We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for first time visitor to Kochi”
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #31 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for first time visitor to Kochi”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed several nights In Kochi and were delighted with our stay at Hotel Arches. We had a hectic trip in India and Kerala was our last stop before returning home. I had contacted Rajnish several months in advance and he arranged our trip to Munnar in addition to confirming our rooms in Kochi. Upon arrival, the staff was very eager to arrange any and all excursions that interested us. We enjoyed a boat trip and the local sites. I think if it's your first trip to Kerala, then this hotel is a great choice. The staff can help you make all necessary arrangements which is invaluable in a new place. Also, it turned out to be very helpful that they could arrange payment for a lot of the excursions. I could then make a single credit card payment to the hotel at the end of my stay. I'm sure there's some markup but I appreciated not having to carry around a lot of cash. The rooms are clean, the service is excellent -- I think anyone would enjoy their stay there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdesh105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    194
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
302
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Arranged to stay in this unlicenced hotel by e-mail and unfortunetly plane was delayed by a day - we advised hotel over 24 hours in advance of our delay and said that we would miss our first night and also if they would cancel hotel taxi until the next day giving full details of our new flight. However when we checked out of hotel the charged for the the night we missed ( just about ok !) but they they proceeded to try to charge for 2 Taxis despite being advised to cancel the first one . I thought this was a cheap shot. However we found a much nicer place ( much more modern than Arches) to stay for the rest of our time in Kochi - the Tissa Inn - I highly recommend it. see my review..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We received a very friendly welcome and were impressed with the friendliness and knowledge of the staff. Breakfast on the roof was a delight. The hotel is superebly located. However on departure they tried to charge us for two taxi pick ups from the airport. Our flight from London had been cancelled. Howewver we had emailed ahead to warn them of this fact. When challenged they dropped the extra charge. If not for this we would give a 4 or 5 star rating.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_Towpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

After 3+ weeks in Delhi, Rajahstan, Uttar Pradesh and Uttar Arkandh, it was a pleasure to come to the warmth, friendliness and cultural diversity of Kerala State. Fort Kochi is a fascinating, friendly, and relaxed town and The Arches is an oasis within an oasis of a town. Centrally located on a quiet street, with air conditioned, impeccably furnished, clean rooms, the dark woods of the hallways and stairways, along with the charming roof top restaurant, make this small hotel a true gem. The staff are wonderful, extremely helpful and rightfully proud of this hotel.

There are a number of boutique hotels in Fort Kochi, but the Arches surpasses on all fronts and at very reasonable prices. Some of the larger, better known hotels cost up to 5 times as much, without the ambience and friendly staff.

Rajnish arranged an excellent half day tour of the waterways South of Kochi with a boat owner, poler, who took us to his home on one of the sandy islands for a delicious Kerala meal prepared by his wife.

A memorable five day stay at a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Hotel Arches has a terrific location in the centre of Fort Kochi, a short stroll from the Chinese fishing nets and around the corner from Princess Street. The food is good, the rooms are spotless and the rooftop restaurant is gorgeous, even if you only have breakfast there, as we did.

Pride of place, though, goes to the hugely welcoming staff for whom no request is too difficult or demanding. From the welcoming coconut drinks and flower necklaces to an early check in, a late check-out, to organising all manner of day-trips and special excursions, every request was met by a smile and the staff and management really did bend over backwards to assist us and to make our stay more enjoyable.

You may stay in fancier hotels but you won't find any friendlier than this. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estepona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I think Bbt london hit the wrong button-he gave a great review but only one blob? This is at least a 4 blob hotel! Good location, close to everything, wonderful greeting with garlands and coconut drink, and great service from all staff. Lovely rooftop restaurant, but I think they 'spice down' for Westerners unless you ask them not too! Wifi slow but free-to us anyway! Fridge, a/c and cable tv much appreciated. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunloversteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Excellent location, good sized rooms. Good food with an extensive dinner menu and nice roof top restaurant. We stayed for 2 nights and dined at Arches both nights. No alcohol though. Staff couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsRwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#17 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#26 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#66 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#183 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Property: Hotel Arches
Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing