We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

If staying in Cochin there is only one place to stay: Old Harbour. Booking soon is recommended. We stayed at the Dreamz House 5 minutes to walk from the Old Harbour and loved it. Food is very good, staff are helpful and friendly - all you need for a warm welcome when arriving from home to gods own country!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights at the start of our 3 week wonderful trip to Kerala. we also stayed for one night part way through our trip before getting the train to Trivandrum. On both occassions we were captivated by this lovely hotel. Many reviewers have commented on it's great location, lovely rooms, warm caring staff , and excellent food. We agree with these comments unreservedly. If we could stay in this hotel whist travelling anywhere in the world we would! The folks who run it have found the recipe for perfection, at a very affordable price. We cannot recommend it highly enough. As a final comment they also had the best wine that we had during our three weeks! Well done to everybody at this oasis of charm in lovely Cochin,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShrewsburyBoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here at the end of our trip to Kerala.
We had tried to also stop at the beginning of our trip but no rooms were available.
As this is a small hotel early booking is advisable due to its popularity.
We were given a terrific welcome and we were given one of the hotels suite rooms which were very large with attractive pictures and furnishings.
We also enjoyed use of the swimming pool and the evening meal menu was excellent with a wide range of dishes and a extensive drinks list.We would also recommend the breakfast.
The hotel is very well located for the sites of Fort Cochin which are within walking distance and we really enjoyed our stay at the Old Harbour Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HorshamMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

As stated in other reviews the location of this hotel is perfect. You are able to walk along the harbour, check out all the fish stalls and go on a harbour cruise, all to hand within a short stroll. Our room was spacious with a separate seating area which had French windows onto the terrace by the restaurant . The only downside was that you had to keep the curtains closed while you were in the room.The pool is a good size but beware of low flying crows! The restaurant set by the pool is a perfect place to eat in the evenings but be sure to reserve your table to get the best position

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alchrisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were made to feel very welcome. The hotel feels more like a home than an hotel and the staff are helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and spacious with an outdoor shower. The garden is pretty with a pool, lovely flowers and birds. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMS2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel is practically perfect. The garden with pool is lovely during the day and magically lit at night. Our room was spacious, spotless, comfortable and atmospheric. The scent of lemon grass whenever we went into our room combined with the air conditioning made it a welcome haven from the bustle of the town outside. The staff were so helpful and attentive and very friendly. We had to leave at 5.45am on our last day and the chef was brought in early specially to make us a packed breakfast, but had also made us fresh juice and fruit and then rushed off to make us perfect poached eggs. This place is hard to fault.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest standard of room (Napier), which was extremely comfortable but had a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

What a bedroom - a large, nay, spacious room with an oversided shower room in beautiful tiles. The balcony overlooks the garden restaurant with the pool in the background. A good setting? Oh yes. The restaurant is set out mainly in the garden and is open to the public who on the night we were there flocked in, both local people and visitors. So many that the service was a little stretched, but the food was good, especially the fish. For those who have not sampled Indian wine, choose carefully, especially among the reds, and you will find a quaffable bottle or two, the white is a little on the thin side.
The staff match the quality of the building and its style. Very 'colonial' in the best sense - attention to detail and pleasant to exhange both news and opinions. The location is near the fishermen, a sight not to be missed and among enterprising shops and restaurants, which our short time precluded us from trying. All in all a different experience from English hotels, but a good experience nonetheless. Enjoy and relax at the Old Harbour

Room Tip: There are only thirteen rooms, so book early, and try to get the Tower Room for is view and its supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nBtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,093 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £177 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing