We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming”
Review of Raintree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Raintree Lodge
Ranked #39 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“charming”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

i stayed at Raintree in January this year. It was a very cute little hotel. Close to everything i wanted to see. I would definitely recommend staying here. The staff were charming.
Also, when i organised a birthday dinner for a friend at The Old Harbour Hotel, the owner organised so many special touches at our table that were a total surprise and i feel very grateful for his kindness.
I will definitely stay with Raintree again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    95
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
99
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at Raintree Lodge for eight nights and liked it so much it was very difficult to leave. The location is perfect--away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk everywhere you need to go. We also ate breakfast at the Kashi Art Cafe (and loved it) as well as at Vasco's (just a quick left turn up at the first corner and down the street) which is a very good choice. We had a room overlooking the street and enjoyed our Romeo and Juliet balcony enormously. We're already trying to figure out a way to get back to this perfect little lodge.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the front of the hotel and sat out on the little balcony every day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadatraveljunkie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here 4 nights and we love this place! The room was very beautiful and the staff so nice. We also have the opportunity to dinner at Old Harbour Hotel (same managment) and we enjoy a lot! We reccomend it to everyone :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rober y Lety M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Relaxed, efficient and very friendly staff and charming rooms. We could not get in to the Old Harbour Hotel but they recommended this place as they also manage it. Quiet location and only a pleasant and short walk away from restaurants and cafes and shops.

Lovely to hear the bells from Santa Cruz basilica, the call to prayer from the mosque nearby and the music from the Hindu temple - all summoning the faithfull in perfect harmony. A perfect sumbol for this multicultural place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was a really nice place to stay in Fort Kochi. The location is great, near everything but away from the main corner with all the tourist shops. The rooms are very clean and well furnished. The staff is amazing with that gleaming Kerala smile. Free wifi and a sweet little roof terrace. There is no breakfast included but you can go to Kashi cafe nearby and have a great breakfast for 130 rupees. Overall this is a highly recommended place, I'll go back for sure.

Room Tip: room three overlooks the street with a nice big bed with Hanuman watching over. Room 5 is quieter on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Not quite as good as we imagined from the guide book description but seemed reasonable for the money and a good central location on a quietish street. Pleasant accommodating staff kindly let us change our plans. Mozzie nets in the bathroom windows would help.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenandLaura2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is simple but great. One of the best options quality-price. It was very quiet, clean, with a nice decoration and so kind staff.
It doesn't have restaurant, but Kashi Cafe is 1 minute walking.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nalieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#35 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#40 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#18 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#45 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ballard Bungalow
The Ballard Bungalow
#100 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raintree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raintree Lodge

Property: Raintree Lodge
Address: Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raintree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Cochin is a small town in the southern part of India. For centuries, it remained the focal point to many a European traveler, who eventually made it home. And in years to follow, it gradually acquired an eclectic mix of varied cultures that blend to form a unique existence for itself. Today, much of the place continues to exude this charm. Its tiny allies, European styled villas, quaint cafes and extensive grounds, all of which merge to create a beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Raintree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raintree Lodge - Fort Cochin, Kerala Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Raintree Hotel Kochi
Raintree Motel Kochi
Raintree Lodge Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing