We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming historical property with outstanding service”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We recently stayed here while touring India. The hotel is in a great location, close to the fishing nets. The rooms are well appointed with many unique touches. Also, the dining area and pool grounds are lovely. One of my best memories of my India trip was swimming in the pool at night!

Apart from that the service is outstanding. The restaurant is well regarded in Kochi and the personnel really make you feel welcome. This is the place to stay in Kochi!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curiousjayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in this property in the middle of our Kerala holiday. Our expectation was high since this property has been rated very highly by other travellers in TripAdvisor. We were certainly not disappointed at all. We had a lovely relaxing stay in this beautiful heritage property. We stayed at the Princess suite which was huge and had a huge balcony as well opening towards the Chinese fishing nets as well. Everything during our stay was top-notch. The hospitality, room, service, food were all brilliant! A must stay in Cochin. The location is also very good situated very near the Chinese fishing nets in Fort Kochi and was within a short distance of the major tourist attractions in Cochin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avijit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stopped here for 2 nights on arrival in India and it simply could not have been better. It was exactly what my partner and I were looking for, a character driven, classy hotel that reflects its location, history and cultural roots. This is the antidote to bland 5 star chain hotels that pervade all corners of the globe. If you want that kind of treatment, don't bother with this. The service was excellent and in particular the night manager, Mr Sukesh Stephenson, was outstanding in making us feel welcome in spite of a very late arrival. His personable way of attending to our needs is what this hotel is all about... personal attentiveness to the small details that make travelling so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the open to the sky bathroom in one of the cottages. Near the pool, private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russell_Yak_Trak_201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of a 3 week trip in India, our only regret was that we had only booked to stay here for 1 day, a stopover before travelling deeper into Kerala. From the moment we set foot in the Old Harbour the hotel felt like an oasis of calm, the hotel itself is a historical colonial building, which has been beautifully renovated. The location is perfect to all the sights, the Chinese fishing nets, sea front, plenty of shops, the cultural centre, all of which are within minutes walking distance.

The booking process thanks to 'Jude' was faultless, we arranged for an airport transfer, from here onwards the whole team at Old Harbour were incredibly helpful and very welcoming, genuinely friendly and happy to help.

Our room was very spacious, air conditioned and beautifully decorated with period artefacts. The pool is set at the back of the garden surrounded by lush greenery, with comfortable loungers, and tables set out for food.

The restaurant was set up for both inside and outside dining, the food was cooked fresh from an extensive menu, we had soup to start, the crab rassam and coriander soup was to die for, followed by traditional Keralan cuisine. The price was astonishingly low considering the quality and service.

I can not rate this hotel highly enough, a must for anyone travelling to Fort Cochin, we loved this hotel will definitely book to stay for longer the next time we visit Kerala.

Ben & Archie

Room Tip: They all looked good !! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benandarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We arrived here from a long flight from London and this place oozed relaxation and luxury. The pool area is gorgeous and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant outside. The lanterns hanging from the trees gave the venue a real romantic feel. We were really impressed by the food and the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us. There is even a cute resident cat that lounges around and sometimes you are lucky enough to see him. The location is perfect, sitting just outside the Chinese fishing nets. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: I forget what the room was but it was on the courtyard and the doors led on the the garden where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very nice location in front of open area and close to Sea, Chinese Fishing nets an ideal location to see the mixture of heritage culture and present day faculties
Very nice open air restaurant with relish food served here. best time to visit at night to enjoy the lighting, music and the food.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepankar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The best place to stay in Kochi and not because the others are in any way bad. Good deals online, beautiful swimming pool, excellent food (great value too), outstanding staff, stunning rooms, best location.

If your in Kochi stay here, magic darts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank susiecampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
679 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 35 in Ernakulam
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £175 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing