We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in Cochin.”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 229 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends traveling through India together and this was one of our favorite places we stayed at in India. The service is super friendly and the location could not possibly be better. We loved the overall ambiance of the place and the rooms are very clean, charming and extremely spacious. The restaurant serves excellent food and although the service is very friendly, it is slow and sporadic at times.
The only thing I would change is to make a few rooms available that have separate beds in them. We had a group of people sharing rooms that would have like to have had their own private beds rather than having to share a large bed.
Otherwise, the place is lovely and I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to all my friends traveling to Cochin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samashti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in Old Harbour Hotel on September 2012 for 4 nights. It's a great boutique hotel, perfectly located with a wonderful garden and swimming pool.

The service was great ,the room was cleaned twice a daywith fresh flower decorations. Food was excellent, and it's one of the few places in town that serve alcohol. Not only free wifi, there is also a possibility to use a common laptop.

Thank you Jude and the rest of the staff !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

This old mansion in the center of Kochi is beautiful and very relaxing. The staff is nice and efficient, the rooms are clean, the garden is enjoyable. The hotel is full of artworks of great taste.
Two things could be improved to reach perfection. A breakfast more "indian" and less "occidental" and a better and more stable wi-fi .
Certainly a very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoguiMardjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel is lovely, a colonial feel and has beautiful gardens. The staff are extremely helpful, pleasant and efficient. When we realised my husband had left his prescriptioned medicine at home, the manager found a doctor and voila, the tablets appeared, thanks a lot for that. Good position right on the harbour with views of the old Chinese fishing nets.

Room Tip: try and get a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank dabby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a Suite at the Old Harbour Hotel in Kochi. The room was huge with its own enclosed terrace/reading room. The location can't be beat as it is just steps away from the Chinese Fishing Nets and the park where everything is located. Restaurants were close by. The staff was very cordial, dinner was tasty, and breakfast was very good.

I had a massage at their "spa" which was an empty room on the top floor without A/C. I about died in the heat. Again, they slather you with lots of massage oil which takes about 2 showers to remove.

There was free WiFi, but only in the reception area, and it was sporadic.

Room Tip: Get a Suite overlooking the park and the Chinese Fishing Nets. The A/C here works very good, almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrCUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Old Harbour Hotel was absolutely breathtaking. When we walked into the Princess Suite we couldn't believe the level of luxury - with a huge four poster bed, original art on the walls, a lounge area, antiques dotted around and an adjoining veranda room which overlooked the square. Somewhere like this would be beyond our price range in England - nothing but a dream. The staff were incredibly attentive and helpful and made us feel at home. The pool was gorgeous and we made plenty of trips to the restaurant, even after we checked out. Everything about this wonderful place made us feel like VIPs. So, so, so, so good.

Room Tip: The Princess Suite is just stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed for two nights and the service and location are fantastic. The room was also very good. Had a couple of very good meals although the ordering got a little confused. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank domus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#4 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#9 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#24 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#5 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £140 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing