We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience”
Review of Mermaid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mermaid Hotel
Ranked #135 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed 29 June 2013

lucky we were that we just had to spend one night at this hotel...from outside the hotel looks good but its only wen you actually check-in you get to know the pathetic condition that it is maintained in..the rooms are stingy..there is no hot water...if you ask for it, like in a dharamshala, they wud get buckets of hot water, the reception staff does not know courtesy..u wud get company of lizards on the wall...only thing that was good was the food served in the restaurant...

Room Tip: If at all to stay...take room which are pool facing..the view ahead is good in the morning
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foreverdeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Mermaid Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is anyways the hotelWorst hotel i have ever been to. Room stinking n dingy, staff in hotel ridicules for asking for hot water for having bath on a rainy day. Ran out of the hotel in less then one hour. Wil never go back again. The whole hotel stinks n kept very untidy

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suchitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The hotel looks beautiful- well laid out and scenic settings.
The rooms are clean.
But the service is slow and communication skills of the staff needs improvement.
Too many locals use the Bar and spoil the atmosphere of the place.
The hotel does not have WiFi in the rooms which can create problems.
The swimming pool was in an awful shape and not open for use either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backwaters on the backside of the hotel if possible
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyamal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I went there with family and was pleasantly surprised to get a 3 room apartment instead of 2 separate rooms that we had initially asked for. The apartment was clean and well laid out with lots of light. However, the air conditioning wasn't working in one room and they couldn't fix it in spite of us staying there for 2 nights. The food is average and breakfast was complimentary however, the spread was very limited. One can only get Masala Omlette and that wasn't made fresh. It was in a serving dish along with other food and that wasn't very appetising.

Room Service is very slow. One morning a movie was being shot in the hotel premises and it took a number of calls to get anyone to listen to us. In the night, after repeated calls, we were told that there was only one attendant so service was slow. Incidentally, plates weren't cleared from the room after dinner on our first night and after speaking to both housekeeping and reception staff, some one did come by and take them out. However, the plates were simply removed from the room and left in the corridor. The interesting bit is that the plates remained in the same place for two days and when we checked out, they were still there. Speaks volumes about quality and hygiene. If this is the case in front of a guest, I wonder what happens in the kitchen.

The property faces a canal and it's nice to go to the water edge. We didn't see any chairs, etc so I am assuming they don't encourage guests to hang out there.

Room Tip: The restaurant isn't air conditioned so room service might be a better idea. Call Room Service...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baikunth Nath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood; dont get turned off by the fact that the Vytilla mobilty hub is just next door.( which is the main selling point of this place )
The rooms are dated and badly maintained. They can do with a little sprucing up and regular maintenance
The staff is nice and courteous, but badly trained( not their mistake)
Nice spacious reception, rooms and rather ok food. Prices not exorbitant like across the lagoon.
The good bit - its close to the new and shiny Vytilla Mobilty Hub. So you have access to all buses that run across kerala and major cities if Kerala and Karnataka 24x7. Besides the presence of security nearby makes it very safe neighborhood and the pre-paid autorikshaw services at the hub means you are never ripped off !
Also i like the poolside here- dab on some mosquito repellent - nice place -overlooking a lake - for sundowners
Also the view from the balconies is nice.
If you are not a couple/indian-female, try the basement bar for cheap drinks- but you are likely to bump into a few tipsy working-class folks, they mean no harm- but you can feel not comfortable with no aircon and stares.
Stick to the bar next to the lobby- nice selection and knowledgable barman.
Parking plenty- but if you miss the access road before the bridge, then turning back is a chore

Room Tip: Get a room facing to the back side- you get view of the Kaniyam river and endless coconut tree tops...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigboybah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Our family trip's first destination in Kerala! A good beginning of the trip. A huge property located besides backwater. Picturesque. Spacious. Comfortable and spacious rooms. Valet parking space. Nicely maintained swimming pool facing backwater having lush green background.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th/ 5th floor gives good view of the city around.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Experience_Opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Dirtiest hotel in the town of Kochin, no service no maintenance, rooms and overall hotel is not maintained, ac not working, flush are broken if called at the reception for anything they put the phone down. Never ever visit this hotel. Very bad experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kavitavilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Abad Metro
Hotel Abad Metro
#78 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
120 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
92 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pearl Palace Hotel
Pearl Palace Hotel
#164 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
42 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Dunes Continental
The Dunes Continental
#18 of 30 in Ernakulam
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emarald Hotel Cochin
Emarald Hotel Cochin
#134 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Hotel

Address: Kaniyampuzha Road | Mermaid Complex, Vyttila, Kochi (Cochin) 682 019, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £21 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing