We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in Fort Cochin”
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #30 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
merimbula
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great base in Fort Cochin”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights before and one night after a house boat tour. From the very start staff were welcoming and helpful letting us into our room early and offering a welcome drink. Any questions were quickly answered by the travel desk at reception, they even printed our tickets off for the airport. The food was great and it was lovely to have a sit down breakfast included instead of a buffet. Free wifi, clean rooms with fan and AC. To top it off, when we were leaving at 5am they insisted they make us up a breakfast pack the night before. We've stayed in a fair few hotels and I can't fault this one, if you are staying in fort Cochin.. Just book it :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    194
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
302
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is in a fab location to explore Cochin. It's a good standard hotel. The staff were great always available and very friendly. We stayed 4 nights and have no complaints. Breakfasts on the roof terrace were nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel Arches was such a great place to stay: very nice hotel, free wifi, perfect location in Fort Cochin, good price.

But what's more is that they made our trip to Kerala so easy. Want to do a houseboat? See the elephant retreat? Ez, just let them plan it, done. Couldn't be happier.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shawnb576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a nice hotel close to St Francis Church & Chinese Fishing Nets, the rooms are well furnished and comfortable and the staff very helpful. The rooftop restaurant could be better, we were the only ones eating the night we arrived and while the food was perfectly ok is was not as good as what we experienced the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diprose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is an excellent, relatively small hotel with great rooms. Everything works which is a novelty in Kerala. Good Wifi and nice rooftop restaurant for breakfast. Friendly staff in all areas.

Couldn't fault it really!

Room Tip: Room 104 was quiet, large and at the back away from the road (although the road is not busy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is where you want to be in Fort Cochin, right next to Chinese fishing nets, the Dutch church, and the market. Free breakfast, fast internet, friendly staff. The only thing we wished for is that the tourist desk that they had in the lobby was actually a helpful one. It was very difficult to get suggestions for what to do in Kerala from the hotel's staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel was in a great position which allowed us to walk all around Fort Cochin taking in the atmosphere. The roof-top restaurant was a great place for breakfast. We had the continental breakfast which was fine.
The reception area was cool with friendly staff and our room was well laid out, clean, with a small balcony on to the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShenaandCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#17 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#27 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#68 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#183 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Property: Hotel Arches
Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing