We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed. Just dont use hotel taxi's”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good indeed. Just dont use hotel taxi's”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My gf and I stayed at this hotel and it was very good indeed. We could not fault it in anyway. The staff were very friendly and helpful (especially the chap who always had a smile on his face - keep the good work up!) and the restaurant provided good food (although, they could not provide good tea or coffee so keep away from that! - whole milk is used which is boiled and prepared in a typical Indian way. If you like it, great, but if your western chances are most of you wont)

However, we do have to remember however, that we are in India here and so we must realise that in some areas things just will not be as good as you might expect. The worst example I can think of is that I found that the bedding to be made from a tough material and was not soft on your skin when sleeping.

Another note to remember is that the hotel taxi's are extremely expensive. There is absolutely zero justification to use a hotel taxi. Taxi's are everywhere to be found. We use a hotel taxi at first to take us from the hotel to Munnar at the cost of 3800Rs. Later we found that we could comfortably get this for 2500Rs. But UK standards this is a difference of only £12 but thats a massive difference in Indian standards.

Another example was our final drive from the Old Harbour to the airport. The hotel was asking 1500Rs but by this time we were much more wise and grabbed one from the front door which cost 900Rs. Additionally - the cars and drivers you get are exactly the same as the hotel car and drivers!

I think I have made my point - stay away from the hotel taxi's. Otherwise, I cannot recommend this place enough. If we are ever back to Fort Kochin, we will defiantly stay at the Old Harbour. We did visit the Taj hotel and our opinion was that the Old Harbour was better.

My ratings below are based on the Bastion and Princess suits. We did not stay in the standard rooms.

Room Tip: Bastion Suit and Princess Suit - very good rooms. Although the princess suit has an interesting toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ads1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raintree123, Manager at Old Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We thank our guests for reviewing the hotel and appreciate the detailed review.
Yes, our prices for taxis are higher from the taxi ranks as there is a tax factor as well as admin cost that has to be factored in if thecar is booked and paid to the hotel . Yes, we do use good quality cars from outside as well when our own cars are occupied. Furthermore, what ones get from the hotel service is the responsibility of the car rented which sometimes one does not consider when looking at the costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    200
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
237
792
63
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Uniquely charming in its own way, peaceful and calm. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Restaurant was very good, the chef personally kept checking with everyone if everythg was ok with the food.

Overall - Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SereneJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

only stayed one night at the old harbour but wished we could have stayed more. we had our room upgraded to a beautiful colonial suite, surrounded with traditional and heritage character charm. the yoga (included in the price!) in the morning at sunrise on the roof was a delightful treat, as well as the bar / restaurant facilities. breakfast was great and all of the staff were always smiling and friendly. a great place to stay and recommended to those wishing for clean, spacious and beautifully furnished rooms, in a great heritage (small) hotel that is peaceful and a stones throw away from the chinese fishing nets in Kochi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_and_magda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in this charming hotel at the beginning of our Kerala tour in August. Rooms very spacious, well-appointed, traditionally furnished with comfortable large beds and very clean. The outdoor bathroom/shower room was a new experience for us! We had a garden room for myself and my husband and our 3 children were upgraded to an enormous suite room on the first floor- both rooms were lovely. The hotel feels spacious but in fact has only 15-20 rooms and the service felt personal which was really nice. The owner was not there during our stay but the staff - Jude, Sukesh and Vinita- were attentive and very friendly and helpful. Food was good, as was the Indian wine, and evening meals were served outside in the beautiful garden. There is a good-sized pool at the end of the garden, with no silly rules about the times it could be used. The location in Fort Kochi is fantastic, very near the Chinese fishing nets and within walking distance of several of the sights and local shops and cafes/restaurants. We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crofties2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREECE&CYPRUS
Level 6 Contributor
1,541 reviews
314 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,948 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel travels you to another era! We spent three nights at this amazing classic hotel on our short stay in India and it exceeded our expectations!
The Old Harbour has a character and this was one of the reasons we booked here and I am glad we did not go wrong.

LOCATION: The location is superb. It is a minute’s walk from the fishing nets of fishermen. It is a boutique colonial hotel, charming in every way.

HOSPITALITY: Travelers can enjoy the warm hospitality of the owners. Edgar is an amazing host, but the staff are exceptional as well. I can say that because it is a small hotel and the service is very personal making it unique in its kind and this counts a lot.

ROOM: The room is large, well-appointed with a traditional touch and with several updated amenities.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is rich and promising. It won’t disappoint you.

RESTAURANT: The restaurant is good and you can find superb meals but the nicest of all is that the cuisine provides both western and Indian tastes.

STAFF: Attentive and super friendly staff that do their best to meet the needs of the demanding guest.

COURTYARD: The central courtyard is beautiful and it is like an oasis in reality in the midst of a busy city. I believe it is worth spending some extras on the cottage rooms or the suites. The pool is also nice although we did not have a dip out there.

IN ALL: The level of attention to detail impressed me. We felt so comfortable here that definitely we shall return and probably spend more days here next time.

Thank you Edgar for the warm hospitality. Keep the good work and high standards up. See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Edgar and his staff are exemplary on all fronts; friendly, helpful and warmhearted. We were made to feel like extra special invitees and I imagine that all the guests feel that way. From eclectic art collection to sumptuous meals on a terrace winking with blue lights and classical, live Indian music, the Old Harbour has easily become one of my favorite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beautykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a long weekend, and were very happy with our choice. We had booked a garden room, but were upgraded to the lovely Palace Suite - a spacious room which has loads of character and charm. The hotel is in the Historic Fort Kochi area, and within easy reach of the Chinese fishing nets, St Francis Church (The original tomb of Vasco Da Gama), and the Indo-Portugese museum at the Bishop's House. We walked everywhere - much to the amusement of the Auto-Rickshaw drivers who continually touted for business offering tours around the area, with stops at their recommended shops.
All the staff in the Hotel looked after us well. We were collected, and delivered safely on time to the airport by Jossey, our wonderful driver - despite the fact that we had got our flight time wrong. Sukesh and Jude looked after our requests, and helped us organise a Backwater tour (A tip here - if you are planning going on this trip, you might want to take some cheap pens with you for the village children. Our Guide explained they would love nothing better than a pen given by a visitor to take to school and show off).
We enjoyed the restaurant food - served looking over the lovely garden area with its candles and lights. The menu had good variety, but we felt it was missing daily "specials" to allow the chef room for creativity. Wine was all Indian, and some was very old (I don't think Indian white wine ages well...), but the staff were very helpful on the occasions we asked for wine to be changed. Breakfast was good, with real bacon and lovely Masala Dosa.
One word of warning - when we made the booking, we were told the trip from the airport would take half an hour. With traffic, this was actually one and a half hours. This is no problem, as the location is great, but it is something to be aware of, especially when planning your return to the airport.
We had a wonderful weekend, and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: we liked the Palace Suite, but have nothing to compare it with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5-star-MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Sajhome
#4 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing