We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Cochin!”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Cochin!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff at this hotel ensure that your stay will be really relaxed and you will feel pampered. We ate at the hotel 3 nights, very unusual for us but we enjoyed the restaurant so much. We had 3 good meals with highlights being the starter of tiger prawns with beetroot and pineapple, tuna fish, spiced fish & tandoori Chicken. The sandwiches we had a couple of lunch times were lovely too.

The breakfast is cooked fresh, staff are so accommodating and you do not have to stick to the printed menu. The fruit juice is sometimes served with sugar so ask if you want just the fruit, again it is all freshly made.

We were given an upgrade to a garden cottage (Rose) and whilst the room is fairly simple it is very comfortable and we slept well. Loved the lemon grass/orange smell in the room, it was wonderful. The sun light shines in in the morning but I always like that as it wakes me up naturally. The bathroom had 3 walls with the 4th open to the outside shower. I was a bit concerned at first but got no bites and it was lovely hearing the birds and feeling the warmth and humidity (but not so great for drying your hair, I gave up). We had nice fluffy towels which we had not had in Northern India.

The pool is lovely and was great to swim in. There are not a lot of beds around the pool though and it is fairly shaded. There are lots of chairs and tables in the garden though to chill out on. As others have mentioned the crows round the pool are a pest

One of the things we loved is that there was so much on your doorstep, the Chinese nets, the shops, lots of restaurants, the cultural centre etc. The area felt very safe and was very interesting wondering around & visiting the local shops. We stayed 3 nights but another night or so would have been good with hindsight.

I enjoyed the complementary yoga at the hotel one morning (on the roof top). Our room literature said that there was no yoga on Sundays but that was not the case the week we were there. You do need to mention the day before that you are attending the yoga rather than just turning up though.

If we were in the area again we would stay at Old Harbour and staff such as Vineetha, Sukesh Rahim and Mefhosh went above and beyond and were a credit to the hotel. Another major plus was that there was a request by the hotel not to tip individual staff (apart from in the restaurant at dinner) but rather leave a service charge at the end of the stay for all the team. We found that this made such a difference as staff were not chasing tips (as they did in many other hotels) but were focused on you having a great stay.

Well done Old Harbour for creating a different but very welcomed atmosphere!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob+Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    200
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
235
792
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in a Garden cottage "Lily" for several nights at the end of our 3 weeks in India. This is a beautiful hotel in every way. It is a lovely building filled with the owner's art and very stylishly appointed without going over the top. Great attention to detail, nice toiletries in the bathroom, fresh flowers in the room, very very clean, beautiful sheets, soft towels etc. The outdoor bathrooms are great in the cottages. The pool and garden is just so pretty with lanterns and candles at night and great care has been taken to maintain the garden and pool. The food was also excellent. The staff were just fabulous and friendly and provided great service, were flexible and reliable and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has a very personal feel and we felt very well cared for. I would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: The Garden cottages were lovely with a spacious room and an outside bathroom which made sense in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in Tower Room for 10 days this April & it was the best hotel we've ever stayed at. The whole experience was wonderful from start to finish, our room was huge and all the furniture, shower etc was more than you'd expect from a 5* hotel. Food was amazing, try the prawns with beetroot and the cardamom icecream! The outside garden/pool area is lovely, but the best thing is everyone who works at the old harbour. Always smiling, happy to help and made our experience in Kochi unforgettable, will be coming back to stay as soon as possible :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FelicityFleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stepping into the Old Harbour Hotel after the long journey to India is like stepping into the welcoming home of friends. The room, the garden, the food and the friendly and attentive staff have made our stay outstanding. We certainly come back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the 'Dreamz' house, which is part of the Old Harbour Hotel but is a separate cottage about 5 minutes walk from the hotel itself. The house was fantastic with a little kitchen and lovely cool sitting room, plus a huge bedroom upstairs and nice bathroom complete with shower open to the sky! Great place to stay if you are travelling as a family as it meant we could put our child to bed and still have plenty of space downstairs to enjoy our evening without disturbing her. The hotel itself is beautiful and we were able to enjoy the facilities there during our stay - lovely pool and great spaces inside and out to eat and relax. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Really couldn't recommend this place more!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomandluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The Old Harbour is an absolute gem. I would single it out as the best lodging experience we had in our 2 week trip to Kerala.

I say "lodging" as it's not really a hotel. It combines the best bits of a home stay, with all the luxuries you would expect of a 5 star boutique, if you are reading this thinking "oh...but I want to stay some place where I get a little plastic card to put in the door"....you really don't. Read on.

Firstly, location. It's at the fort set back from the sea behind a small park. You are a 2 min walk for the Chinese fishing nets. The fact that it's set back from the sea is a bonus as the sea front itself can be quite noisy with ferry traffic. There's plenty of places that you can walk out to for dinner, including the fish stalls on Tower Road. However, you might not get chance to experience dining outside the hotel as the food is so good.

I am the sort of person that uses any excuse to avoid hotel dining and to get out to taste some real food. However, the OH had about 15 tables set out in the garden in front of the swimming pool. There was live local music and it looked like the kind of place we would like to spend some time. And it was. Idyllic is the word. The food was superb, service excellent and the atmosphere by the pool was relaxed and friendly. It was so good, we ate there again the next night.

The pool is set at the back of the garden surrounded by lush greenery. The pool itself looked like it was lined with marble and granite. It certainly felt very luxurious. We spend time on the comfortable loungers in the afternoon sun.

Finally the room. Our large air conditioned room had a huge bed, desk and a table, chairs and sofa. Our balcony had a wooden swing on it where you could sit and watch the locals in the square (or look out at the garden from the other window). It was tastefully decorated with period features. It's probably worth saying that I think we were upgraded to a larger room than we booked, but I heard similar good reports about the rooms from other guests. There is a choice of rooms available, so probably worth checking with the property directly if you have special requirements (some have open air bathrooms which sounds fun!)

The staff are fantastic here, genuinely friendly and happy to help. I stay in plenty of places where I have a plastic card for the door. Very few make me feel as relaxed and comfortable as the OH. We loved this hotel and would gladly stay (and eat) here again, for business or pleasure. Thank you to all at the property for making our stays memorable one for all the right reasons.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adstring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

3 day stay. Palace suite was lovely. Huge room with balcony and enclosed bathroom. Pleasant staff. Food was good and the pool and garden very nice. Beer and wine the only alcohol so bring a bottle if you want a G and T. Friend had a cottage which was also lovely, though the bathroom which was open to the sky was subject to bitey insects. Had a good massage. Really well positioned right near the fishing nets. Atmosphere is old colonial ; dark wood and verandahs. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing