We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in Fort Kochi”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best option in Fort Kochi”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Everything in this hotel is great.
Amazing building, rooms, garden, decoration, restaurant, location and, of course, a super kind and friendly staff. Even the owner is there talking with guests and making a very nice stay. He is an art lover, so the hotel has very beautiful pieces that make it an exquisite gem.
The restaurant offers delicious meals, and always, the swimming pool in the lovely garden is the most relaxing and refreshing choice, even in the night ;-)
Definitively Old Harbour is the best option!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nalieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    200
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
237
792
63
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A special hotel this, one for some reason that you feel very at home in. The rooms and bathrooms are of great quality, the pool is excellent and the staff try incredibly hard. The restaurant is very good and we were able to plan the rest of our trip through them. Anthony the driver they recommended was able to steer us to some great homestays in Thekkady and the Aleppy backwaters. If you are arriving in Kerala this is a great place to start from.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I and my friend went to Old Harbour Hotel by a evening as a result of searching nice atmosphere to have Dinner some thing good and we were happy with the hotels ambiance, food and staff. Management were arranged live music using Veena and Mridangam which created theme based hours and light of candle made an ancient royal ambiance which we enjoyed very much. Thank you for the staff and management for keeping the artistic and creative management of property.!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anu21st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Me and my hubby stayed in this hotel for 3 nights from 31.08.12 in Ballard (room type, garden view room). Very friendly and accommodative staff. Walking distance to few tourist spots such as Chinese Fishing Net (facing the hotel) and Kerala Kathakali Centre, Princess Street and few more. The room was clean and spacious room with quit unique design. We been served with freshly made breakfast by Chef Rahim (bread toast with house made jam/honey/butter, egg made to cook, mushroom and tomato, a choice Indian breakfast, coffee or tea and any fruit juice). Nice swimming pool with garden, there will be Indian music played every evening by the pool side. They also organise Yoga session which we did not join. The only thing made me uncomfortably was the wooden cover for the WC (felt quit not hygienic). Great place to relax and three nights there was not enough for us, this place for sure to go back place and also will suggest to our friends.

Room Tip: Ballard was good but maybe those with balcony will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeetaPsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snape, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This has to be one of the most attractive hotels I have used in India. A lovely old colonial (presumably) building that has been beautifully restored with great attention to detail it is a peaceful oasis in the midst of the hustle and bustle of this interesting old town. The rooms (ours was a garden room) are large, stylish and very comfortable. It is nicely located in the heart of the tourist area just a few steps from the river side with their Chinese fishing nets and close to other several hotels and good restaurants

The attention to detail is evident throughout what I saw of the hotel, for example the furniture and fittings are all selected to match the period, even the light switches and power sockets are in keeping. The décor is great and the whole place is kept in excellent condition. Other than for breakfast we only ate a snack in the restaurant, but from that limited exposure the food seems good and the chef, who came out too meet guest was there to ask for suggestions and feed back. Overall excellent, we would definitely use it again

Room Tip: Garden rooms are excellent and large, plenty of room for three in ours and it had a small verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My gf and I stayed at this hotel and it was very good indeed. We could not fault it in anyway. The staff were very friendly and helpful (especially the chap who always had a smile on his face - keep the good work up!) and the restaurant provided good food (although, they could not provide good tea or coffee so keep away from that! - whole milk is used which is boiled and prepared in a typical Indian way. If you like it, great, but if your western chances are most of you wont)

However, we do have to remember however, that we are in India here and so we must realise that in some areas things just will not be as good as you might expect. The worst example I can think of is that I found that the bedding to be made from a tough material and was not soft on your skin when sleeping.

Another note to remember is that the hotel taxi's are extremely expensive. There is absolutely zero justification to use a hotel taxi. Taxi's are everywhere to be found. We use a hotel taxi at first to take us from the hotel to Munnar at the cost of 3800Rs. Later we found that we could comfortably get this for 2500Rs. But UK standards this is a difference of only £12 but thats a massive difference in Indian standards.

Another example was our final drive from the Old Harbour to the airport. The hotel was asking 1500Rs but by this time we were much more wise and grabbed one from the front door which cost 900Rs. Additionally - the cars and drivers you get are exactly the same as the hotel car and drivers!

I think I have made my point - stay away from the hotel taxi's. Otherwise, I cannot recommend this place enough. If we are ever back to Fort Kochin, we will defiantly stay at the Old Harbour. We did visit the Taj hotel and our opinion was that the Old Harbour was better.

My ratings below are based on the Bastion and Princess suits. We did not stay in the standard rooms.

Room Tip: Bastion Suit and Princess Suit - very good rooms. Although the princess suit has an interesting toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ads1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raintree123, Manager at Old Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We thank our guests for reviewing the hotel and appreciate the detailed review.
Yes, our prices for taxis are higher from the taxi ranks as there is a tax factor as well as admin cost that has to be factored in if thecar is booked and paid to the hotel . Yes, we do use good quality cars from outside as well when our own cars are occupied. Furthermore, what ones get from the hotel service is the responsibility of the car rented which sometimes one does not consider when looking at the costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Uniquely charming in its own way, peaceful and calm. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Restaurant was very good, the chef personally kept checking with everyone if everythg was ok with the food.

Overall - Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SereneJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing