We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel in Fort Kochi”
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #32 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very good location, fantastic service and very friendly and helpfull staff.
The breakfast is excellent and you have a very god lunch if you prefer to eat at the hotel.
If you want a backwater trip you should book it through the hotel, they cooperate with very good Tour operators.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flemming99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a day on 22 Dec 2013. well located, at the walking distance from importnace places at fort kochi. Hotel is clean and rooms are very comfortable. well kept rooms with all facilities. free Wi fi. They have roof top restaurant which is clean and well kept. It may be difficult for the elderly visitors on the 3rd floor using staircase. No elevator. The food is OK.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarojdhingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Hotel situated right in the heart of Fort Kochi and within walking distance to various tourist sites – Chinese Fishing Nets, Vasco House, St Francis Church, Santa Cruz Basilica, Cultural Centre Theatre, and various famous colonial buildings turned to hotels. From Arches, you can hire a pedicab [seats two -100 Indian Rupees for 3 hours] to take you further to see the Jew Synagogue, Dutch Palace, Khana Dhobi and other historical sites. Friendly and helpful staff. Room well kept, and medium sized. Internet available free of charge. Breakfast included and ordered from the menu. Abundant restaurants around. Restaurant nearby worth visiting - Dal Roti [10minutes walk] – a clean restaurant which serves a variety of good local food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTraveller007Ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had booked 3 deluxe rooms at the Arches and had informed the Hotel in advance that owing to the arrival of our flight just after midnight, we would be arriving at the Hotel at about 1am+. Since the 3 rooms we had booked would only become available at 1pm, I booked one standard category room that could tide us over till then (they didn't have more rooms available). However, when we arrived at about 1.30am, the Hotel appeared to be shut down: no lights in the lobby, and front doors were locked. There was nothing to indicate that they were expecting us. After a few knocks at the door, we detected some movement within. Finally, the lights came on and a rather cheerful looking front-desk manager let us in (you wouldn’t have guessed that he just awoke from slumber-land). Check-in was quick. We left our kids and the bags in the standard category room and tried to make ourselves comfortable in the common sitting area till breakfast time that was still a few hours away. I believe the staff went back to sleep as soon as our bags were placed in the room. They could have done more to make the wee hours more comfortable for us. Like getting those of us who were sitting in the stuffy common area an electric fan. Like offering us hot drinks. Poor hospitality. When we went to the roof-top restaurant for breakfast at 7 am, the lone waiter present looked as if he didn’t know what to do with us. Finally, he came over with some reticence and took our order. Things began to improve a little as the day wore on. The deluxe rooms we eventually got were clean, spacious and comfortable. Apart from breakfast, we did not have our meals at the Arches (it just wasn’t inviting). If not for Das, the attentive and responsive waiter at the rooftop restaurant, we would not even have had breakfast there. Breakfast options (whether Indian or Western) were extremely limited, unless you indicated to the staff in advance what you wanted. The location of the Hotel (at Fort Cochin) is a definite plus point, with many attractions being within walking distance. But apart from that, I felt we could have done better than Hotel Arches.

Room Tip: There are no elevators. So if you have the elderly with you, ask for the lower floors (but then agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manoj_solas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This really made our stay in Kochi! It is a lovely small hotel with very attentive, friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is so close to St Francis church and within walking distance of main places of historic interest. The food was great on the lovely rooftop restaurant. The bedrooms were lovely with a big,very comfortable bed and big bathroom. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - this is a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Location excellent..... a short walk to the Chinese fishing nets, the harbour, shops and all the attractions in Fort Cochin. Rooms clean and service great....front desk particularly helpful with advice on tours, taxis and drivers. They arranged an excellent driver to take us on an overnight trip to Kerala backwaters. Breakfast great. Highly recommended. Only downside was no pool...but arranged to visit an associated hotel to use their pool when the need arose!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

right in the centre of town. the rooms, the staff and food were just wonderful. we had the balconey room at the front. the staff were so kind and helpful from the moment we arrived and arranged out day out on the canal. great place to stay. recommend it most definately

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterjuneJaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#28 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#41 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#65 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity at Fort Cochin
Trinity at Fort Cochin
#88 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £51 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing