We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koder House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
US$104
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Waters Cherai(Cherai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$104
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$115
US$112
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherai Beach Resorts(Cherai Beach)
US$69
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Grove Service Villa(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
US$22
US$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
83
70
19
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
70
19
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdressing roomrooms are hugetop floorjunior suitethe chinese fishing netsdressing areafort cochinjewish historyroyal feelingwooden floorsheritage buildingsmall balconyluxurious staytwin bedsspent two nightslocation is excellentswimming pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2009

My husband and I spent our first few days in Kerela in this hotel. It is simple but beautiful . We had a room on the front of the hotel overlooking a park - not you green English park but then this is India!
The staff were unobtrusively attentive and the food was excellent. Another advantage is that the hotel is licensed to serve wine and beer which some establishments in the area are not.
We would like to return to Kerela and would stay here again as a first and last stopping place to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights during the middle of a two and half week visit around India, and cannot fault it at all. From the moment we checked in we were made very welcome, the room was huge and very comfortable, with a separate dressing room and bathroom. The restaurant was faultless, very good food with exceptional service. Also would highly recommend a massage in the spa! The hotel is about 10mins ride by tuk tuk to the tourist area. Try and visit the synagogue it is highly recommended, avoid Fridays (closed apart from the evening service) and Saturdays (morning service then closed) unless you are jewish in which case make a special effort to attend as it is beautiful!
Would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley47Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We booked Koder house as it was described as "boutique" with good amenities.

Granted, the (deluxe) rooms were of a bizarrely large (and underfurnished) size but the hotel lacked the small touches you would expect for the price. The bathroom was, at best, grubby. There was a lack of amenities you would expect at this inflated "boutique" price. The restaurant food was average, the pool, very much a "plunge" pool-small and overlooked, and it lacked any other private grounds- a god send when travelling in India.

Admittedly, the staff were helpful and friendly.

The simple fact is there are some very good, newer and better hotels in the same price bracket in Kochi.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
Thank HampshireLooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Koder House has a lot of potential but fails to deliver in almost every area. The rooms are huge but furnished with stained bedding, poor quality shabby furniture mixed in with antiques and a filthy stained bathroom suite with a shower that is so covered in limescale it barely lets any water flow.

We stayed here for one night with friends and we each had a Deluxe Suite (they were both of the same poor quality) we were so appalled at the state of the rooms and the overall hotel that we instantly complained, thankfully we were given a discount to a 'junior suite' rate.

Regarding the rest of the hotel, the restaurant is very average, the pool (just off the restaurant) is tiny and overlooked by the kitchens. There is no bar, the Internet was not available for us to use and there is no outside area.

In contrast, The Old Harbour Hotel next door is stunning (and cheaper). The reception, restaurant, pool and gardens are beautiful. We didn't see the rooms but the food we had there was the best we had in Kerala.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoopsterSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

Koder House manages to be both upmarket and unpretentious - a difficult trick. The rooms are large and comfortable with great bathrooms. The service is efficient, competent and delivered with smiles, a willingness to please and a genuine lack of affectation. A previous review refers to a lack of fruit at breakfast - they serve fruit now! And the restaurant is well worth a visit even if you stay elsewhere. Vicky Raj (the owner) is a hands-on presence and has created a delightful ambiance for guests.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Diarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews