We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most wonderful place to spend our 40th wedding anniversary on our first trip to Kerala but our fourth trip to India” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most wonderful place to spend our 40th wedding anniversary on our first trip to Kerala but our fourth trip to India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

As independent travellers we have visited most regions in the world and rely on word of mouth from friends and Traveladvisor to book our first boutique hotel in the foreign country for a few days and to determine likely spots to travel to and for accomodation.
I received a phone call back immediately from Edgar the owner of Old Harbour upon my initial enquiry followed up with immediate email exchange to confirm our booking.That's service.
Edgar put us up in the Princess suite which was lovely.
Jude the travel co-ordinator organised onward accommodation for us and also a caring respectful and safe driver in Josie.
For our anniversay to our surprise the staff organised a beautiful sheaf of flowers in the morning and an anniversay cake with candle at our evening dinner on the lawn beside the pool.
The food was excellent with guests from other hotels vising the restaurant.
The staff were couteous and efficient and the hotel meticulously clean and serviced.
We commend it to all travellers

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyMush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    193
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
229
774
61
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

We have just returned from a magical trip to Kerela, staying in Kochin for 7 nights. We stayed at the Old Harbour Hotel in Fort Cochin. What a wonderful and magical place. The Staff were fantastic, we were really made to feel at home. Only haveing 13 rooms made it that more personal and we would highly reccommend it to anybody that wants to feel special.

Tammy & Phil
tammy.r@mweb.co.za

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamboRambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

After a drive through the chaotic streets of Ernakulum, we arrived at this clean and efficient hotel to a welcome of coconut milk. We were escorted up to our room through white arches, up a lovely wooden staircase, with tantalising glimpses of the garden along the way. Although we had chosen the least expensive room, it was very large and had a private bathroom with shower. The base of the shower was totally non-slip stone which had a channel around the base to allow the water to run away. The furnishings were in the older style in keeping with the hotel and were in excellent condition. An old fashioned telephone was a lovely touch. The view onto a back street reflected the price of the room, but this was screened by sunshine yellow curtains gathered at each side. Next time we'll ask for one of the majority of rooms that face inwards towards the garden.
And what a garden ambience! It was superb. The balance is just right between lawn, tables, swimming pool, ponds - what a paradise. The pool is the best I've swum in. Its light grey granite lining gives the water a pale aquamarine colour, a dark grey marble bar gives the edge definition and the infinity edge invites you to look back over the lawn overarched by enormous trees to the sparkling white architecture of the hotel itself. At dusk on a fine night, white table cloths are laid on the outside tables in readiness for dinner. As darkness gathers, musicians play Indian music by the pool against a backdrop of blue fairy lights in the tree across the pool from diners. The lights are reflected in the pool: the music is carried across the surface of the water. This is heart-melting romance! If raining, the music and dining is inside but still with the garden in view.
Mosquitoes were not a problem although we wore repellent just in case. The hotel manager explained to my husband that the fish in the pond were selected to eat the larvae and also there was a carbon dioxide trap in the garden designed to draw them in. Only once, after it had rained, was I aware of little midges but within minutes a member of staff had fumigated the area with incense.
All the staff were very efficient, kind and friendly. They were also very observant. If I went to the pool and found the clean towel basket empty - more would arrive within seconds before I had to ask. All our needs were anticipated in this way - nothing seemed to be any trouble. Laundry was done within hours. We were also able to borrow a laptop for our flight confirmation.
Breakfast was fresh and simple - pineapple juice, sliced fruit, eggs on toast done to perfection in any way you chose, and more toast with jam or honey. You could also opt for a more complicated cooked breakfast with notice. Dinner was good - my only recommendation would be that the vegetables could be a little crisper - but this is personal taste. The desserts were lovely.
So if you're thinking of booking into the Old Harbour Hotel, don't hesitate - it was an altogether wonderful experience. Congratulations to the staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

Aesthetic and charm goes hand in hand with hospitality and good service at Old Harbour Hotel. We stayed at the hotel for 10 days and fell flop for the place.The staff is well qualified and kind - and I like the hotel's 'disregard of individual tipping' policy.

The restaurant is excellent and the well-assorted menu card makes it difficult to choose between the variety of dishes.

The exterior and interior is nice with gentle restored rooms in colonial style, each with their own distinctive character and name (named after the streets of Fort Cochin). And with no TV! You can get one if you need it, but the hotel want to force you to rest and take care of your family in stead of watching CNN.

The only problem we had, was that the walls of the old house are so thick, that the Wifi doesn't work properly in many rooms. However, the staff solved this problem by lending me a mobile internet connection.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Danes_in_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towcester,uk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Having booked this hotel on the say so of Tripadvisor, we were a little anxious. Did this hotel truly deserve its number one status when the likes of the Taj and Raddisson for instance were only a stones throw away? Well what can I say Old Harbour No1 status is MORE than deserved!!!

We arrived at the hotel at 7.30pm after an arduos (and bum numbing!)10 hour taxi journey from Tamilnadu! And the calm we walked into was sheer relief after the chaos of the road system we endured crossing Ernakulam to get to Fort Kochi!!

It is worth noting that Fort Kochi is a haven of peace and traquility in comparison with the rest of Cochin. So if u want to spend time in the Cochin area stay in the Fort area as it is truly worth while.

The staff at the Old Harbour were magnificient! We had a long list of to do as we had an early flight the next day connecting to the lakshadweep islands. They organised our laundry, a taxi transfer and as we were going to be back for a second stay when we returned from the island and wanted to spend 3 days on a houseboat, they organised that too!! Jude was superb! Within an hour of checking in we had the confirmation we required and went to bed safe in the knowledge that all was taken care of.

Upon our return for our second stay we were upgraded for free without propmpt, to an even bigger room! The first room was big enough but Peter Celli was even bigger! All rooms at the Harbour have names and no numbers! We were ushered in by Vinitha with her usual professional yet friendly manner and our laundry miraculously appeared courtesy of the ever smiling Babu the bell-hop! We also left our excess luggage at the hotel and that too was waiting in our room!

Though the hotel has a restaurant, they very kindly recommended a couple of other places to eat locally. Try the Dal Roti (5 minute walk from the hotel) if u like North Indian food and intriguing owners who provide some amusing antics!

We had a free day and asked for some help organising a day out to Ernakulam as the shopping is better and cheaper (Fort Kochi very touristy and expensive!!). As driving takes more than an hour we wondered what would be better mode of transport. Bless Vinitha who suggested we take the local ferry!! For Rs2.50 o/w we had a marvelous experience on a ferry with locals and full of colour! This took us to the centre of Ernakulam in 10 mins!!

Next we went to Allepey organised by the hotel and guess what? Marvelous as per usual!! The house boat was one owned by a friend of Edgar Pinto owner of Harbour and the trip was amazing! So thank u to Jude again!

On our return to Cochin from allepey we stayed again at the Old Harbour (by this time old timers!!) and were upgraded again to a Garden suite!! Well all I can say is thank u guys! Totally unexpected but gratefully received!

Everything from the turning down of our bed (tq Babu for being so discreet!!) to the jasmines on our bed (nice touch) to the complimentary coconut water - what can we say well done team!!

Ask anything of the staff and they give u a frank and honest answer! That is unusual in most places you stay when they just want u to spend your money with them!

If anyone is going to Kerala please bear in mind that alcohol is not sold anywhere on the 1st of the month. This is to dicourage wage earners from blowing their wages on the 1st which is pay day! So even hotels cant sell alcohol!

With a very heavy heart we left our friends at the Harbour and set of for Chennai knowing we would be hard put to find a better hotel in India!!

Just to shed some light we have travelled on many occassions to India and stayed in some very spectacular hotels but the hospitality we encountered at the Harbour was outstanding.

Even down to their drivers particularly Antony who was a mine of information who helped us with so much. So tq Antony!

Rest assured we will be back at the Harbour given half a chance! So to all you discerning people who are reading this - book up and enjoy the delights of the Old Harbour - number in Cochin and deservedly so!! ;)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimofthedeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umbria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Spent a very welcome two nights at the Old Harbour after spending two weeks whistlestop tour of northern India including some pretty dodgy hotels and train journeys. Old Harbour was bliss. Lovely room with super bathrooms and inspiring design ideas. Very comfortable. Could do with a full length mirror though. Easy walking distance to everywhere in Fort Cochin and an easy rickshaw ride to Mattanchery
Pool was wonderful although the crows and other scavenging birds can be pesky - had a partial rotting fish dropped from a great height on me whilst swimming but this was quickly and efficiently dealt with! Good restaurant.
Only disappontment was the breakfast which was ordinary, toast and eggs cooked to order. I would have thought a place of that standard would have employed a little imagination or at least offer a varied buffet.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

If you look for a great hotel in Kochi, this is it. Very good rooms, perfect service, nice swimming pool, great location (just next to the fishing nets), and the list goes on. We spent five nights in this hotel (we booked four but extended by one night) and enjoyed every minute. Not cheap, but worth it. Restaurant very good, but some western influence, would have liked more authentic dishes on the menu.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pataten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing