We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish we had more than one night here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Freshwater, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I wish we had more than one night here”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Lovely old colonial building very close to the Chinese fishing nets. High quality interior design and huge rooms. Sadly we were only staying one night and had to leave before breakfast. The restaurant was lovely, and as we were staying in the hotel, we had the best table right next to the pool with live music. The choices on the menu were a bit biased towards western tastes but for one night there were enough local choices for it to be good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    197
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
233
783
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Old Harbour Hotel is perfect, in every way - location, value, food and the two beauitful garden villas which we had were beautiful and the shower area so clever with its outdoor feel. Jude, I think the manager, was so helpful. The Yoga on the roof top was very good.

Room Tip: The Garden Villas were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benny19562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends traveling through India together and this was one of our favorite places we stayed at in India. The service is super friendly and the location could not possibly be better. We loved the overall ambiance of the place and the rooms are very clean, charming and extremely spacious. The restaurant serves excellent food and although the service is very friendly, it is slow and sporadic at times.
The only thing I would change is to make a few rooms available that have separate beds in them. We had a group of people sharing rooms that would have like to have had their own private beds rather than having to share a large bed.
Otherwise, the place is lovely and I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to all my friends traveling to Cochin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samashti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in Old Harbour Hotel on September 2012 for 4 nights. It's a great boutique hotel, perfectly located with a wonderful garden and swimming pool.

The service was great ,the room was cleaned twice a daywith fresh flower decorations. Food was excellent, and it's one of the few places in town that serve alcohol. Not only free wifi, there is also a possibility to use a common laptop.

Thank you Jude and the rest of the staff !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

This old mansion in the center of Kochi is beautiful and very relaxing. The staff is nice and efficient, the rooms are clean, the garden is enjoyable. The hotel is full of artworks of great taste.
Two things could be improved to reach perfection. A breakfast more "indian" and less "occidental" and a better and more stable wi-fi .
Certainly a very good value.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoguiMardjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, england
Level Contributor
228 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel is lovely, a colonial feel and has beautiful gardens. The staff are extremely helpful, pleasant and efficient. When we realised my husband had left his prescriptioned medicine at home, the manager found a doctor and voila, the tablets appeared, thanks a lot for that. Good position right on the harbour with views of the old Chinese fishing nets.

Room Tip: try and get a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dabby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a Suite at the Old Harbour Hotel in Kochi. The room was huge with its own enclosed terrace/reading room. The location can't be beat as it is just steps away from the Chinese Fishing Nets and the park where everything is located. Restaurants were close by. The staff was very cordial, dinner was tasty, and breakfast was very good.

I had a massage at their "spa" which was an empty room on the top floor without A/C. I about died in the heat. Again, they slather you with lots of massage oil which takes about 2 showers to remove.

There was free WiFi, but only in the reception area, and it was sporadic.

Room Tip: Get a Suite overlooking the park and the Chinese Fishing Nets. The A/C here works very good, almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrCUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing