We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Ann's Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ann's Residency
Ranked #40 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Easy walk to the local attractions, clean, friendly, great restaurant. We stayed with our 20 month old and would happily recommend to other families. Location is convenient. Food was great. Staff was so warm, especially at the restaurant, and residency staff were super accommodating. They even moved us to a larger room when they saw we were traveling with a toddler. We didn't even have to ask. Thank you!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarbergBergner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    114
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
86
162
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Pros:
-hotel is well located
-rooms are clean.

Cons:
-We had to leave very early. Breakfast was starting at 7h30am only. We asked if we could get the breakfast earlier. The owner refused in a very rude manner. So we asked if we could get at least some packed breakfast. Again he said "no. those are the rules". However, we paid for room and breakfast!!!
-Rooms are super small! No space for luggage of 2 people.
-The generators are working at any time of the night, making a terrible noise. Impossible to sleep.
-Most of rooms are clean and neat. But some people of the group got some very old, poorly maintained rooms. They should give a better price for those ones at least.

Bad experience. Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMaliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shobaCochin, Owner at Ann's Residency, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. Your complaint is not getting breakfast before 7.30 am. You were a group of 14 people staying here and you , the leader staying elsewhere as we did not have rooms for you here. We give breakfast for our guests as early as 5.00 am provided they inform us in advance of their departure. You were the one who was rude right from the start (I think it is because we could not provide room for you) . We asked you of your departure from the previous day morning itself, and you did not give us a reply. You came late at night at 11 p,m after dinner at Old Harbour and told our staff that you need breakfast at 5 am. To this I replied to you, it is not possible, as for 14 people we have not stocked the provisions. I asked you in the morning itself, as we have to get fresh fruits and other provisions . Since you did not give us a reply, we thought you would be leaving before 11am which is our check out time. You wanted a refund of the breakfast money, please note we are giving complementary breakfast and we cannot give you a refund. You wanted complementary room, and commissions , which we do not offer to any group leader. You wanted early check in for your guests arriving at 6 am and 7 am . We cannot provide the room until the room has been vacated and cleaned. Maybe you wanted to collect money from them after us providing early check in.We know of many group leaders who take guests out for dinner because they get commission per plate. Early morning you and your mechanic try to jump into our gate and if we call the police , we could have delayed your trip. And then, you threatened saying I am going to send a big big big lawyer notice, you better give me some money. You were desperate for money and we told you , we have dealings only with your company and not with you. Please do not talk any more. Later you came and apologized to my wife and left. We provided breakfast to all your guests and also to you and your mechanic who were not staying here. All your guests were happy also. All the rooms are well maintained and neat and some rooms are standard, while some are deluxe and super deluxe. Accordingly there will be difference in sizes and prices. We have collected from you only standard room prices and have provided deluxe and super deluxe rooms also. The generators work only when there is no supply and not any time of the night. And for your information, our generator was not in working condition since the past 2 months and we are now replacing the same with a new one this month.
Leslie Fernandez, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a nice place not far from fishermen nets in a lovely Portuguese house very client oriented unlike in many places in India. I stayed for 3 nights and one night was upgraded for more expensive room. The owner runs place very well creating really friendly atmosphere. Also you can get a good advice from the owner how to get value for money in Cochin. Rooms are clean. The only thing I did not like is that bathrooms are a bit smelly. Though this might be the case for most of places in kochi due to high humidity and temperature. The taxi driver in this place is very good. In overall I liked this place and can recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triplover12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Having been in India for 2 months, and having stayed in various places of varying quality (ie some truly awful dives) this place is a bit of heaven. It isn't the cheapest homestay you'll find here by a long shot (and it isn't even really a homestay, although advertised in some places as such), but it is clean, comfy, cool, there are books, comfy chairs, good breakfast and coffee. The people are friendly and helpful, and it is in a great location. The price (I am paying 3000 rupees a night inc breakfast) means it is a treat for a couple of nights rather than a longer stay, but well worth it.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We remember with great pleasure and affection the wonderful days we spent in this lovely residency in January, 2014. We enjoyed very much the very comfortable A/C room , the garden, the very delicious meals and most of all the cosy atmosphere !
We would like to thank you, Leslie, too that you engaged Antony to drive us to Munnai, Periyar, Madurai and then to Varkala. He is such a nice, friendly and humorous man and really an excellent, cautious and reliable driver. Everytime we felt very safe and comfortable to go with him. We strongly recommend him for every Kerala tourist

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Once again we chose to stay at Ann's for part of our trip. The owner Leslie is a delightful man who bends over backwards to help you. You cannot underestimate being able to trust someone when you are overseas. Leslie organised our trips once again and we were not disappointed. We also used the same driver, George, as we used two years ago. He has worked for Leslie for many years and is totally reliable. He does not take commissions from local businesses, therefore you don't find yourself being manipulated into yet another handicraft shop.
Leslie has plans to put in a swimming pool in the next 12 months which will make this little boutique hotel even better than it is now.
My one tiny, tiny criticism is I wish the pillows were a little better. Two pillows would be even better again. But all in all, Ann's Residency is great value for money and in a quiet part of town, 5 minutes walk from the shops, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Everything has already been said about this place. Lesley is very hospitable, the rooms are a good value and the location is situated perfectly outside the busier streets of Fort Cochin. The breakfast is very good for eggs to order (with bacon!) and the fresh brewed coffee is a plus. At dinner and lunch we found the fish curries, jumbo prawns and veg dishes to be the best we had in Fort Cochin.

Room Tip: Eat there for dinner as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#35 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#29 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#179 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#23 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ayana Fort Kochi
Ayana Fort Kochi
#61 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Residency

Property: Ann's Residency
Address: Anns Residency R I D S Dale Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ann's Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anns Residency is a superb blend of homestay and hotel set in serene surroundings in the heart of Fort Cochin. This dutch colonial style building is situated on Post Office Road, opposite the Indo Portuguese Museum, and is just a stone's throw away from the Beach, Dutch Cemetry, Chinese Fishing Nets, St Francis Church and all other places of interest. We at Anns, believe in providing a homely atmosphere to our guests in a three star hotel environment. Come, experience our friendly and homely Residency to start off your holidays with a bang or end your holidays in an oasis of calm that refreshes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ann's Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anns Residency Kochi
Anns Residency Hotel Kochi
Ann's Residency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing