We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had been injured and flight cancelled and they took money upfront”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 223 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We booked the hotel very early on the year before for a stay after new year i.e. past the busy season.
Kingfisher airlines had some problems and cancelled our flight from Madurai to Cochin plus I had seriously injured my back and was in severe pain during our trip.

We rang ahead and told the staff we would like to cancel. We were told they had taken all the monies upfront and could not refund anything. We would have expected a one night penalty but not three!

We travelled overland overnight to the hotel and I was in severe pain.


We had booked a basic room and they allowed my daughter to stay with no charge.
The service was indescribably slow due to the fact they had a staff walkout prior to Christmas and gave us a free meal prior to our leaving (without alcohol as they said this was 'expensive') -

The room was basic and the air conditioning was positioned over the bathroom so if it was on during the night, one needed an overcoat to use the toilet! It could not be left on during day as too cold to shower otherwise.

Light shined in all night from building opposite.

Pool tiny and in shade afer 2.00 p.m.! No service and not particularly clean chairs.

When we told them of our problems when we had returned to the UK, they had the gall to say that had we told them we were disappointed in the room when we arrived (after travelling overland for hours), they would have refunded the money for the entire stay! Oh yes, and I am 25 and 5' 8" tall!

Overall meanspirited with total lack of compassion except when they thought we might write
a review on Trip Advisor. Taj Hotel Malabar, totally beautiful in magnificent setting with amazing service.

Room Tip: Ask to see others, ours was not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marsha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raintree123, Manager at Old Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

The advance payment was notified to the guest prior to booking as well as the cancellation policy. Our entry level room was booked by the guests for two adults and during check in there were three. We however did not bring it up nor make an issue but accomdated the third person at no extra cost.
The aircon temperature has a remote control in the room to set the temperatures as well as air flow direction. Our pool is 18 meters long and 6 meters wide and by no measure is small for a 13 room hotel. Yes, the service at the restaurant was slow due to the rush as well as being short staffed at that particular period. Without the guests asking we offered them a complimentary dinner the next day which was gladly accepted. However, we cannot afford to offer alcohol on complimentary basis as in kerala we do pay a lot for the license.
Comparing us to the Taj Malabar is perhaps not apples with apples as both are entirely different hotels in location, design, size as we as ambience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

The location is perfect, the buildings are beautifully restored, the service is very friendly and quietly effective. The rooms are airy and spacious with very nice Indian furniture. The view of the harbour is fascinating. The garden is very nice. There is a pool at the back of the garden.
And the restaurant is by far the best we have tried in India, excellent food, great selection of Indian wines - very different in style from European wines but also very good.
We could only stay for 2-3 short days but would very much like to go back.
We have been in India and Nepal several times, we have tried some of the best restaurants in New Delhi and in Kochi. None of them were nearly as good as The Old Harbour!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

It was our first time trip to Kerara.
I knew nothing about Kerara however, the hotel staff Jude helped us to make our travel plan before the stay. During the stay, he also helped us a lot to make our journey worthy one.
It was an exellent hotel!
We enjoyed the atomosphere of old and good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Lovely, lovely property. Intimate and tasteful in design, Gracious, low key, courteous staff. Rooms were comfortable, big and excellent with different layouts. The location is very good as it is near to the harbour, Chinese fishing nets,and streets which are nice for walking.
Dinner in the magical coutyard should not be missed or the excellent breakfast in the front room which features divine dosas.
The top floor has a small spa area for a good massage and an open air terrace for complimentary morning yoga.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sans-S0uci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The husband and I stayed her for 2 nights in-between Christmas and New Year and I was really taken with the place. It’s in a great location and the interiors are simply but very tastefully done with touches of modern art. We were met and shown to our room straightaway even though we checked in early.

We had a garden view room which was much better than I’d anticipated. It was really spacious with yellow dappled walls, a huge bed and a smart bathroom with great walk in shower (the roof of the bathroom was open to the bedroom). There was also a small balcony with a view over the pool. The pool itself, set in the pretty garden, was a really nice size. They could however do with more sun loungers round it.

As I really like the hotel, it was a shame that when we ate in the restaurant (actually out in the garden) on the first night, the service was dreadful. The place was full and we had to wait over 2 hours for our food. There was no apology by the waiter and it wasn’t until the Hubby went up to reception to complain that we got an apology. Apparently everyone arrived at once and the kitchen couldn’t cope. This obviously wasn’t our problem and the hotel did take the food off the bill. It would have been nice if an apology had been forthcoming without having to complain, twice. The food when it finally arrived was good. The breakfast was nice and served a la carte.

On our second night we ate at the restaurant at Malabar House and this was really good as was the service. The chocolate samosas for dessert were divine.

Despite the hiccup over dinner, I would definitely recommend the hotel. I think it’s probably one of the best places to stay in Fort Cochin but do upgrade to a garden view room.

Room Tip: Go for a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyAnn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I truely think each place in the world, especially in India, has ITS hotel, the one enabling you to take the best advantage of the very spirit of the place. For example, in Agra (Taj Mahal) it will be OBEROI, in GOA it will be a beach hut...
From this point of view - and from all the others by the way - OLD HARBOUR is just PERFECT : perfect location at FORT KOCHI just in front of the fishermen nets, wonderful old house from the colonial times. I tried out several rooms : all are beautiful, perfect service, huge nice pool, stylish breakfast... I could live in this place. In fact, my favourite hotel of all the ones I tried out in India... and, believe me, there are several.
I went quite a couple of times to stay there... and while writing this review, I just think about booking again. All my friends I sent there just want to go again... Extra value for the money

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. I especially like the ones in the garden with an outside shower. I would say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneM217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This hotel is physically beautiful, skillfully restored and very historic. However they appear to have become complacent, both in terms of services and staff attitude. Waiting and service staff arenneither friendly or particularly helpful. Smiles are rare, unlike most other places we have visited. Unfortunately our room, the Princess Suite is over reception so we have the 'pleasure' of hearing the bass from the music played in reception from 7am to midnight. Thanks for sharing.
The bathrooms lack fairly basic ammenities like wash cloths, hair conditioner and body moisturizer. Plus there is no information on either the local area or hotel services or history in the rooms (although a basic map is available at reception).
To be fair, there are some positives about this hotel -the evening/ restaurant manager is lovely, the location is central and the restaurant food is good, however There is certainly room for improvement if they want to maintain their reputation. .

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltimeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#3 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £170 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing