We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in a historic mansion”
Review of Koder House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koder House
Ranked #69 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
143 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food in a historic mansion”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The location is very close to the beach. The food is very good and the restaurant is clean and well maintained. We had karimeen pollichathu and rice which was delicious. The service is also very good and the staff in the restaurant is polite and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishekduta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    63
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
42
84
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Kodor House is in a great location and the staff were welcoming and pleasant. As previously mentioned the rooms are huge but very strange. We had a room on the top floor which had a large bedroom, then a 'dressing room' and large bathroom. The room didn't have anything on the walls by way of pictures or any 'artefacts' etc and the 'dressing room' felt like a bit of a storage room for some mis matched furniture that they couldn't find space for any where else! That said, the beds were very comfortable indeed. To me, the whole place felt that it has been a bit neglected of late and now needs a bit of a revamp and some TLC. Can't comment on the food other than breakfast, at which we enjoyed some lovely fresh juice and delicious dosas.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you have a sense of history and love the feeling of peeking behind the doors of a private home, then a stay at the lovely Koder House in Fort Kochi will be your cup of tea! It's located a moment's walk from the waterfront, on a large park and playground, so by stepping out the door you are immersed in the local way of life, including Fort Kochi's famous "Chinese Fishing Nets." The foyer is embraced by a gorgeous wood staircase travelling up to the third floor. There's an open area on each floor - the first floor is devoted to the dining room, which is open to the small courtyard and pool. We loved our huge room, which included a separate dressing room and bathroom. The breakfast service was a typical choice of Indian or Western-style, and we were brought a pot of excellent black coffee on our request - rather than the already milked coffee that is traditionally served. The best internet access was on the third floor where the computer stations are located, but walking up the stairs may not be for everyone. From the Koder House, you can walk to good restaurants, to the promenade to watch the fishermen, and to the public ferry docks to continue your adventure. Simply put, the Koder House, built by an early Jewish family, was the perfect counterpoint to exploring Fort Kochi and learning the history of this fascinating part of India.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tojourneywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

As you will gather from other reviews the rooms are big! This is a heritage home and not a new-build hotel, and you get the grand impression as you walk in and have the stairs sweeping up.
We stayed here at the start and end of our trip.
We were warmly greeted and taken to our room on the top floor (2nd) during our first visit and first floor on our second visit. The whole places is full of character and the dark wood interior has obviously soaked up years of experiences.
Being an old building the layout and furniture reflects its age.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was also good - as was the enormous dressing room in-between the two!
The breakfast was OK and dining room overlooks the small pool at rear. It didn't encourage us to try dinner, as it looked rather gloomy at night time. We had an early morning flight and had to leave before breakfast on teh last day but they kindly prepared a packed breakfast for us.
We did use the Spa and the massages were good.
It is positioned facing the water and next door to restaurants and other hotels.
Overall we were very happy with Koder House. It was great value and its quirkiness adds to its charm.
They do have WIFI but it is not easily accessible in all rooms, but there is plenty of chill-out space on both the first and second floors.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were similar but we preferred room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisnDebs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Everything about this place was downright odd. The enormous room meant walking a mile to the bathroom in the middle of the night. The bigger-than-life four-poster bed was comfortable but odd. The service was nice but stilted. But by far our biggest issue was that we kept blowing the circuit breaker in our room. Even with nothing on but the AC and a bedside lamp the electricity went out every 15 minutes. So it was a constant trip to the fuse box (after the front desk person showed us how to trip it ourselves), which led to a disrupted night's sleep. I can chalk a lot of the oddities up to old school India but I'll be staying somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: FYI: During the day, bedrooms on the second floor get lots of noise from the busy playground across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmalou812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Charming old house with very well furnished place including old bed and spacious rooms as well as bathroom equipped with bubbling bath tub
There is also a spa that we have not tested...
We would recommend this place if you are found of old wood places and furniture.
Service is very good but not excellent as per speed to serve breakfast (even if asked in advance).

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mael_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Previous reviews mention that this hotel is overpriced. Compared to the chain hotels I suppose it is. The real pleasure of this hotel though is that it is a genuine boutique hotel with very personal service. The breakfast is cooked to order, the room is huge and the four poster bed is so big you have a box to step up on to it.

Much of the furniture, the doors and the various fittings are very unusual and in some case idiosyncratic. They might be original features from when it was a home for the Koder family who were apparently an important Jewish family (the restaurant features some Jewish dishes.)

The suites are huge and the ceilings are incredibly tall. The location is perfect and from your balcony you can watch Cochin go about it's business. At night it was lively and the hotel is located very close to the famous fishing nets.The staff were very friendly and helpful and ensured we had a driver waiting for us at the airport at 5am.

Only criticism was that the windows were all frosted and so you cannot see out without opening the windows - which means letting the heat in. We had a short power cut every day we were there but that was outside the control of the hotel.

There is a Spa but we didn't use it, there is also a small pool and again we didn't use that either. The location of the pool was a little awkward as it was directly overlooked by the kitchen and restaurant an it didn't look completely crystal clear.

Would recommend this hotel for anyone who likes a comfortable and unusual hotel that is in the heart of Fort Cochin and wants a place to stay that has some history and character to it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattBayleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#45 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#63 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#35 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#29 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#179 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koder House

Property: Koder House
Address: Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#25 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koder House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Koder House. Koder House is a three-story heritage boutique hotel opposite the beach at Fort Kochi, Kerala, India. Until recently, it belonged to the most illustrious Cochin Jewish family, the Koders. This House had been a host to Presidents, Prime Ministers, Viceroys, Ambassadors, Nobel Laureates, Hollywood Directors and prominent dignitaries. This dwelling also finds a prominent place on Intach's list of heritage sites, and a visit to Fort Kochi is considered to be incomplete without a visit to this historic monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Koder House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koder House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Koder Hotel Kochi
Koder House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing