We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay at Old Harbour Htl at least once while in Cochin”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Doha
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You have to stay at Old Harbour Htl at least once while in Cochin”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Absolutely great place to be. Not only hotel rooms (my favorite is the one located outside next to swimming pool with outdoor shower!) are excellent, clean, beautify furnished but restaurant, service and atmosphere is something you can not forget.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking swimming pool with direct access to pool are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    200
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
235
792
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel in fort Cochin. We stayed only one night, but would have definitely could have stayed for 2-3. Pool looked great (didn't get a chance to swim). Lovely garden setting. Service was excellent from the moment we walked in until we left. We had an early flight and they packed breakfast for us. Our garden view room had old world charm with many original features and antique furniture. Restaurant dinner was excellent. Recommend icecream. We also had lunch, after staff recommended, the hotel affiliated art gallery/ cafe two streets away. Food was excellent for a light and cost effective lunch. Ambiance was also great. A very pleasurable stay. Wifi only in reception.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WJT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penneshaw
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, beautiful accommodation. Rooms were immaculately clean and nothing too much trouble. Best dosa masala breakfast. Had a great stay. Old harbour also organised us a fantastic driver called Josey who went over and above to answer our endless questions and to get us to where we wanted to go, stress free.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at this very artistic hotel in Cochin. Our experience was especially enhanced by the friendly and efficient staff who made our stay as seamless as possible. The room was beautiful if a little small, tastefully appointed and everything worked {this IS india...}. The food was delicious, and I mean really delicious, the pool was refreshing and they helped to arrange everything we needed. I especially liked their massage lady and the very tasteful attention to detail in all four corners of the place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruneijackie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I am very surprised to see a negative review about this very special hotel.

Our experience was nothing but a pleasure, The staff went the extra mile for us every day , giving us travel advice, helped us to change flights , send packages with DHL etc...They always had smiles on their faces. All the meals were fantastic after we had a not so great experience at the restaurant next door we decided to only eat at The Old Harbour. We tried something different each meal and I especially loved the spicy stuffed crab.You also HAVE to try the homemade ice creams that come in extraordinary flavours like basil and cardamon . The fruits for breakfast were out of this world ,we often had our organic breakfasts served by the proud Chef himself . He showed us around his immaculate kitchen and wrote down some of his recipes for us to try at home. I would highly recommend staying at this lovely attention to detail hotel .

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miamifinnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I loved this hotel so much! From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome. We were shown to our room which was beautifully furnished and had good quality fittings & a comfy bed.
Beautiful art pieces are scattered around the hotel, and both the rooms and public areas of the hotel have a peaceful air to them . The pool is beautiful, and breakfast was delicious.

I highly recommend anyone looking for an artistic, creative space to spend a few nights.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel so you dont get any noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_jr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottm, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As with the vast majority of people staying here we stayed for one night on our way to somewhere else (backwaters) and as we arrived quite late we didn't spend too much time at the hotel. However the staff were reasonably welcoming although a little distracted with getting ready for evening dinner, our room was lovely and clean facing the pool. There was no bed provided for our son although we were quickly provided with a mattress for him to sleep on the floor when requested, a travel cot would have been better. The food was delicious and the service very good but no high chairs were available for my son. Breakfast was lovely although I was surprised to be charged for bottled water. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Cochin and there is a playground area right outside the hotel entrance. I think this hotel is better suited for couples or people without small children, we did enjoy our stay their though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gembo_notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing