We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean rooms, Close to tourist attractions”
Review of Hotel Fort Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fort Queen
Ranked #64 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Small well located in a neighbourhood in the heart of Kochi. Rooms are not very spacious and can really look very crowded if you are with kids. Linen was clean and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast spread was minimal and the refill do not appear fast. Better to go early for breakfast to avoid empty spread out. Food is just about OK.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VarinderDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at the Fort Queen Hotel in Cochin. Being a first time traveller to Cochin (and India) and travelling together with my parents, I decided to try and find a nice, modern hotel from which we would be able to explore Cochin and have the comfort that'd allow us to feel well-rested.

Hotel Fort Queen provided us with an excellent base: the hotel was just renovated, clean, with very friendly and helpful staff, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We felt so comfortable there that we ended up extending our stay from 2 days to nearly a week.

The hotel was a riksha-ride away from the Cochin's main touristic sites (Dutch Cemetery, Synagogue etc) and kalaripayattu academy.

I would highly recommend this hotel and can imagine that while travelling to Cochin for a conference, the hotel would be a great stop-over. - Good value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aristorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have just returned from Cochin and again I stayed at the Fort Queen Hotel.
This 3 star property is excellent value for money, clean and is very well run
by it's manager Mr Basil and Front Office Manager Ms Praseetha.
It is close to the tourist attarctions, there is internet access in the lobby which is free
and since my last visit they have added satellite TV in all the rooms.
Well done Fort Queen keep it up, I will come to stay again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidays2011_01_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel is located the heart of Kochi.The room was spacious with comfortable beds and had a good view,The bathroom had full bath and all the necessary toiletries.The hotel and staff were great, friendly and attentive.The restuarant also very clean.

The foods are also affordable price and tasty.

So keep it up

SHINE

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shine789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Excellent food and stay @ affordable price. Really enjoyed my trip. Keep it up guys..

Room Tip: If you are looking a place to live near fortkochi then this is the best place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherianx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Good hotel. Rooms are well furnished and equipped with all the amenities. All the tourist attraction and sight seeing are nearby to this hotel. Most significant thing is that fort queen provide bicycle to their guest and that is not chargeable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuldeep_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We were offered this accommodation as part of a package from Iris Holidays and truly regretted our one night stay in one of the suites.

This down market hotel is dirty, dark, and in need of a serious makeover before western travellers should consider staying. The bathroom was small, water cold and towels dirty. Our suite contained a lounge but I was unable to sit on the chairs due to the stains!

The restaurant is really the overwhelming feature - the staff are zombie like and look like they have lost the will to live. The table cloths are dirty, the tea and coffee undrinkable and the food inedible! I am surprised we escaped unscathed. Even when the toaster caught fire, it was hard to see the staff moving at any acceptable speed!

I would advise the manager to spend less time making the swan towels and more time with bleach and a scrubbing brush if he wants to stay in business. This is not a hotel for western travellers.

Room Tip: Avoid them all if they were anything like our suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teamWiseUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
268 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Senate Hotel
The Senate Hotel
#99 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
138 reviews
4.6 mi away
Emarald Hotel Cochin
Emarald Hotel Cochin
#129 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#9 of 30 in Ernakulam
156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#33 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
601 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cochin Palace
Cochin Palace
#53 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Queen

Address: Manthra Main Road | Pandikkudy, Kochi (Cochin) 682002, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fort Queen 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fort Queen, is a three star classified hotel located in the heritage town of Fort Cochin. It is one of the best of its class hotels in this region. The hotel came to existence, with the effort of Mr. Pauly Joseph, the owner and CEO of this venture. Mr. Pauly Joseph, a native of Fort Cochin and a business man by profession hails from a family which has for decades spread its roots into various areas of business. With a thorough knowledge of the pulse and potential of this region, Mr. Pauly decided to establish a foot mark in the hospitality industry, to serve the requirements of the ever flowing tourists to Fort Cochin, the result : An exotic hotel came to existence in a calm and quiet location. Hotel Fort Queen opened its doors on the 31st of December 2005. Carrying forward the great tradition of hospitality through excellent holiday solutions, Fort queen provide total customer satisfaction; and alongside generate employee satisfaction by providing congenial working environment; and also contribute The hotel is installed with rich wood grained furnishings and subdued lighting, combined with a natural color scheme of muted browns and creams create an atmosphere of warmth and luxury throughout. Hotel Fort Queen is stylish and modern but cozy and comfortable, with an emphasis on privacy, charm and attention to detail. This Hotel is like a 'home away from home' where luxury is not ostentatious, but it's there in a refined way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fort Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Queen Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing