We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel you can have @ Cochin”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Abad Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abad Plaza
Ranked #35 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst hotel you can have @ Cochin”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Reservations: try calling for a reservation, see how you feel the hospitality.. also a statement will call you back.. No response from the online chat too.

Rooms: The rooms have not been refurbished / state of the art.. the tower bolts.. the switches.. the noice making AC vent.. the tiny LCD TV..
The worst scenario of collecting the wifi passoword everyday from reception .. IT policy...???

Restaurant: The worst ever in a star hotel, only Sandwich, omlete , rice and curry in the mid night.. atleast half of the menu during Ramadan..
have a restaurant named Canopy..Unproffessional..
There was a ifthar menu.. i am wondered who designed the menu.. it is cheap.. but it is not what we need for ifthar.. that also serving like as if a restaurant in Railway station..a porota over 2 appams in a plate with a single piece chicken curry in a bowl.... and worst case one day when i went at ifthar time. no ifthar menu. lucky i was on MG Road.

Atlast for checkout.. i went and confirmed 2 times for bill and after getting the call from reception. bill not yet ready..

I am sure the management is just exploiting the fact that it is on a hot spot.. ia not worried about what a star hotel means

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mehboobkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    202
    87
    24
    13
See reviews for
132
79
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we stayed there in feb 2013 as a part of 5 city tour. our stay was for 1 night only. location is good. hotel staff was very polite and professional. room was very good and clean. room service was very good and food was also very nice. bathroom was clean. clean towels and linen were clean. overall a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr-ankit-aggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had a brief time at this place. Really good place at the heart of the city, really quite in the rooms.

Dinner buffet is not upto the mark... Sorry guys u need to bring in good items,, compromised on the menu part. But food was kinda average in taste and appearance. Could have done better.

Good for peaceful family dining. Service is poor though.


Try to keep up with the standards or will be left behind.

Room Tip: Choose towards the back end. as the roads are busy at the front and hence will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Strong Points about this Hotel:
1. The location of the hotel is great as it is on MG road the heart of Kochi and near the Central Mall.
2. Breakfast Provided is excellent with plenty of Indian & Continental choices.
3. Reception staff very courteous.

Weak Points:
1. The hotel rooms need a facelift badly.
2. Lunch at the Restaurant is below average. I was hoping to eat a descent Kerala meal but got disappointed with the taste and quality of food. Room service food is also not great. Hotel needs to hire good cooks/chef.
3. The Bed is very old and the bed sheets and Pillow covers are also very old. Needs a complete change.
4. Toilet fittings are very old and dull. Toilet towels provided are also old and worn out.
5. Value for Hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiju27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Old property, due for renovation,improve passageways... Rooms are very good, restaurant is good.. Very nice staff. Food is good..! Location is plus point, has a mall next door... So good time pass... Theaters. KFC...! In all good hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ranjit g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbadPlaza, Front Office Manager at Hotel Abad Plaza, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for posting a positve review in trip advisor. Glad to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and liked all our services. You can call me for any future assistance

Thanks & Regards

Anup Kumar.C
Mob : 9895112330
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are good. Location is very good, it is on M G road. In the event of going to/from airport, you will require 30 minutes extra as work going on for metro rail. It may go onfor next 6 months. Buffet breakfast has lot of items.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bhavesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbadPlaza, Front Office Manager at Hotel Abad Plaza, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for posting a positive review in tripadvisor. Glad to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and liked all our services. You can call me for any future assistance

Thanks & Regards

Anup Kumar.C
Mob : 9895112330
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Poor staff, poor management, ancient piece not updated at all.
They made me wait for an hour despite well in advance booking done!
The receptionist has no clue of what is happening in this place.
The toilet flush doesn't work and nobody turns up despite 100 complaints.
This needs to be an ancient museum thats all, no quality at all.
Getting in and out of the hotel is another big game itself.
One of the worst experience i ever had till date.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geenaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbadPlaza, Front Office Manager at Hotel Abad Plaza, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest

Let me apologize to you for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. The delay in check in was probably due to the full house on previous day (We are not able to ascertain the exact reason as we are not able trace your details in our system(name not matching). Hence we request you to send us a mail with your details so that can find out the exact reason for your delayed check in. We have taken note of your other complaints and have taken steps to rectify the same. Looking forward to meeting you in person on your next visit.

Thanks & Regards
Anup Kumar.C
Email : anup@abadhotels.com
Mob : 9895112330
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Abad Atrium Hotel
Abad Atrium Hotel
#47 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Abad Metro
Hotel Abad Metro
#78 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Cochin
Grand Hotel Cochin
#7 of 29 in Ernakulam
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The International Hotel
The International Hotel
#59 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travancore Court Hotel
Travancore Court Hotel
#8 of 29 in Ernakulam
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 29 in Ernakulam
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abad Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abad Plaza

Property: Hotel Abad Plaza
Address: M.G. Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682035, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abad Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abad Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Plaza Hotel
Hotel Abad Plaza Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing