visit in April 2011. Location is two blocks off of M.G. Road in Ernakulam, in the heart of the city but a couple blocks removed from the hustle/bustle. The tourist areas of Mattancherry and Ft Kochi can be accessed by a combination auto-rickshaw/ferry ride or by using one of the frequent buses that ply M.G. Road. I generally stay in a standard single room. Rooms are nothing fancy but are of a decent size and adequately appointed. A positive sign is that something has always been renovated/replaced from my previous visit. Hot water is available 24 hours. Service has always been of good standard with room service generally prompt and efficient. The on-premises Downtown Restaurant serves up some pretty good fare, especially their Kerala specialties including the daily thali lunch. The restaurant is actually recommended for a meal even if not staying at the hotel! An added bonus in staying at the Abad Metro is the ability to use the swimming pool/health club located two blocks down the street at sister property the Abad Plaza. Traffic noise is notable in many Indian hotels, the Abad Metro is no exception. The KSRTC bus stand is located down the street from the hotel and their buses rumble up/down Rajaji Road all day, dying off later in the evening (rumour has it that the bus stand will be shifting to a location outside the city). The noise isn't a huge issue, just be aware that just even though the hotel is located on a seemingly back street, it's not whisper quiet! The negatives: WiFi access is expensive and the hotel uses a noon checkout rather than the 24 hour system common in many South Indian hotels. All in all, the Abad Metro is great value in its price range and serves as a great base for exploring a fantastic area!

Room Tip: Book direct for best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_OvenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

The location of the hotel is fabulous ie not far off but neither bang on the main street of Kochi city. the room service was quick and attentive. the rooms were comfortable, however it would have helped if the decor was not so gloomy. there was a general pervasiveness of darkness. the furniture in the room badly needed replacement. once could feel the age of the furniture. the bathroom was incredilbly cloistered and could do with more space. the bright spot was the restaurant where the breakfast was wholesome. checkin and checkout was quick enough

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayanNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I was put up at the Abad Metro for a period of one week. The rooms were clean and housekeeping was good and done to satisfaction. Food was a bad experience though, menu wasn't up to the mark nor the quality to be boasted of. Quite average, maybe only less, could do with lots of kitchen improvement. Room service was prompt.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pree_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I had made this booking online about a month before travel and got a rate that suited my budget. I was a bit apprehensive as I have never stayed in any hotel in Kochi. But it was a welcome surprise. The front desk were cordial, the rooms are adequate and convenient, the bathrooms were clean with hot/cold water available 24 hours. The rooms have simple furniture, enough for a good nights' sleep. The sheets were clean with blankets neatly tucked in 2 white sheets so that one does not get blanket-allergic reaction. My son and daughter (young adults) also found it very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was plentiful mainly Kerala/south Indian cuisine, with bread and butter, conflakes & Milk, juice, tea and coffee for those you did not want Kerala Cuisine. It was easy to commute to M.G.Road - in fact you could walk there. Bus station and the railway station is closeby, walking distance or you could take an autorickshaw which was available from there to go anywhere. The lady at the travel desk was very efficient and gave us some good packages for sightseeing which we enjoyed very much. On the whole, it was truly value for money and my children and I enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Abad Atrium Hotel
Abad Atrium Hotel
#47 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Abad Plaza
Hotel Abad Plaza
#33 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excellency
Hotel Excellency
#82 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Presidency
Hotel Presidency
#15 of 29 in Ernakulam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pearl Palace Hotel
Pearl Palace Hotel
#131 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abad Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abad Metro

Property: Hotel Abad Metro
Address: M.G.Road | Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682035, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Abad Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abad Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Abad Metro Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing