We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 17 December 2009

we had a garden cottage and it was charming. Outdoor bathroom. The place is well managed and immaculate. Breakfast was nice and the ambience in the evening is again charming. So glad we chose this property. Brunton Boatyard is nice but lifeless and the Old Courtyard is definately a renovation project waiting to be started. The Old Harbour was a highlight of our trip. We didnt eat in the restaurant as it was pretty expensive but it is a lovely setting for a meal. The granite infinity pool was gorgeous, as was the live music in the evening. We booked with Kerela Connections in the UK but would book direct next time as they arent very good.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianaSyrett, Tour Operator at Old Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
I am glad to see that this customer liked Old Harbour Hotel but not happy to see his comments about us – his tour operator. He submitted a complaint to us on his return because some of the other accommodation options were not up to expectation. The tour he booked is offered in a variety of price brackets - the cheapest being standard. We also offer mid-range, top and luxury. He asked us for standard accommodation and we provided him with the names of accommodation suggested. They all appear with their classification descriptions on our website. We did suggest he considered upgrading and he did so at Cochin.

Diana Syrett
Managing Director
Kerala Connections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    201
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
238
797
63
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Old Harbour was as charming and as beautiful/peaceful as everyone else has written. My wife and I were looking for a special introduction for our two children to India in a place that would be children friendly, close to interesting places and overall give us both comfort but still a glimpse of Kochi.

We were not disappointed. Old Harbour is just fantastic and should be rated a five star hotel! Compared to where we are now at Taj Exotica in Goa, both my wife and I agreed for the excellent service, meals (wonderful dinner menu), and overall ambiance, Old Harbour Hotel cannot be beat.

We were there for three full days not including days in transit, and it was just so relaxing. Our room, a suite, was spacious, with a wonderful swing that the boys really enjoyed, and a view out towards the waterfront and into the garden.

Every night we ate at the restaurant and there wasn't a thing that was not delicious!

I highly recommend Old Harbour if you want a special flavour of both Kerala and Kochi.

  • Liked — Outstanding accommodations, service, and food.
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of! Just all around fantastic! We will absolutely be back.
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

i like the most special garden cottages, which were added to offer a feel of Kerala, have open-to-the-sky showers, a veranda and a private pond& swimming pool,i enjoyed the ayurvedic spa and a large open-air terrace.there were organic soaps and lotions in the bathrooms,plenty of bottled water.fresh food was offered us it was tooooo good.Home made breads and plenty of freshly squeezed juices were also gud, Only organically grown vegetables are used,over all it was exelent

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeeNPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Stayed at the Old Harbour twice during our trip, once in a normal room and once in a garden cottage. The hotel is beautifully restored/converted from two old houses and seems to be almost unique in this area of Fort Cochin for having reasonable sized gardens with a pool - the gardens are well kept and very pretty. The hotel is very well run and service is excellent. Food is also good and I particularly loved the South Indian breakfast. However this has to be ordered the night before as the mixture for the dosas has to be made in advance - this seemed a little annoying as the mixture is cheap so why not make enough to satisfy everyone if they wish to order it on the day. Rooms are very nicely done but could benefit from rather thicker mattresses. Feeling is very colonial but the overall decoration of the rooms was let down by the curtains and bed covers which did not match and were of poor quality - such a shame when everything else is so lovely but these are small points and overall the hotel is great value and very comfortable. If you are travelling on anywhere use the hotel car - a beautifully kept Hindustan Ambassador driven by the lovely Anthony . In short a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

The Old Harbour Hotel is just perfect!

We stayed there for two nights (one night in a regular room and one night in a suite) and both nights we were very happy. The rooms are clean, beautifully decorated, peaceful and have a very comfortable bed and shower. There is no TV, but who needs a television when on holiday anyway...

The whole hotel is built in a classic colonial style. The restaurant is nice, spacious and has a serene atmosphere. Although the food is served inside, you have the feeling of sitting outside because of the gigantic opened windows. The food is delicious and light.

The service is also excellent. The staff has found the ideal balance between being helpful and being discretely in the background. No dozens of staff members slouching around and getting on your nerves but just a handful of them that work efficiently and give you a correct, hassle-free service.

  • Liked — the whole experience
  • Disliked — There was nothing that bothered me.
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful place....What more can u ask.....A must visit place for people who have not visited!!

  • Liked — Place
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Black_Hawk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

This was our first stop on our tour of Kerala and was a perfect beginning. Had booked this hotel as a result of the previous reviews and was very glad we did.
On arrival we received a very warm welcome in a the cool and very attractive reception area. Our room was on the first floor above the little courtyard and was beautifully decorated and very clean. Bathroom great with large and very good shower.
The garden and small pool were beautiful and a real oasis to return to after getting hot and sticky touring the city. We didn't eat dinner there, but the breakfasts were very good - a choice of Keralan (if you booked the night before) or Continental - and both were nice.
The morning yoga session on the top terrace was a great way to start the day.
Would definitely stay there again if we are ever lucky enough to get back to Kerala!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireHils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing