We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Chinese fishing nets and market stalls”
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #30 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Convenient to Chinese fishing nets and market stalls”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice, simple style hotel, conveniently situated near the Chinese fishing nets. Being greeted with a garland of jasmine and a fresh coconut to drink is very welcome after a long journey from the airport. The breakfast is cooked to order and served on the open air balcony at the top of the hotel. Cool in the morning but can get warm as the day goes on. The wifi is also free but we struggled to get ours to work after the first day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    193
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
301
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Arches from 22 to 25 February 2014. My wife Ingrid had contacted the staff, because we wanted a taxi from the train station; she did mention that the 22nd was my birthday... To our surprise, we were welcomed with flowers, a birthday cake, a birthday card, and the suite in stead of the 'regular' room we had booked. The suite was not only very spacious, but also decorated with all kinds of birthday tokens: balloons, garlands et cetera. This was a complete surprise to us!
The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Fort Cochin: a beautiful heritage house, in a quiet spot, with all things-to-see & do nearby. During our stay, the staff was very attentive and helpful, not only for us but for all guests. So, our stay at Arches appeared to be the best of our visit to Kerala. Thank you, Arches staff!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rense H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Perfect location in the centre of Kochi, helpful staff and spacious rooms. We arrived at 5am and were greeted with fresh coconuts, the room we were shown to had leaking A/C and they moved us straight away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CR1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and upon our arrival we were upgraded to the suite which was a nice gesture as the room was very spacious however we did not get much sleep in this room. We stayed on the first floor and we heard constant banging in the walls and ceiling. It sounded like furniture being dragged across the floor and water hammer. The food from the restaurant was good and on the second night we decided to go upstairs and eat in the restaurant but there were so many mosquitos that we ate our food in the room. If I were going to stay in Fort Cochin again I would probably stay somewhere less noisy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I spent two nights at Hotel Arches and would be more than happy to return. The place itself has a lovely old world charm; lots of polished wood and colonial style furnishings. The location is perfect - it's within easy walking distance of many of the highlights of Cochin, the shopping area and the beach where you can buy freshly caught fish for dinner - delicious!
The staff are most helpful particularly Godson, the front office manager, who went out of his way to make my stay enjoyable - thank you Godson :).
I was travelling alone but felt completely at ease both in the hotel and the surrounding area - great place to visit.

Room Tip: The suite is a great option for a couple - plenty of room and although it's on the street front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneRaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel and we should say its the better way to start our honeymoon.The hotel staff was very good and helping.Manager Godson helped us instantly to book a boathouse @ alleppey as well kept us informed about the taxi strike which helped us to plan in a better way.Thanks a lot to him and wonderful hospitality of the hotel.
The hotel is situated in Fort Kochi,you will almost feel like staying some where outside india as 90% of area is occupied with foreign tourists.Very good stay altogether.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ur_chiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had booked a deluxe room with Agoda but what we had was quite small. And we had an issue with hot water. Everything else in the hotel is fine. The staff are very helpful and polite, the rooftop terrace lovely for breakfast. There are other places to eat at other times eg lunch and dinner. Very close to everything you need. We had 2 nights the first time, then went on a 2 night backwaters cruise.
When we returned, we discovered that we were upgraded to the suite which was absolutely beautiful! Separate lunge/dining from bedroom and 2 balconies with a view onto the small street the hotel is on. We had a magical evening and decided to have room service with the mixed seafood which was superb plus a bottle of nice wine we bought from outside.
We left early the next morning to the airport with their driver in their 50's Ambassador and added was a breakfast box!

Room Tip: The suite is wonderful, we were lucky enough to get an upgrade when we returned
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_and_RBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
774 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#27 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#75 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#17 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Property: Hotel Arches
Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing