We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent option” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimansion Inn
Ranked #126 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A decent option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We booked out trip to India late in the day and the only place we could find in Fort Kochi that still had rooms over Christmas was Kimansion. We assumed the worst from this, but in fact Kimansion turned out to be a safe if unexciting bet. The rooms are cavernous and mine - upstairs - was gloomy. No balconies or access to the courtyard garden either. Because only one man works there, so there is no separate night watchman, he tends to keep the front door locked all the time, which was a good idea in terms of security but annoying if you want to nip in and out and not be "let" out on request. The basic problem with Kimansion is that the owner lives overseas and it all feels a bit neglected, which is a pity as it's a wonderful old colonial building. With a lick of paint, a few more staff and more imaginative furniture, it could be marvelous place to stay. The plus side, as I said, is that the rooms are huge. It's also only minutes walk from Princess Street and Burger Street and it's very quiet at night. We didn't go back to Kimansion when we returned to Kochi, but I wouldnt' put anyone off staying there either.

Room Tip: my friend's room downstairs was lighter and brighter than mine upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This hotel is 7-10 minutes walk from the center of Fort Cochin (Princes street), on the same street as Fabindia shop. I personally had a very good experience staying here. The location is great no noise, room was big, clean, with hot water, breakfast was included if you want a vegetarian food, ask in advance, I also got my things washed and ironed the same day. I would recommend this place to my friends. Price was 800 rupees per room on a ground floor, with no AC.

Room Tip: talk to the owner Lolo, he will get you a room you want. It all depends on your budget and expectati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnevery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2008

Kimansion is a simple clean well run home stay in Fort Cochin.
Our room was large with high ceilings, clean bathroom if a little dated. Beds large and good

No mosiquito nets provided but with air con and nets on the windows.You do get mosies round Fort Cochin

Breakfast simple but good. Very friendly and helpful staff. Location 10 minutes walk to the centre of Fort Cochin.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigeldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2007

We stayed for one night in room 101 on the first floor, it was very spacious and clean. It had AC, marble floors and even a good sized refrigerator and a large queen size bed. The bathroom is the best, after traveling for weeks in India I was overjoyed to see a bathtub. Not all rooms have AC or are as large as room 101 and the price is different. Continental breakfast is included. The only bad part was the lack of mosquito netting, so bring some mosquito coils.The Kimansion Inn is near St. Francis. Overall we had a very relaxing and comfortable stay here.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Lack of mosquito netting
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victory Dawn
Hotel Victory Dawn
#96 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Heritage
Fort Heritage
#168 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#74 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#90 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity at Fort Cochin
Trinity at Fort Cochin
#85 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#66 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimansion Inn

Property: Kimansion Inn
Address: 1/254, Napiers Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kimansion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The approach to Kimansion is nothing short of picturesque. Set in a somnolent quarter of Fort Cochin, it is a short walk from the beach, Chinese fishing nets and other tourist attractions. What Kimansion can offer you are premium facilities at less than premium price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Kimansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimansion Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing