We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sanjay Sanghani 04 Nov., 2013”
Review of Mermaid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mermaid Hotel
Ranked #123 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sanjay Sanghani 04 Nov., 2013”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very bad hotel I cant see these type hotel in my life very bad service and very bad rooms rooms was not clean and food was very bad test so I suggest you dont go in these hotel even they offer free for stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 221sanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    34
    22
    16
    37
See reviews for
58
18
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We checked in on 02/03/14 after making an online booking on 01/03/14.
We had seen the website and done an online booking. I'm writing this review to warn you all, this hotel's website is a perfect example of how misleading, false and fake a website can be. We had booked a deluxe double room which according to their website offers :
Deluxe Room - Best Available Rate
Deluxe Rooms are luxuriously furnished with a spacious single and double beds, writing desk and wooden flooring. Mini Fridge additional amenities. 24 hour Cable T.V, round the Clock Room Service.
Rate Per Night 1 Adult 2 Adult Extra
05 Mar 2014 - 06 Mar 2014 2300.00 2500.00 750.00
All their promises were false...no fridge..many mosquitoes, bad service, faulty bulb in the bathroom and horrible room service. To top it all, the door wasnt getting locked, in spite of raising security questions at the reception, no one came all night to check it. Hence, today morning we shifted to Hotel Abaam....which is truly splendid..!!!!

Room Tip: Hotel Abaam gives you a truly splendid experience and it is just 10 mins away from Mermaid Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovina0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at Mermaid Hotel with my kids. The hotel was very run down but the rooms was clean and neat. I wasn't happy to stay coz the water was rusty but the service was good. I did not get hot water to showee so the hotel provide me 3 buckets of water. The breakfast was limited & the hotel is far from shopping area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 02Holiday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
470 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

last year I have stayed in mermaid for a couple of days with my friend.the stay was good,free buffet breakfast,philipino music band in pub....great varieties of drinks at the bar....drunken coconut bar was really good.easily accessible from vytilla junction...very near to the mobility hub.infinity pool.waterfront view rooms was stunning

Room Tip: check the a/c before using the rooms as the a/c was not working properly[centralized]
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

No Internet connection.
Damn Slow service.
However, excellent value for money in all other respects, such as:
Great location
Awesome swimming pool besides the backwaters
Neat rooms(although hot water was rare)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Supi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is big. Unusual structure for a hotel. Two buildings attached my a bridge, over viewing the back water. Beautiful location. Close to main road.
Rooms are small and nice.
TV, AC, Shower.
Restaurant is spacious and food is average.
Closest hotel from here is Crown Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajeshCOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It is not a hotel. Not even one room with out any complaint. If you are looking for a lodge choose Mermaid. A local lodge with pricing of 3 star hotel. The food part also the same. Staffs don't know the courtesy. Nothing to say more.. Please avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: I did not find anything in good condition t o suggest. Please find the colour of the water, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PramodcsKerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.8 mi away
Emarald Hotel Cochin
Emarald Hotel Cochin
#128 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tripunithura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.2 mi away
Karthika Residency
Karthika Residency
#132 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Excellency
Hotel Excellency
#83 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Highway Garden & Vista Rooms
Hotel Highway Garden & Vista Roo...
#177 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riviera Suites
Riviera Suites
#56 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Hotel

Property: Mermaid Hotel
Address: Kaniyampuzha Road | Mermaid Complex, Vyttila, Kochi (Cochin) 682 019, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing