We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #30 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
540 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

In the heart of Fort Kochi, this is a superbly clean and friendly hotel.
Very comfortable rooms with wifi. Friendly staff. Excellent food.
My room was at the back, overlooking quiet greenery. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchteddywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    193
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
101
301
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel Arches was a great choice, the hotel is nice and in a good location. However what made our stay was how reliable and personable the staff were. Prior to arrival they helped me with some arrangements which made my life much easier. We had organised a couple of transfers with them as well, and having failed to re-confirm the arrangements the day before travelling i was a bit worried about the pick up. However each time someone was there bang on time waiting for us. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant, they generally knew who we were and our general whereabouts, what we wanted for breakfast= so generally pretty switched on. On our last day we left in the middle of the night and someone actually turned up to carry our bags which I wasn't expecting. Generally speaking we felt like we were in safe hands the whole time, it was an enjoyable stay and i would whole heartedly recommend Hotel Arches to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyds76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nice room,fantastic food, friendly staffs & surely value for money. Highly recommended for families, it's bit trick to find out this hotel. I really love there ambience, food, service and location. Roof top ambience is ok

Room Tip: Nice room, clean & good pricing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sankg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in room 206 at the rear of the hotel on the second floor for 2 nights at the beginning of a 10 day trip in Kerala in March 2014 - the hotel is set in former governor's house and therefore has some history

We were welcomed from the start with an easy transition from reception to the room - the room has everything you need - big comfy bed that makes sleeping easy - adequate lighting - 2 bedside tables - small sitting area - tea/coffee making - fridge - decent and much appreciated a/c plus overhead fan - plus cupboard space - reasonably large room with space to move without constantly banging into sharp corners - bathroom decent size with large walk- in shower which whilst not the most powerful did provide constant hot water

One thing to mention is the satellite TV with more channels than Sky!!!! Seemed strange to able to see Liverpool thrashing Man U live in Kerala - great bonus to be able to see such a well deserved win for the true Reds

Breakfast is taken upstairs on a covered roof terrace with views over this part of town - eggs are cooked to order - good omelette - toast and marmalade - juice - we had grape juice which was good - good cup of coffee - good way to start the day

In terms of location the Hotel is located on a quiet street - and is a short walk to the main church - the front with the Chinese fishing nets - the main shopping streets - a number of good restaurants are close by - we ate at the Old Harbour House and the Koder House - both of which served ice cold beer tasty food at a good price with a mixed Indian and foreign clientele - there are also places for coffee and cake - we had ours at the Kashi Arts Centre

We liked the Fort Cochin area which felt safe and the merchants were not too pushy - the Arches Hotel made a considerable contribution to our feeling of well-being and we would recommend it - thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Quiet little gem in the middle of Fort Kochi, convenient to all the places we wanted to see. Our room, although quite cosy, was very good, clean and an excellent bathroom, perfectly adequate for our needs. The rooftop terrace restaurant was a delight for bird-watching. We only ate breakfast and a great lemon cake; lack of alcohol not a problem for us but tasty fruit drinks and lassi.

Room Tip: We personally liked our second floor room on the side as it was not at all over-looked, had outlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The day we arrived we were greeted with very friendly and hospitable service. The front staff gave us flower garlands and as we checked in. The staff new were were on a very short stay in Fort Kochin so they gave us a map of the area and the usual attractions and closing times. As we settled into our room, staff brought us coconut water as a beverage which was a great touch on customer service as we were both very tired from traveling.

The room itself was clean and tidy, though you can tell it was an old place. Regardless, it was a nice and relaxing stay.

The one downfall and regret I have was the rooftop hotel was not being staffed in the evening. We went upstairs, and it seemed to be open, and there was another couple waiting to be served, however, after about 20 mins or so, we decided to leave and eat elsewhere as there was no sign of anyone coming up. It would have been nice if there was a sign posted saying that service was closed for the evening, to save us from waiting around.

The saving grace though is really the customer service of the front desk staff. We had arranged for a 4am pickup time as we had a very early flight to Goa. The front desk not only arranged a taxi service at this early hour, but they had packed us a breakfast container to go, saying that they did not want us to miss out on the complientary breakfast just because we had an early flight!

Overall, great service and good location and we would recommend this place to friends. Thank you for making our stay very convenient, efficient, and making us feel very welcome in Fort Kochi.

Room Tip: - Since the hotel is tucked away on a quiet street, you're almost guaranteed a very peaceful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandEyePhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for 1 night in the suite and were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean, well maintained and has character. The air conditioning worked well. The suite is lovely and guarantees a front facing room with balcony. It was a very pleasant stay and excellent value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are best - booking the suite guarantees this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#33 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#45 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#64 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#38 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#73 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Property: Hotel Arches
Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing