We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to stay”
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #31 of 213 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I couldn't decide whether to give the Arches 3 or 4 stars but I settled on 4 because I do think it is good for the price we paid - we booked last minute and paid around 3000rupees. I understand it may normally be double this, in which case we would have been disappointed.

There are lots of positives. The location is excellent for exploring Fort Cochin (just a few mins walk from the fishing nets). The staff are very friendly and were really kind, letting us check in very early (5am!) after a long flight. The hotel has a nice colonial style, and the rooms are spacious. Breakfast was good.

A couple of areas could be improved. The air conditioning barely did anything atall, we had to have the fan on full blast and the rom was still very hot. And the bathroom really needs a refurb, it was a bit dank and smelly. And there were black hairs on one of the towels...yuck! The other one was clean so hopefully just a one off.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kitkatkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

In the heart of Fort Kochi, this is a superbly clean and friendly hotel.
Very comfortable rooms with wifi. Friendly staff. Excellent food.
My room was at the back, overlooking quiet greenery. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchteddywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel Arches was a great choice, the hotel is nice and in a good location. However what made our stay was how reliable and personable the staff were. Prior to arrival they helped me with some arrangements which made my life much easier. We had organised a couple of transfers with them as well, and having failed to re-confirm the arrangements the day before travelling i was a bit worried about the pick up. However each time someone was there bang on time waiting for us. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant, they generally knew who we were and our general whereabouts, what we wanted for breakfast= so generally pretty switched on. On our last day we left in the middle of the night and someone actually turned up to carry our bags which I wasn't expecting. Generally speaking we felt like we were in safe hands the whole time, it was an enjoyable stay and i would whole heartedly recommend Hotel Arches to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyds76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nice room,fantastic food, friendly staffs & surely value for money. Highly recommended for families, it's bit trick to find out this hotel. I really love there ambience, food, service and location. Roof top ambience is ok

Room Tip: Nice room, clean & good pricing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sankg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in room 206 at the rear of the hotel on the second floor for 2 nights at the beginning of a 10 day trip in Kerala in March 2014 - the hotel is set in former governor's house and therefore has some history

We were welcomed from the start with an easy transition from reception to the room - the room has everything you need - big comfy bed that makes sleeping easy - adequate lighting - 2 bedside tables - small sitting area - tea/coffee making - fridge - decent and much appreciated a/c plus overhead fan - plus cupboard space - reasonably large room with space to move without constantly banging into sharp corners - bathroom decent size with large walk- in shower which whilst not the most powerful did provide constant hot water

One thing to mention is the satellite TV with more channels than Sky!!!! Seemed strange to able to see Liverpool thrashing Man U live in Kerala - great bonus to be able to see such a well deserved win for the true Reds

Breakfast is taken upstairs on a covered roof terrace with views over this part of town - eggs are cooked to order - good omelette - toast and marmalade - juice - we had grape juice which was good - good cup of coffee - good way to start the day

In terms of location the Hotel is located on a quiet street - and is a short walk to the main church - the front with the Chinese fishing nets - the main shopping streets - a number of good restaurants are close by - we ate at the Old Harbour House and the Koder House - both of which served ice cold beer tasty food at a good price with a mixed Indian and foreign clientele - there are also places for coffee and cake - we had ours at the Kashi Arts Centre

We liked the Fort Cochin area which felt safe and the merchants were not too pushy - the Arches Hotel made a considerable contribution to our feeling of well-being and we would recommend it - thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Quiet little gem in the middle of Fort Kochi, convenient to all the places we wanted to see. Our room, although quite cosy, was very good, clean and an excellent bathroom, perfectly adequate for our needs. The rooftop terrace restaurant was a delight for bird-watching. We only ate breakfast and a great lemon cake; lack of alcohol not a problem for us but tasty fruit drinks and lassi.

Room Tip: We personally liked our second floor room on the side as it was not at all over-looked, had outlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The day we arrived we were greeted with very friendly and hospitable service. The front staff gave us flower garlands and as we checked in. The staff new were were on a very short stay in Fort Kochin so they gave us a map of the area and the usual attractions and closing times. As we settled into our room, staff brought us coconut water as a beverage which was a great touch on customer service as we were both very tired from traveling.

The room itself was clean and tidy, though you can tell it was an old place. Regardless, it was a nice and relaxing stay.

The one downfall and regret I have was the rooftop hotel was not being staffed in the evening. We went upstairs, and it seemed to be open, and there was another couple waiting to be served, however, after about 20 mins or so, we decided to leave and eat elsewhere as there was no sign of anyone coming up. It would have been nice if there was a sign posted saying that service was closed for the evening, to save us from waiting around.

The saving grace though is really the customer service of the front desk staff. We had arranged for a 4am pickup time as we had a very early flight to Goa. The front desk not only arranged a taxi service at this early hour, but they had packed us a breakfast container to go, saying that they did not want us to miss out on the complientary breakfast just because we had an early flight!

Overall, great service and good location and we would recommend this place to friends. Thank you for making our stay very convenient, efficient, and making us feel very welcome in Fort Kochi.

Room Tip: - Since the hotel is tucked away on a quiet street, you're almost guaranteed a very peaceful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandEyePhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#29 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#67 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#180 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity at Fort Cochin
Trinity at Fort Cochin
#85 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £48 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing