We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“taste of south India far from turist crowds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kuzhupilly Beach House
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“taste of south India far from turist crowds”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent 3 days in Kuzhupilly over Christmas holiday. Here we started our trip which lasted 3 weeks. It is definitively the best place we stayed. We found it exactly how we expected it. It is situated in a very quite village, far from caotich cities, where there aren't any other tourist than the guests of the house. The beach is really quite and often desert, being populated only from fisher men from time to time. It is possible to see dolphins swimming.
The village is about 30Km from Kochi. Once there you'll spend most of the time relaxing at the beach, canoeing in the backwaters, biking around or chilling out in the terrace of the house. You can get also an ayurveda massage in a small centre of the village. Closest city is Cherai, where there's nothing to see or do actually, so you can easily avoid it if don't need to get money from ATM (they accept only cash)!The house is very pretty. Rooms are clean and colored. On the top of the house there's the big terrace where guests can eat and relax. Food is awesome: a chef is cooking raffinated dishes both for breakfast and dinner. We have eaten everything (fruit and watermelon shakes included) without having any stomach problems.
All the food is accurately washe/prepared with water from bottles.
Least but not last the Kuruvilla family are very friendly and helpful, taking great care of their guests. We really enjoyed this place and strongly advice it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    19
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
15
47
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Kuzhupilly Beach House is beautifully peaceful with a lovely, kind landlord Mr. Kuruvilla and his familiy. I really feel like home there and will always come back whenever I am in India. The rooms ,the kitchen and as the whole house are nice and extremely clean. It is the perfect place to relax, it is simply paradise!!

Vic

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic332013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We are visiting the Kuruvilla family for the 2nd time. We were first here 5 years ago over the same period.
Nothing much has changed from my first review, this is a paradise place, simple as that. It sits between the Arabic Sea and Indian Jungle and is the centre of calm and tranquillity. Which somehow does not make sense in the mad world of India, but all the same its true. we had a constant flow of new interesting customers from all over the world, people passing through during the 7 days we stayed.
Kuruvilla and his sons present a calming spirit for anyone who enters and all seem to be embraced by the family. Anish picked us up from the airport, looking as young as ever and Binish took us to a Cochin première of a memorable film from a new director. They have a fantastic cook and as we extended our stay I'm sure he was trying to kill us with a different dish everyday, each were superb as they were voluminous. You will not starve in this out of the way place.
They add many extras, picking you up from the airport as well as finding out information for you and reserving rooms ahead. We never go back to a place once visited, but we went back here and have no regrets. We will return again.

Room Tip: Take the sea view at the back of the house, much cooler with no afternoon sun :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Kuzhupilly Beach House was the perfect counterpoint to a few days in the frantic metropolis of Mumbai.

Just the taxi from the airport (arranged by the Kuruvilla's) was a magical entry point to Kerala - seeing all the wondrous shades of green, as the backwaters and small villages rush by in that magical evening light of Southern India.

KVB was perfect. The Kuruvilla's charming and gracious hosts; Sajimon the chef was a master in the kitchen and a source of great stories and enlightenment; Cherai beach was no Caribbean spectacular, but was virtually deserted when we visited save a few local fisherman, the Brahminy Kites whirling overhead and pods of dolphins out at sea (which was quite safe to swim in).

We spent 5 nights and could have happily added another 10 to that.

Would recommend for food, location (just walking around the local villages was great), arrange a small boat backwater trip at dawn with Mr Kuruvilla (we saw an osprey) + trips to Kochi by tuk tuk over the ferry were fun, cheap and easy.

Room Tip: Get a back room with a view over the backwaters - particularly if you like bird watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchell29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

At the far southern end of the Cherai Beach area (4.5 km to be exact), there is the quiet and serenity of Kuzhupilly beach area, where this "homestay" Beach House is located. We enjoyed the gracious hospitality of the Kuruvilla family. 6 of us (family and friends) occupied 3 rooms there and enjoyed delicious home-cooked Kerala specialties for dinner and breakfast, a wonderful upstairs open patio with great hanging chairs. Across the narrow road is direct access to the very empty beach and crashing surf of the Arabian sea. In the back are views of the backwaters.
Beds are very comfortable. Rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. Bathrooms are perfectly clean. The sound of the waves carries you into a deep sleep.
Like a B&B (with dinner also), this is a great place to escape the frenzy, tumult and slight chaos of India. A beach house with charm, simplicity, relaxation and peacefulness

Room Tip: We were fortunate to get the 2nd floor room facing the ocean with a small porch. Absolutely divine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinghawk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Wonderful journey, the best hospitality.
It´s like being in Heaven, sourounded by nature and water.
Quiet and pleasant, clean and fantastic cook.
I felt like being at home and taken care as the Kuruvilla´s daughter.
I highly recommend Kuzhupilly beach house, because it deserves to be lived !
Still 30 mn away from Fort Kochi, but how nice is to take a boat and a tuk tuk to go back "home".
I look forward to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELEONOR I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foggy in Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Our personal findings.
Absolutely wonderful place for just relaxing 'far from the madding crowd'. Situated right on the beach front (just cross the narrow road to be right on the beach) with about 7 miles of mostly empty beach to explore. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we found the hospitality impeccable. The food is traditional Keralan, very tasty and cooked incredibly well. A short tuk tuk ride will take you to the nearest town and you can get to Fort Cochin with relative ease.
Mr and Mrs Kuruvilla were the perfect hosts and the staff were very friendly. We found this homestay to be perfect for spending several days just relaxing from the hustle and bustle, and to recharge our batteries before moving on

Room Tip: Basically the higher the floor the better the views. Excellent views of the beach and sea from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smarticus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
3.7 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#2 of 7 in Cherai Beach
465 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#6 of 7 in Cherai Beach
63 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#3 of 7 in Cherai Beach
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cherai Beach Residency
Cherai Beach Residency
#1 of 21 in Cherai Beach
207 reviews
4.0 mi away
36 Palms Boutique Retreat
36 Palms Boutique Retreat
#6 of 21 in Cherai Beach
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Chameleon Beach Lodge
The Chameleon Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Edavanakkad
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuzhupilly Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuzhupilly Beach House

Property: Kuzhupilly Beach House
Address: 204 Beach Raod | Ayampilly PO, Kochi (Cochin) 682501, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 442 Speciality Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The golden sandy beaches of Arabian Sea, the prawn farms and the backwaters as a background, away from the regular road traffic and the crowded tourist spots, repose you to the most fraternal, tranquil and serene environment. With fabulous views of uninterrupted coastline and serene backwaters, Kuzhupilly Beach House is the place to live for people who would love to experience nature, backwaters, beaches, ample seafood, traditional Kerala village life, and friendly local people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuzhupilly Beach House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Kuzhupilly Beach House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing