We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vegetarian food ... ever, and I am a non vegetarian”
Review of BTH Sarovaram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BTH Sarovaram
Ranked #70 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The location is peaceful and a little far from the main city, but not more than 10 minutes away. The food here is killer. Try the appams, for a real taste of Kerala. Dal is too amazing and so are the thin rotis.
The artificial backwater is nice, but has insects as a result. Although not a super luxurious hotel, it has very nice service and exemplary food.
Be warned though that there is no all around the clock food service.
The spa and therapy is simply amazing and is a must on a tiresome day.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adilpereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 146 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed at this quite hotel on the highway in Kochi in January 2010. It was a trip for atteding a family function. Architecture was a major consideration, with all the rooms built around a lake.

First Impression: A sprawling property, with construction relying on local materials.Exposed brick-walls lent a beautiful red low skyline against Kerala's ubiquitous greenery.

Front Office: Smart and helpful. As this is a hotel situated away from the town, we kept going back to the travel desk for hiring cabs.They were very helpful.

Rooms: We had a room which opened into the lake. Mornings were gorgeous. But still waters attract mosquitos -- a Kochi problem.So,keep the door closed ad ask the housekeeping for repellents.

Dining: If you like South Indian 'no frills' vegetarian food, you will like this hotel. We found the menu limited and food sometimes bland.

Getting there: Difficult. It is an out-of-town motel kind of hotel.

In a nutshell: An ideal place for a contemplative,peaceful holiday. A family place. Not for thrill-seeking backpackers.

Tips: The flooring was done using an old local technology. It was shining and dark. Should run your fingers over it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank vasnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Hotel Sarovaram gives complete feel of a descent, calm n comfortable south indian hotel. The traditional look and trees/plants decorate the hotel naturally.

All rooms at Sarovaram are lake facing, the raw finish of exteriors make it even closer to nature. The interiors completely depict the feel at home ambience.

Food is simple, tasty and NOT EXPENSIVE at all.... In the evening, greenery in the hotel campus is enough to take away your stress....

The hotel is also equiped with basic requirements during a business trip. Taxi to any point can be organized through hotel reception. if you want to enjoy massage then plan and inform the hotel in advance because massage timings are from 7:00am to 7:00pm pm only....

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We (a family of four) reached Kochi after a lovely night spent on a houseboat cruise in Alleppey.Who named Alleppey the Venice of the East?I feel that Venice should henceforth be called the Alleppey of the west!!
We carried the mental picture of the green paddy fields and the gentle sway of the motor boat as we reached Sarovaram.
The hotel is nestled near the highway connecting Alleppey to Kochi ,away from the hubhub of the city.
The hotel has 14 rooms in all,a few of which are A/c.We checked into an A/c room ,101 ,and were amazed by the setting .It overlooks the man made lake and the seats are beautifully laid out to give the effect of being suspended above the lake.
The cleanliness and the structure of the room along with it's ethnic style furnishings(wicker or rattan lampshades and furniture) were a refreshing change from the formal settings of any star hotels.If you walk deeper into the layout,you will reach the backwaters and can relax in the seats to watch the motorboats and ferrys sail by.
The Thali available during lunch in a copper plate with a copper water tumbler is worth it's value in gold.I can't remember when I have enjoyed my lunch so much last.It was moderately priced at Rs.60 .Rest of the food is passable.
Full marks to the person who conceptualised the design of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Saipriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.2 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
97 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bharat Hotel
Bharat Hotel
#114 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
163 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Livanta
Hotel Livanta
#73 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cochin Palace
Cochin Palace
#56 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
141 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#11 of 35 in Ernakulam
275 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abaam Hotel Cochin
Abaam Hotel Cochin
#32 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BTH Sarovaram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BTH Sarovaram

Address: NH 47 Cochin Bypass, Kochi (Cochin) 682304, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £28 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BTH Sarovaram 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your BTH Sarovaram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BTH Sarovaram Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing