We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our 3 nights at the old Harbour”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Loved our 3 nights at the old Harbour”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were a bit disappointed on arrival that they had upgraded us to the best suite because it did not have a balcony. However, it was a huge room and we loved the place. Beds were great. Service was fantastic. Staff were so relaxed and pleasant but also professional. There are very few rooms so it's not like a big impersonal hotel. Food is very good and cooked fresh so may take a while. We ate dinner in the garden on a table we booked next to the pool. It is very romantic.The swimming pool was delightful - usually very quiet (except from some external noise from the locals). It is very colonial and well placed for walking around Old Kochi. The sea shore is a minute's walk where the Chinese fishing nets are placed and there is a walk along the prom by the fish stalls.

Room Tip: Bastion Suite has views of the pool and the road. It has a large bedroom; separate reading room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    200
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
237
792
63
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Old harbour has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in. You feel like you are in a relaxing dream world of colonial charm as soon as you walk through the door. We were upgraded to the Bastion Suite which is fantastic. Free yoga, sitar playing at dinner and wonderfully friendly staff. I cannot recommend enough. I don't want to leave. I say this as I'm still here and leaving tomorrow. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent food beautifully presented with really good service. A really clean, fresh feel to the place. A colonial setting with a lovely peaceful garden. Ideally situated to walk and enjoy the local sights.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieb681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here for the last night of a 16 night trip to Tamil Nadu and Kerala. It is a lovely old building right beside the old harbour and has been beautifully converted into a great small hotel. We arrived in time for lunch and then had a tour of the sights of Kochi. There is a nice looking pool and terrace with sunbeds and a large al fresco dining area. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and views over the garden, although surpised that the wall between the en-suite and bedroom was only three-quarters high. We had pre-dinner wine in the lobby sitting area and we were glad we had booked for dinner as a large number of on non-residents arrived for dinner - which we took to be a good sign. We were given a really nice table close to the pool which was beautifully lit and there were musicians playing classical Indian music through dinner. We only only ordered a main course and and because we knew the restaurant was busy we were happy to enjoy the atmosphere and location while sipping a crisp Indian Chenin Blanc while waiting for our dinner . Our meals were excellent and were exceptionally good value - half a chicken cooked in the tandoor was 350 rupees and a whole grilled fish (see photo) was 600 rupees and one of the best meals of the holiday. We were getting collected at 5.15am to be taken Kochi airport and the staff arrived at at our room 4.45 am with fruit, fresh juice and coffee and also gave us a packed breakfast to eat at the airport which was much appreciated. The last night of a touring holiday can sometimes be a flat experience but the location, atmosphere and quality of the food at the Old Harbour hotel ensured that our last night was very special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A boutique but spacious Hotel with perfectly restored rooms, beautiful pool and amazing aromas throughout. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food wasn't incredible, but very good. We stayed in the Peter Cellis suite which was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very special place, full of history and character. I didnt stay here but I had dinner and walked around. Great food, very friendly staff, beautiful location right next to the chinese fishernets, I´d definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shavethewhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This place was SO perfect after two weeks touring palaces and forts in Rajasthan. We arrived late in the afternoon and once checked into our "cottage" we changed into swim suits and hit that fabulous pool. We took advantage of nearly everything the hotel offered, except for the spa, but if we'd stayed a couple days longer I am sure we would have used those services as well. Service was exceptional. We ate dinner here both nights, with fantastic classical Indian music in the garden. It was always packed and we were sure to make reservations. It felt like this was "THE" spot in Kochi to eat and socialize. Breakfast in the morning was equally wonderful. The masala dosa is absolutely a must have. Even the coffee was good!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyOLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing