We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room in a Home”
Review of Ann's Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ann's Residency
Ranked #41 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Room in a Home”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We arrived a day early but this wasnt a problem and we were given a room straight away. Leslie was very helpful and his family that stay there in the downstairs part of the building were pleasant. My sister has medicine that needs refrigeration and not having a fridge in our room they let us keep it in the family fridge no problem. Cleanliness of the room was not top notch which for me is the only downside, the building and gardens are pretty. Not much to really do in Kochi but the back water boat trip was nice and picturesque, Leslie arranged it for us to be collected at 8:30am and we should have got back for 13:00 but our transport had to wait for more people and we didn't get back until 14:00 ish.
Breakfast was a bit below average to be honest and they are not sevring any other meals so you have to go out to eat. However, restaurants are close by, walking distance to choose from.
I would recommend it to fellow female travellers for the safe aspect, as you are staying with a family and our room door bolted from the inside.

Room Tip: The beach is not nice, it is just for fishing, no lounging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    114
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
86
162
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel looks old-colonial style - it's beautiful. It is run by a lovely couple who make visitors most welcome.
The only thing that lets it down is that the level of cleanliness but it's certainly not the worst I've seen. Take your OWN towels though - and you should be okay. The ones provided were very thin, grey and stained. Backpackers will find it a great place to stay but on THIS occasion we were travelling with children and friends for a holiday.
Mosquito nets already fitted so there's no fiddling round finding somewhere to hang your own. Our bedding was damp and smelly so we covered our pillows up - but it was Monsoon and that was probably the problem so we didn't feel it right to complain. May be fine at other times of the year.
If you can't find the place - look for the water tower to get your bearings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shobaCochin, Owner at Ann's Residency, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Mrs Pam for your review of our property. You were travelling wih children and Indian friends. Your children were lovely and we were happy to look after you all. We are sorry to know you had some inconveniences like damp bedding. And maybe it can be due to the continuous heavy rains as we could not leave the windows open. But we would have definitely changed for you if you had informed us.. We had specifically asked you the next day morning when you came for breakfast and you said everything was fine and also had a good sleep. The towels provided to you the first day were large towels. The second day on servicing, maybe you would have got small towels, which can also be an inadvertent mistake on our part by our boys (due to monsoons) for which we apologise. We don’t know what you mean by saying that this place is great for backpackers . we found your friends act like backpackers since early morning they were running around from one room to another in a loud voice and also ordering for green tea, black tea, white tea in a loud voice from the staircase, instead of using the phone or coming down which could be disturbance to other guests sleeping and also asking boys to run errands for them since 6 o clock in the morning, ( one asked to buy brush, paste, another time for soap, another time again for throw away shaving blades)after which we had to ask our boys to stop running errands for your friends. Your friends also had relatives come inside the rooms, which is against our policy. Anyone could visit you in our lobby or outside area. On the staff resisting, your friends refused and took them in. You need to have our permission to take them inside.We really find your remarks about this place fit for backpackers astonishing after the attitude of your friends. Anyways,we apologise for all inconvenience and will definitely try to serve better. Our reviews and photos from guests who have stayed here will definitely speak for us. Once again thanking you for taking time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for a night with family. I chose this place because of its location. It is very near to all the major attractions in the city. Room was pretty clean and decent. A bit small in size. I took both lunch and dinner here and I must say that food was really awesome and was served to my room. Got a taste of local Kerala cuisine. Veg complimentary breakfast was ok with toast and fruits platter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikhil1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Leslie and his staff were very nice, professional, and helpful. The premises and rooms are beautiful, close to the beach, and the rates are reasonable. Our room had a fantastic balcony with plants, a large jacuzzi style tub, A/C, and a mosquito net! Stayed two nights and left early morning (5:30am), and Leslie arranged a taxi and breakfast for us even which was nice because they normally don't serve breakfast until 7:30am. Thanks!
We recommend befriending a rickshaw driver who speaks English well to take you to the local markets and to avoid the tourist areas. Ann's is in the heart of the tourist area, but it's a short distance to get to local areas for better food, shopping, etc.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hi,

This is Rev.Collin D'cruz, from Vellore.

My family and I stayed at Ann's Residency, Cochin, in the month of May 2014. The place was wonderful, the food was sumptuous and the hospitality was amazing!

We had a relaxing, refreshing vacation, and I'm sure we'll be back!

Good job to the management!

Love,
Rev.Collin D'cruz,
Vellore.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We only stayed for one night and left very early so didn't have breakfast, but our stay was lovely. Very clean, attractive rooms with comfy beds and great a/c - first a/c we'd had all holiday and it was worth it, Kochi is hot in April!! The hotel is walking distance to everywhere in Fort Kochi.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in room three, near the archway entrance, and it is a very attractive room and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicitytheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good stay and good welcome. The manager is very helpful. Breakfast is complete and good. The staff was very nice. His explanation helped us a lot to find our way in the city. The garden was very pleasant too.

Room Tip: Choose DeLuxe or Super DeLuxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhât Duât L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#51 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victory Dawn
Hotel Victory Dawn
#101 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#26 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimansion Inn
Kimansion Inn
#125 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Residency

Property: Ann's Residency
Address: Anns Residency R I D S Dale Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ann's Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anns Residency is a superb blend of homestay and hotel set in serene surroundings in the heart of Fort Cochin. This dutch colonial style building is situated on Post Office Road, opposite the Indo Portuguese Museum, and is just a stone's throw away from the Beach, Dutch Cemetry, Chinese Fishing Nets, St Francis Church and all other places of interest. We at Anns, believe in providing a homely atmosphere to our guests in a three star hotel environment. Come, experience our friendly and homely Residency to start off your holidays with a bang or end your holidays in an oasis of calm that refreshes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ann's Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anns Residency Kochi
Anns Residency Hotel Kochi
Ann's Residency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing