We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful island in busy Kochi”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful island in busy Kochi”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Old Harbour Hotel is situated right in the historic centre of Fort Kochi. Opposite a leisurely park for kids and some 200 metres from the sea. The absolute highlight is a quiet, lush garden, surrounded by two-storey hotel buildings, so that you hear nothing of the pulsating street life of Kochi (formerly Cochin). Breakfast can be ordered individually, no buffet. Service is friendly, attentive and fast. Our - very clean - room was equipped with antique furniture. Air condition and ventilator worked reliably. Reception and service staff speak good English and are very friendly.
They organize a taxi service from the airport at a reasonable price. Room Prices are near European level - but they are worth it. You really get first class lodging for your money.
The Old Harbour Hotel is a member of "fine luxury hotels of the world".

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the garden. The "Tower Room" can be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 148233za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    200
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
235
792
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights as a special treat after 2 weeks of intensive travelling in Rajasthan and it was like going to an oasis of calm. As always in India we had a warm welcome from the staff. Our room was spacious and elegantly Indian. We had a beautiful view of the gardens. The pool is magnificent, especially at night when it is all lit up. The breakfast menu was extensive and we were treated to some special chef's juice. The location is perfect; a stone's throw from the harbour where you can see the Chinese nets and an easy walk or ride to all the other sights. Just wanted to stay longer. A special thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: The garden view rooms on the first floor are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennyanderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After 2 weeks travelling around Kerala and Goa we returned to Fort Cochin and decided to treat ourselves to a couple of nights luxury at The Old Harbour Hotel. It was certainly worth it. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel incredibly welcome. The booking process was a breeze and an airport transfer was arranged to pick us up. Jude and his team were very helpful and provided an excellent service. The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated. We particularly enjoyed hanging out by the pool and having dinner outside in the stunning garden in the evening. I also joined one of the complimentary yoga classes on the roof one morning which was a lovely way to start the day. I would highly recommend The Old Harbour Hotel to anyone travelling to Fort Cochin and hope to return myself again one day!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claregardner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the Old Harbour Hotel at the end of our trip through Kerala. From the moment we stepped foot in the hotel we were totally impressed.

From the decor to the staff professionalism, cleanliness to the menu offering; this hotel is a absolute gem.

The location can't be faulted. You get to enjoy the sights and sounds of the beach, including the colour and movement of the Chinese Fishing Nets, but can easily access Jew street and other locations of interest.

Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower room, this was on the first floor overlooking the garden and the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welove2travel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcstle, Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to Jude and all the staff at the Old Harbour hotel for making the end of our trip to Kerala so perfect. The staff made both my husband and I and our 8year old daughter so welcome we instantly felt at home. The hotel is beautiful and the garden is magical at night. The location couldn't be better..... already planning another trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milliejobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A huge thanks to all at Old Harbour for a wonderful few days.

A fantastic place to stay for the last 3 days of our holidays, especially after we were upgraded to the huge and stunningly good-looking Princess Sweet. All rooms seem beautiful and service is incredibly cheerful, relaxed and impeccable.

Not hindering the 5 star review, but the only problem we had were the breakfasts, with very little Indian food and unfortunately the worst (by some distance) of our 16 day holiday (numerous others were great for less than rs50). The chef was very nice and accommodating to our final day request and cooked us egg marsala last minute, which he said he would serve with 'special bread' as it wouldn't work with the (very-non-Indian) wholemeal bread they offer on the menu. The 'special' bread turned out to be, very, very oddly and very, very disappointingly, poor quality packet sliced white and the eggs were also seriously poor, poorly spiced and very over-seasoned. Frankly a terrible last breakfast unfortunately. Maybe we shouldn't say this, but the chef didn't quite seem to fit in with everything else the hotel offers - the breakfast did put us off trying the menu in the evening, so we can't comment on this though..

The pool area is lovely and relaxed and the entire hotel has an amazingly serene atmosphere, surprisingly considering it is in a very hectic and noisy area of Kochi. Undoubtedly the best thing about the hotel is the service - a special thanks needs to go to Sukesh (pardon the spelling if incorrect!). He was an absolute superstar from the get-go.

Not cheap, but worth every penny.

Dan & Becky

Room Tip: The Princess Sweet will exceed all expectations - better in person than any photo you'll find, v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanLovedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

The old harbour hotel is a breathtaking place, from the sensitive and tasteful renovation of this historical colonial building to the exquisite food and wonderful staff, the place oozes with quality and eloquence.

My partner and I stayed for one night on route to south Kerala.

The room was beautifully prepared and the staff very helpful and amenable. We were invited to eat at the restaurant in the hotel for dinner as we did not arrive until late evening.

The restaurant was set up for both inside and outside dining, we chose the latter.

In the settings of tall trees, a swimming pool and live music. The setting was idyllic and the food even better, with freshly caught fish prepared in a Mediterranean style.

The price was astonishingly low considering the quality and service.

We have been to some of the most highly rated boutique hotels across the world, all of different prices and types, but the old harbour hotel is looking like a serious contender as one of the best we have ever visited!

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing