We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Nice
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

If you look for a great hotel in Kochi, this is it. Very good rooms, perfect service, nice swimming pool, great location (just next to the fishing nets), and the list goes on. We spent five nights in this hotel (we booked four but extended by one night) and enjoyed every minute. Not cheap, but worth it. Restaurant very good, but some western influence, would have liked more authentic dishes on the menu.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pataten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    197
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
233
783
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Amazing hotel, very authentically Indian, quaint & homely. Excellent service, very cheerful welcome when we arrived at 05:10am!! The guy was eager we get to our room to rest & not bothered about the formalities until the morning. Excellent spacious room, overlooking beautifully kept gardens. Location is amazing - right in front of the Chinese fishing nets. The real piece de resistance was the amazing swimming pool, large, clean, warm & well-kept. Breakfast was very basic indeed, dinner was great, but to be honest, we recommend a trip to Malabar House for dinner 10 minutes walk down the road. It's expensive by Indian standards but the food is the best we have tasted in all Kochin.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane130596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We loved it here - it's clean, friendly, the rooms are so amazing and each one is different and so comfortable. Best of all, the service is first class and we were treated incredibly well by Jude, Vineeta and the rest of the staff.
The food was the best we had on our entire two week trip and on our departure we were even made a packed lunch as it was so early in the morning.
We even finished up in our last place early so we could come back here and stay an extra night. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

we had a great time in Old harbour , the trees ,the view and yes the staff, have to thank Miss Vinitha for baby sitting our boy and also for being so nice and helpful.
Traveling with my husband to india who is from Australia was a great experience , old harbour was the perfect way to wrap up our holiday in my charming and beautiful Kerala...

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dazzeuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Loved every minute of Old Harbour stay. Had a garden cottage room with outdoor shower which was completely fantastic in every way from the frogs and other wildlife outside the door croaking us to sleep at night to the gorgeous room and fantastic shower! The staff in Old Harbour make it very special - Sukesh Stephenson and his team could not possibly do more - they clearly love their jobs and it shows. They genuinely make super human efforts to attend to your every need without being overbearing. We loved our stay from the moment we checked in and saw the beautifully turned down bed (with real jasmine petals strewn on the bed romantically scenting the room). Food was best we had - lovely breakfast, if you want more just ask. Great romantic, formal, spcecial dinner - best seafood I had in Fort Cochin. All in all this place hits the mark and is highly recommended. (They gifted us a cake for my birthday and a bouquet of flowers...where else would you get that kind of special effort??). Top notch. (PS Didn't put up photos as they photos up already reflect the place accurately!).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jofeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

Located in an old colonial building, this place has lots of charm, it is perfect for romantic stay. Rooms are large and very clean, we had 'cottage' room, with open air shower, nicely decorated place. No television though, but we feel it would spoil the nice colonial atmosphere. A beautiful swimmimg pool with jacuzzi in the garden, and exceptionally kind and attentionate service, made our stay a perfect moment. They have also an excellent restaurant, 1788, who serves great regional food, the Chef is half-french, from Pondicherry, and this culture mix reflects beautifully in his cuisine. The only problem is, they don't have yet the license for wine, so you have to go buy your own bottle to have perfect dinner.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Old Harbour is definitely an excellent hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms and a lovely garden with a great pool! My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights in the hotel, and they were really among the highlights of our Kerala tour.

  • Liked — The very friendly staff
  • Disliked — The fact that you can't get a beer with your dinner (no license) :-)
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing